Losi XXX-S

Reply

Old 12-28-2004, 04:46 PM
  #12601  
Tech Apprentice
 
CWank23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 50
Default

Thanks Civic. Ya figured it was time to get a sedan i did not do much off roading with my truck...might as well get one. Thanks again i'm looking foward to racing with it and i am sure i will come to your for advice.
CWank23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 11:50 AM
  #12602  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Wicked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Could anyone lmk if they make a blue aluminum battery strap for the xxx-s? Would I be able to use one from another car?

Thanks
Wicked is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 11:56 AM
  #12603  
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Default

you can use the Associated one for the TC3, but you will have to grind some material off of your battery posts. It is not a hard modification.
tc3stocker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 10:14 PM
  #12604  
Tech Elite
 
POOKYT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 3,584
Default

DITTO-- My friend has used the blue strap for a TC3 for over 2 yrs now and he only took a little off of the plastic battery posts bottoms to lower the strap correctly. Irrgang racing http://www.teamirsrc.com/ also has a blue strap with fins that looks great too. Good Luck

Brant
POOKYT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 12:54 PM
  #12605  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Wicked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey thanks guys. But now I have another question.

Will these fit on the car? http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...947295791&rd=1

it has xxx-s in the title but I know that dosn't always mean that they will work.
Wicked is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 01:17 PM
  #12606  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,327
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Wicked
Hey thanks guys. But now I have another question.

Will these fit on the car? http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...947295791&rd=1

it has xxx-s in the title but I know that dosn't always mean that they will work.
Jason,

Not sure if you are trying to upgrade from RTR shocks or Graphite Plus (threaded) units.

Even if these shocks/springs do fit, you would be "lost" with your tuning setup in regard to springs, pistons and oil. Whatever it is, you couldn't relate it to posted XXX-S setup sheets on the Losi website. You might want to wait for the new Losi shocks that will come on the JRX-S.
Still Bill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 02:42 PM
  #12607  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Wicked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Ya I just wanted to get rid of the stock shocks and go to a threaded design. You don't think I would be able to use losi's or AE's spring kit with these?

thanks for the help btw.
Wicked is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 02:45 PM
  #12608  
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Default

if you got your RTR in the last year or so, the shocks are fine, they are the new design (shorter in front than in rear) and they ar really smooth. those shocks will fit, but I would advise you to go with an Associated shock kit if you aren't going with losi units.
tc3stocker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 03:53 PM
  #12609  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Wicked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Actually I don't even have it yet. I am going to order the new xxx-s rtr II tommorro. I have just been looking into all the parts I want to change when I get the car.
Wicked is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 03:56 PM
  #12610  
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Default

run it before you change it, it is fine as it is, are you planning on racing it?

if so, I can pm you a list of parts to get for it.............
tc3stocker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 07:02 PM
  #12611  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,292
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Well, I'm considering getting another

XXX-S G+, if they update it. I was just wondering if anyone here has tips for lightening the chassis? I saw one guy make swiss cheese out of one chassis. He cut out circles all over the chassis. I liked it but, I was thinking of cutting out triangles out of the side tunnel. I don't want to cut any more than the sides. Any tips on how to do it professionally? Can anyone show me theirs?
RCknight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 07:10 PM
  #12612  
Tech Addict
 
RTP motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 700
Default

what you do to lighten the stock chassis is put it on a drill press and use a medium bit . drill in to it and them hold down and make whatever shape you want. be sure to use the same places as the g+ is or you could have a fragile chassis
RTP motorsports is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 09:38 PM
  #12613  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
RKeasler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A step closer to where I need to be a step further from where I was
Posts: 924
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Chassis

I am in the process of replacing my chassis with a new one and wondered what you guys use to make getting the screws into the graphite easier the first time.
RKeasler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 09:59 PM
  #12614  
Tech Apprentice
 
thedominator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Venice Florida
Posts: 50
Default Re: Chassis

Originally posted by RKeasler
I am in the process of replacing my chassis with a new one and wondered what you guys use to make getting the screws into the graphite easier the first time.
a quality set of hex drivers
thedominator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 10:37 PM
  #12615  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,327
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Re: Chassis

Originally posted by RKeasler
I am in the process of replacing my chassis with a new one and wondered what you guys use to make getting the screws into the graphite easier the first time.
I partially thread the #4-40 holes with a hand tap. Typically go in about halfway to achieve a tight fit.

Caution...#4-40 Steel, Stainless, Titanium and Aluminum screws all seem to have different fits.
Still Bill is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service