Losi XXX-S

Reply

Old 02-23-2004, 07:06 AM
  #8911  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
spenzalii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD
Posts: 1,424
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It's a crying shame. It's cold and I odn't have the time to run at the area carpet track (45 minutes out), so I ended up converting my XXX-S into a drifter. I cut some PVC pipe, slapped them on some rims and went to town yesterday. Quickest conversion I've done yet. With nitro coming around the corner, it wouldn't have got much run once the weather broke. Quite fun, actually. I'll still go get the belt conversion, just in case I do get some asphalt running in between nitro time.
spenzalii is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 07:27 AM
  #8912  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Re: TRC Foams

Originally posted by stumper1
Hey guys!!

I decided to try foams - just been racing stock spec/rubber. I bought a set of TRC foams and went to put them on and notice the hole in the center is not big enough - is this common?

Great name btw! I noticed the same thing yesterday when putting on any rim besides the losi ones.....I think its common thing.
stumper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 07:29 AM
  #8913  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
RichO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 320
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Yokomo clamping AE hubs for XXX-s

Does anyone know who would have the yokomo AE hexs for foam tires in stock? I am looking for the clamping hubs but I cannot seem to find them in stock anywhere.
RichO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 10:17 AM
  #8914  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,839
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default Re: TRC Foams

Originally posted by stumper1
Hey guys!!

I decided to try foams - just been racing stock spec/rubber. I bought a set of TRC foams and went to put them on and notice the hole in the center is not big enough - is this common?
Most rims are made for the metric sized axles so thats could be why some fit tighter and the hole needs to be enlarged a little with a reamer. But yes it is common to have rims that fit tight over the axle.


RichO.....try Yokomo direct.....or Stormers maybe.
Kevin K is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 08:31 PM
  #8915  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (73)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,585
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

RichO, I have them in stock and they will be on the TC3 page shortly.
Kraig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 07:23 AM
  #8916  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Default

Found a tip...

This defeats the purpose of setting droop via shock ball end but it does eliminate the "slop" between the shock ball and the ball cup. I've notice more and more slop between the ball and the ball cup holder each time I run the car and the way to take the slop out is to tighten the ball cupp on more untill the ball freely moves yet the slop is removed from the pressure of the shock shaft on the ball cup.

Another way is to eliminate the slop and still adjust droop via shock end is to use the standard camber link ball cups and ends.
ZER01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 02:33 PM
  #8917  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
NVisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i must say the hardware included with the xxx-s is the absolute WORST i have ever worked with. Doing the graphite conversion, even with pre-tapping the holes ive stripped 3 screws. ive never seen such a weak material used in screws before. Now i have to risk ripping my graphite chassis to shit with my dremel just to get one screw out.

sorry i just felt the need to vent
NVisible is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 02:41 PM
  #8918  
Tech Addict
 
JohnMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 608
Default

Thats Disappointing to hear.

I've found that the easyout screw set , #0, works very well on striped screws.
JohnMatrix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 03:07 PM
  #8919  
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,547
Default

Originally posted by NVisible
Doing the graphite conversion, even with pre-tapping the holes ive stripped 3 screws. ive never seen such a weak material used in screws
What brad of wrenches are you using? The quality of your tools play a major role in striping out the allen heads especially the 1/16 and .050.

That's still to bad that happened.

Eric
EricF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 03:35 PM
  #8920  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
NVisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yea, im going to invest in some Integy drivers before i continue. I have a screw set coming from rcscrewz.com as well. And i think im going to buy a proper tapp for it .

dad and i just drilled the head off the sucker.

sorry if i offended anyone with my little rant
NVisible is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 03:50 PM
  #8921  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

Get better tools...it happens sometimes if your tools are old. I would stray away from the integy ones, I had them a long time ago and the tips wore out pretty quickly. Just my opinion though.
James Nguyen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 04:00 PM
  #8922  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
NVisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hrm!. can you reccomend anything?
Ive heard the Team Associated set is good
NVisible is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 04:13 PM
  #8923  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
EddieO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,415
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Hudy makes nice stuff, so does Losi and Trinity. I do have some integy wrenches.....more like my back up wrenches or the ones I loan out without a worry of getting it back.....


I've never had a problem stripping any of the screws I got with a losi kit.....

Later EddieO
EddieO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 05:16 PM
  #8924  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Integy wrenches are just fine, I've had a set for 2 years now and only broke the .50 just because I had some muscle behind it. I agree the losi and probably the Tamiya flat head screws are the worst, they are made from cheep pot metals or something. I replaced my XXX-S with a Ti set I got off of ebay for $35.
hobbipro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 05:26 PM
  #8925  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

I have the Trinity wrenches and nut drivers. They are nice but a tad bit on the expensive side. If I were to get anything else it would have to be Hudy. Hudy just released some of there less expensive version.
James Nguyen is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service