Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Shaft vs Belt drive >

Shaft vs Belt drive

Shaft vs Belt drive

Old 05-26-2010, 12:03 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Ageofdeath10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 213
Default Shaft vs Belt drive

What are the good and bad points about each?
Ageofdeath10 is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 12:21 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
monkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cda, idaho
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

more knowledgeable will step in im sure..

shaft drive has torque steer i believe.
belts have a smoother power band.
if i were racing, i would prefer a belt.
if i were drifting i would prefer a shaft.
monkee is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 12:47 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I have both. The belt driven is good but it tends to wear out after a while. Versus the shaft driven I've had since 94 and I still don't have any issues with it. If I had a choice now and since I had experience with both I would definitely get the shaft driven hands down. Since I never had issues with it.
M03Racer is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 01:05 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

It depends on the type of car, track/surface, and intended use.
Generally:
- Belt is more efficient (less rotating mass)
- Shaft has a more direct feel (although i'll admit i'm not good enough to feel it)
- Shaft can get torque steer, depending on the situation
- Shaft stays cleaner

So, if your track racing with touring cars, belt is almost exclusive. If your racing a dusty carpark, shaft is worth a look as you won't be stripping your diffs as often.
JR007 is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 01:26 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

This may just be me, but belt cars a pain in @$$ to work on. I'm sure that not all cars are as hard, but my TA05. I have to just about take it all apart just to replace a belt. I like my TA05, but man it's high maintenance.
Foxxrocket is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 02:50 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Ageofdeath10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 213
Default

Originally Posted by Foxxrocket View Post
This may just be me, but belt cars a pain in @$$ to work on. I'm sure that not all cars are as hard, but my TA05. I have to just about take it all apart just to replace a belt. I like my TA05, but man it's high maintenance.
Hahahh true but thats part of rc isnt it??
Ageofdeath10 is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 03:17 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 976
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Ive been racing a HPI pro4 for years wit few problems...
Recently i got a belt drive car, Have run it for one meeting and ive had to replace a belt...

For stock or 540 racing i think shaft is great, but hotter motors make a shaft drive car a little nervous because the are so direct. Good for throttle control though... If you run offroad you would probably be fine.
TeamWTF is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 03:28 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
F1fletch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Great question really...... all the pro's and con's are indeed true.

The bigger question is who makes a current spec shaft car worth anything!!
F1fletch is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 03:37 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Torque steer is much more noticeable as you go up in power. You can run shaft in VTA with the slower speeds and less torque shift from the can and you will enjoy the direct feel that the shaft allows. Belt drive cars are still frequent there just because the gear is all spilled over from TC racing and belt drive cars is what you get. I think it takes a pro or at least a very experienced driver to tell the benefits of the belt over the shaft. That or a huge amount of power.
snoopyrc is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 03:43 PM
  #10  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

i ran shaft in GT3 (silver can) at the last TCS. set TQ by being the only one to do 19 laps... set the fast lap in the main BUT drove "rather poorly" (edited for the kids) in the main.

ran belt in GT2 (boosted 17.5).

it all comes down to what motor you'll be running AND personal preference.

Hebiki is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 04:46 PM
  #11  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
I12PonU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 108
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

I see a bunch of vids on youtube of shaft cars doing speed runs in excess of 100mph. Didnt see any torque steer there.
I12PonU is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 06:00 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,911
Default

Originally Posted by TeamWTF View Post
Recently i got a belt drive car, Have run it for one meeting and ive had to replace a belt...
Shaft drive quite often suffer failures after a hard hit, particularly indoors.

If you had to replace belt already you either crash a lot or have something set wrong.

Originally Posted by I12PonU View Post
I see a bunch of vids on youtube of shaft cars doing speed runs in excess of 100mph. Didnt see any torque steer there.
Because the gearing required to go that fast will reduce torque.

Gear those cars for Mod track racing and then see what happens!

Skiddins
Skiddins is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 07:21 PM
  #13  
Tech Addict
 
PaPeRo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 692
Default

Originally Posted by I12PonU View Post
I see a bunch of vids on youtube of shaft cars doing speed runs in excess of 100mph. Didnt see any torque steer there.
TS is only visible when you're on/off power. At speed the chassis is already at steady state speed so there is little to no TS.

I run a 9T brushless in a shaft drive TC and the TS is very noticeable under hard acceleration and off throttle.
PaPeRo is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 07:25 PM
  #14  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
phildoggg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I run a tc4 as a speed run car and I have no torque steer but I'm easy on the throttle, prob 300-500 ft before full throttle. I like the diff ratio of belt drive ( I believe they are higher ratio)cars better but I have shaft..
phildoggg is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.