Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Interference clamp filter, where to mount them >

Interference clamp filter, where to mount them

Interference clamp filter, where to mount them

Old 05-08-2004, 01:24 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,077
Default Interference clamp filter, where to mount them

http://www.yokomo.co.jp/yokomonew/ne...ucts2003_4.htm

look at the YM-CF


I saw JM Betticher mount these babies at the battery wires, + and -.
Whereas I understood the best place would be at the motor wires.

Please a well based explination.
Thanks,
Pizza
PizzaDude is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 03:48 PM
  #2  
V12
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,647
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think best way is as the asian drivers are using the filters.
Itīs at the - battery and - motor wires.

Surikarn was using them at this picture
Attached Thumbnails Interference clamp filter, where to mount them-surikarn-tcm-2004.jpg  
V12 is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 09:44 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,077
Default

Thanks,
Pizza
PizzaDude is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 11:52 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Originally posted by V12
I think best way is as the asian drivers are using the filters.
Itīs at the - battery and - motor wires.

Surikarn was using them at this picture
Oh, so only ASIAN people use the filters eh'?
Tek Nickal is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 01:24 AM
  #5  
V12
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,647
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by AzNDRAGster
Oh, so only ASIAN people use the filters eh'?
Maybe not.
But you donīt see the filters very much at any race in the USA or Europe. At least I havenīt seen any picture or car using them since now. I see JMB from time to time and I even havenīt seen him using the filter since now.

But if I had seen any filter since now it always was on a car from an Asian driver. Donīt know the reason for this. But maybe the other drivers donīt know of these or maybe it have to do with the ESC in use. I know some ESC cause more glitching than others.
Beside this I have seen Hara using the filters very often.
V12 is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 10:56 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

What do you know!
I am also asian


look at my pro 4 with the novak ESC.

It was fine with my futaba one but it glitches alot with the novak.

For me I can't put it on the motor wire because the - wire is too short. If i put it on the - battery wire, my speedcontrol wines.

So i put it on my servo wire. Makes the car neater too!

the filter made my steering rock solid in low throttle


http://www.rcpics.net/view_single.php?medid=29153
Super Steve is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 01:37 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

I find just twisting the motor + and - wires together does a great job of reducing glitching. I forgot to do it once yesterday and my car went nuts, went back and twisted them and my car went back to normal.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 06:11 PM
  #8  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I run one clamped over the signal wires that plug into the RX, seems to work fine right there although I didn't glitch without them either, just a precaution.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 06:25 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Default

what are these?

is it like what you get on games console controller wires?

sorry, i cant open that pic of it crashes my IE.

and the link doesn't work
raving-monkey is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright Đ 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.