R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-25-2010, 01:46 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden
Posts: 103
Default 3S in a HPI Sprint 2 Flux?

Hello

I have a HPI Sprint 2 Flux that I've been driving with 2S for a while now. And recently I also bought a Firestorm Flux. And for the Firestorm HPI says its OK to use 3S lipo: "With up to 8 NiMH cells or a 3S LiPo (11.1v)".

And since the Firestorm and the Sprint 2 Flux uses the same motor and esc, does this mean its ok to use 3S in the Sprint as well?

Very thankful for any answer!

Best regards,
Linus Sj÷berg
Sweden
Limpan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 01:51 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Chimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Woodstock,IL
Posts: 1,231
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Are you drag racing? I don't understand why you would want that much power. I have heard that those electronics really don't like the power of a 3s and they don't last long if you use the 3s, just a rumor I heard, don't know if it's true or not.
__________________
AE:B5r,B5m,TC6.1,Team Losi:JRX-2,Tamiya Mercedes-Benz 1838LS,Traxxas Slash
Chimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 02:47 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden
Posts: 103
Default

Why would anyone want more power? If you can give full throttle there is still room for more power!

After driving my Vorza with 6S at 60mph+ the Sprint 2 Flux seems very slow with its 30mph or so
__________________
TEKIN -> RC8Be * RC8Te FT Championship Edition
HPI Blitz ESE (MM Pro + 5700kv), HPI Sprint 2 Flux
Traxxas Slash 4x4 Ultimate, SANWA M11 2.4
Limpan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 04:31 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Chimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Woodstock,IL
Posts: 1,231
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Limpan View Post
Why would anyone want more power? If you can give full throttle there is still room for more power!

After driving my Vorza with 6S at 60mph+ the Sprint 2 Flux seems very slow with its 30mph or so
Crazy!!!!!!!!!!
I understand the need for speed. I was just wondering what you were doing with the car because you can have too much power for racing. Have fun.
__________________
AE:B5r,B5m,TC6.1,Team Losi:JRX-2,Tamiya Mercedes-Benz 1838LS,Traxxas Slash
Chimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 05:28 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Morbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 171
Default

Do it!!

And show us videos and pics of the results!
__________________
All humans are vermin in the eyes of Morbo.
Morbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 05:46 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morbo View Post
Do it!!

And show us videos and pics of the results!
Are you saying that in a way like "Lets see this moron ruin his motor.."?
__________________
TEKIN -> RC8Be * RC8Te FT Championship Edition
HPI Blitz ESE (MM Pro + 5700kv), HPI Sprint 2 Flux
Traxxas Slash 4x4 Ultimate, SANWA M11 2.4
Limpan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 07:35 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
PaPeRo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 692
Default

The electronics could handle it but make sure your gearing is appropriate. I think your belts/pulleys may not be able to handle that power though, it's definitely worth a try if you're not racing and just bashing.
__________________
deans - dodgy electrics amps not sufficient
PaPeRo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 11:11 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Morbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Limpan View Post
Are you saying that in a way like "Lets see this moron ruin his motor.."?
umm..no?

__________________
All humans are vermin in the eyes of Morbo.
Morbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 11:40 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
superspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,148
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

the flux esc & motor can handle 3S lipo, gearing is very critical and make sure you gear it properly.
superspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 02:52 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden
Posts: 103
Default

So should I go higher or lower in the gearing? (Higher or lower top speed)
__________________
TEKIN -> RC8Be * RC8Te FT Championship Edition
HPI Blitz ESE (MM Pro + 5700kv), HPI Sprint 2 Flux
Traxxas Slash 4x4 Ultimate, SANWA M11 2.4
Limpan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 06:26 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 289
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

You can run 3s on sidewinder/hpi flux motiv with 5700, but your pinion has to be small.
rcracingzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 07:38 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

the rear diff spider gears will spit it after a couple of throtle pulls. so i have seen anyway, good luck
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 02:31 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Zao18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 367
Default

I am pretty doubtful that it can handle 3s. The hpi webpage for the Sprint 2 Flux mentions being 2s-compatible, but not 3s. Compare this to the e-firestorm page which actually says 2 and 3s compatible (it has a 4800 kv motor).

Also, fyi, this car has a 5900 kv motor in it, not a 5700 kv. Given that both the e-firestorm and the Sprint 2 have the same Vapor ESC in it, it's likely a case of the ESC can handle 3s, but the 5900 kv motor in the Sprint cannot and will overheat.

Oddly, after pouring through the manual pdf, I don't see it spelled out anywhere what max voltage lipo this car can handle. My advice, if you want to absolutely be sure, is to email HPI and ask.
__________________
Hotbodies D8T, Hitec 7955TG servos, "Clocked" Werks B5 w/ 2013 pipe, M2C 4-shoe clutch
Losi 810 buggy (converted Ten T), M2C Racing clutch, Hitec 7955TG servos, 125cc fuel tank
Spektrum DX3S w/ SR3300T receivers
Zao18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:52 AM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Just picked up a 3000mah 40c 3s skylipo today and dropped it in my 1 week old Sprint 2 Flux, that's bone stock. Ran it tonight with the grip tires and it flew. I didn't have my temp gun or gps, but temps were not so bad. Maybe 130s on the motor and esc. If I had to guess, it was in the 60's for speed!
__________________
Losi Mini 8ight - CM2646, mamba max pro, Hitec 5245mg, OFNA Shocks
OFNA Hyper 9e, Bump Edition Low COG - MMM2650, Hitec 7955tg
OFNA Nexx 10sc - Tekin Pro4 4000, MMP, Savox 1258tg, Proline Powerstroke Shocks
HPI Sprint 2 Flux - Stock Castle motor/ESC with Porsche 911 body and Savox 1258tg
richmtb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 10:37 PM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 30
Default

Does HPI say it can run a 3S?

Why does no one know? Weird....
2010GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Huge RC Sale Neverdone R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 48 03-22-2010 04:18 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:11 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net