Losi XXX-S

Old 08-25-2004, 02:19 PM
  #12016  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,190
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

is there a difference when you cut your belt from the black one ????
Roberto Falcon is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 02:27 PM
  #12017  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4,145
Default

They feel pretty close... I'd say a broken in black belt would probably be a little more free than the cut yellow though...
Steve Weiss is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 02:33 PM
  #12018  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,379
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Randy Caster
did everyone sell their XXXS over the weekend or what, where are you guys
Aloha Randy,

Was at Maui for the week...No racin' there.

Looking forward to the next Shootout article for the belted cars in next month's XRC magazine.

Last edited by JRX-S Bill; 08-25-2004 at 02:41 PM.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 04:21 PM
  #12019  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (22)
 
Blakesrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grover Beach/Palm Desert, CA
Posts: 889
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default Breaking in a new belt

Hey guys,

Just picked up a new black belt kit and wanted to know if i should do anything special to break it in? It seems a bit sluggish right now but im assuming its because it is new.

Thanks,

Blake
Blakesrc is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 04:28 PM
  #12020  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,659
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

When ever I completely rebuild a drive train with new bearings, belt and everything, or especially a brand new kit, I'll mount a old stock motor in the car and hook it up to my LRP charger at a 2 volt motor run in and put the car on a stand with a big fan blowing on the motor. Let it run for about a half an hour. That's what I do to break in a new drive train.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 04:52 PM
  #12021  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,379
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by jkerr0043
When ever I completely rebuild a drive train with new bearings, belt and everything, or especially a brand new kit, I'll mount a old stock motor in the car and hook it up to my LRP charger at a 2 volt motor run in and put the car on a stand with a big fan blowing on the motor. Let it run for about a half an hour. That's what I do to break in a new drive train.
Jon,

Geeeze...Something else I should try.

Do you do anything to bring the wheels up to what would be a normal running position? Not too sure that I would want to just let them hang down during break in.

Thanks.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 05:02 PM
  #12022  
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Default

whats wrong with just letting them "hang down"?

unless you got a miniture rolling road you kinda got no choice...unless you take them off
raving-monkey is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 06:14 PM
  #12023  
Tech Fanatic
 
Cardboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Flushing,NYC
Posts: 843
Default

Originally posted by XXX-S Bill
Jon,

Geeeze...Something else I should try.

Do you do anything to bring the wheels up to what would be a normal running position? Not too sure that I would want to just let them hang down during break in.

Thanks.
I use a treadmill.
Cardboard is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 06:14 PM
  #12024  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,379
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by raving-monkey
whats wrong with just letting them "hang down"?

unless you got a miniture rolling road you kinda got no choice...unless you take them off
Ever let a real CVD based car wheel hang while applying power to the drive train? Not a good thing and warned about in the owners manual of at least one car I have owned! That's my thinking. Break in is the desired result as opposed to wear of components positioned at odd angles.

Otherwise, I could temporarily drop in four long droop screws to achieve normal ride height for the wheels during the break in process.

Actually, a chassis dyno is something I am considering making for multiple reasons. Used them on my formula car way back when to check for drive train issues.

Thanks.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 07:27 PM
  #12025  
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Default

meh, all you need is 4 rolling pins and a box to fix them to...viola a rolling road
raving-monkey is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 07:29 PM
  #12026  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (38)
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,682
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I dont have my CVD's hooked up,I am only breaking in the belts.
Oasis is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 07:34 PM
  #12027  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,659
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

The car is complete when I do it, shocks and all. So the down travel is limited. Not really at running height but not hanging at full extension either. It's usually the last thing I do before I take it to the track for the first time.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 09:08 PM
  #12028  
Tech Regular
 
tom235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ut
Posts: 327
Default

i was racing the other night and snaped a black belt
tom235 is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 01:45 AM
  #12029  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6
Default

I've been racing a Losi XXXs for about 18 months. After about 6 months I cut every second dimple on the yellow belt and found that to be a significant improvement for stock racing.

After using the black belt for a couple of weeks I found that cutting it in the same way as I did the yellow belt made the drive train very free and did not lead to to skipping.

AlanC
AlanC is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:27 AM
  #12030  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

Originally posted by tom235
i was racing the other night and snaped a black belt
One of my mates snapped a belt on his losi but he cut a tooth write off every three teeth and the belt was extremely loose and he didin't run the gear cover, don't worry about it though david spashett over here in the UK snapped a belt but his losi works fine

Chazz
Chazz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.