Losi XXX-S

Old 04-17-2004, 08:03 AM
  #9991  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

i think you shouldn't, because the difference made is near nothing, because this belt is so smooth anyway. there was a big difference in the yellow/blue belt, but with the black belt, just leave it.
pro3racer is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 08:34 AM
  #9992  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I'll know here in a couple weeks, going to throw a new HD belt on my car, I'll see if I can run it loose enough to where it's more free than cutting teeth...
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 01:13 PM
  #9993  
Tech Fanatic
 
Cardboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Flushing,NYC
Posts: 843
Default ackerman

hey
how do you do the matt francis ackerman setup? do you just drill a 3/16 hole in the exact middle of the connecting tie-rod between bellcranks and put the ball stud in the servo horn in the other way(ballstud points towards the back of the car)?
what are the advantages of doing this?
also, how do you flip the ackerman like it says on the G+ setup sheets? i don't have a g+ chassis, can i still make this adjustment? what difference does it make?
Cardboard is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 01:40 PM
  #9994  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,379
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Re: ackerman

Originally posted by Cardboard
hey
how do you do the matt francis ackerman setup? do you just drill a 3/16 hole in the exact middle of the connecting tie-rod between bellcranks and put the ball stud in the servo horn in the other way(ballstud points towards the back of the car)?
what are the advantages of doing this?
also, how do you flip the ackerman like it says on the G+ setup sheets? i don't have a g+ chassis, can i still make this adjustment? what difference does it make?
MF's setup really isn't a change in the Ackerman setup. His thing extends the length of the turnbuckle from the near side of the draglink to its far side.

First, you completely remove the standard Ball Stud on the Draglink. Second, replace the screw (that attaches the far side of the Draglink to the Bellcrank on the battery side of the car) with a ball stud that has the same thread length. Third, make a longer turnbuckle (about 2") to replace the original unit (about 1").

Doing this mod makes it so the turnbuckle from the servo to the draglink doesn't go through such radical angular changes. Matt showed me this mod several months ago and I use it on both my cars. Wouldn't change back!

The Ackerman change thing deals with using the forward mounting post position in the G+ chassis and exchanging the arms from left to right (and flipping them). See the Hodgimoto site for previous postings about this setup.

Last edited by JRX-S Bill; 04-17-2004 at 09:27 PM.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 02:11 PM
  #9995  
Tech Adept
 
akrcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 200
Default

I would stay away from al. outdrive made by anyone. I had some niftech ones. They didn't last long. Even though cvd bones have nice swivel pins, which made bone fit in outdrive well. Swivel pins made notch in outdrive after 4 months of racing.
akrcracer is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 03:43 PM
  #9996  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
Xtant3150c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by James Nguyen
SPEEDWORLD or call 916.783.8864. They are in California.
Thanks James for the info and link!

I guess I need to try and check with some lhs to see if they can get parts? Shipping is still $17 for a $7.50 pulley's?
Xtant3150c is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 12:33 AM
  #9997  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,819
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Smoking ESC

I just realized that my 19T motors' endbell on this car doesn't come off the can (so I broke it off--accident by experimentation). Oh well, that just gives me an excuse to go buy a new motor & that's just what I did. The paperwork that came with the car mentioned about not using a motor w/ less than 15T's (it ruins the esc). So I went out and bought Trinity's Speed Gems Pro 15TDB motor. I put it in, ran the car for alittle while but took the car inside when it started to act up. Tried running it some more and that's when I noticed smoke billowing out from the esc. Did I do something wrong here (maybe like buying a 15TDB mod motor)?
And will getting GM Racings' V4r or V6r esc fix my problem?


Thanx 4 the help N advance
JayBee is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 01:35 PM
  #9998  
Tech Regular
 
HK Racing Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ravinia, Il
Posts: 251
Default

well the limit is 15 that means it COULD run it but you should run atleast one turn over the limit
HK Racing Joe is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 04:17 PM
  #9999  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default lol

has anyone tried putting a 8 turn on a msc, something to do when your bored and you spy a msc sitting the corner collecting dust. I've done it, it sure works good for about, oh, 2 full speed runs.
pro3racer is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 04:55 PM
  #10000  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,379
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Todd Hodge's Birthday Today

Hey,

Todd Hodge is 30 today. Please go to the "Ask Hodgimoto" string and leave him some Happy Birthday wishes. Thanks.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 05:11 PM
  #10001  
Tech Adept
 
Brandon R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 146
Default

10,000th post....man what a thread and a car!!
Brandon R is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 05:23 PM
  #10002  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,379
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

And I gotta think that Randman has about 3,000 of them on this thread.

That Randy is one helpful/interesting/thoughtful contributor. And he is nearing 10,000 posts.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 07:17 PM
  #10003  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,819
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default SMOKED ESC

If it's not too much trouble, can SOMEONE answer my thread?
JayBee is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 07:28 PM
  #10004  
Tech Regular
 
mwcet8k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 266
Default Re: SMOKED ESC

Originally posted by JayBee
If it's not too much trouble, can SOMEONE answer my thread?
Give us some more specifics, like what model speed control you were using. If you had your car over geared, that combined with the fact that you were using a motor that was right at the limit of your ESC may have been enough to fry it. Was your motor really hot at the end of each run to the point that you couldn't hold your finger on it for more than a second or two? That's a sure sign that you were over geared.

On the other hand, it could just be a bad/cheap ESC.
mwcet8k is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 07:29 PM
  #10005  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default Re: SMOKED ESC

Originally posted by JayBee
If it's not too much trouble, can SOMEONE answer my thread?
gearing is off maybe or the timing might be too high? gear mesh might be too tight causing high load. speedo got too hot, too much load on it, speedo starts smoking.
James Nguyen is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.