Losi XXX-S

Old 10-14-2003, 03:59 PM
  #7366  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (80)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,780
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Kevin is correct, you need to use the TC3 bones.
Kraig is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 06:40 PM
  #7367  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

while looking at pro cars(xxx-s, duh), i saw that many used very wide foam tires, in the front and back, but even wider in the back. Do you have to trim some stuff down to get this wide, and how wide can you go. Does this help enough to go out and buy new tires though.
pro3racer is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 06:51 PM
  #7368  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,852
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Pro3....You can get tires that are wider then 28mm to fit the car but it will take some work. In the rear you can run the shocks on the inside hole on the arm and that helps get some clearance. Also you can cut a little off the shock bottom to get more clearance....when you put wider tires on the car you will see where they rub and if you just take a little off that part of the shock bottom it wont rub. In the front you can drill another hole on the arm a little inside of the stock hole....this is if you want to run wider then 28mm tires. I take the front arms and file or grind away that little "nipple" or nub on the front arm that the shock mounts to. When you grind this flat it will move the shock bottom closer to the arm and reduce the rubbage...is that a word???? Anyway you can and should also glue a gold washer or two to the spindle to limit the max throw so your tires do not hit the front spring. You can also grind a little off the shock bottom where it rubs for more clearance in the front too. If you dont know what Im talking about I will take a pic and post it if needed.
Kevin K is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 06:56 PM
  #7369  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Kraig
Kevin is correct, you need to use the TC3 bones.
Do they use a smaller pin size?
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 07:08 PM
  #7370  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,852
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I think it has something to do with the size of the ball at the end of the bone. The losi one is bigger or something. Plus I think that 1-way uses TC3 1-way out drive cups so they are made for the TC3 end size.
Kevin K is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 07:24 PM
  #7371  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

i think rubbage should be a word, i use it sometimes too. FYI, my word is combojulation, means a lot of, hahaha . I get what your taking about, except for what the shock bottom is, is it the "ball cup", or the keeper. 28mm are supers right, i believe i bought them for my pro 3 once, but they weren't worth trying to make fit. One last ??, are they worth buying a new pair though, is it that big of a difference, and are 24's good for the front.
pro3racer is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 07:42 PM
  #7372  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,852
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Im glad you like rubbage

The part Im talking about grinding a little off of is the plastic part that you screw on to the bottom of the shock shaft. And 28mm is a super wide rubber tire but it is almost the norm when you are talking foam tires. I think you are confusing the rubber tires and the foam tires. With rubber tires the 24mm or 26mm tires work just fine. But with Foam tires the wider ones are better like 28mm. If your racing rubber tires you dont have to worry about any of this its just for using wide tires like with Foams....I think you will be hard pressed to find a wide rubber that works near as well as a narrow one.
Kevin K is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 07:52 PM
  #7373  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

no i'm not confused, i'm running foam tires. i have jaco 24's in all around right now(foam tires). I want to run wider foams, like a 28.
pro3racer is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 08:01 PM
  #7374  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,852
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Ok I just wanted to make sure that you were not talking about rubber tires.

One more thing most of the time with wide foam tires you should run the TC3 hex's...they are alittle wider and give more clearance too.
Kevin K is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 08:05 PM
  #7375  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

not to be mean, u answered everything perfect, but whats the effect, just a lot more grip, or more in, off power, what?
pro3racer is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 08:17 PM
  #7376  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,852
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The wider tire will make the car less twitchy and have more grip if that makes sense. The narrow tires will make the car feel more like its on edge and not have very much side grip. Plus wider tires give better forward bite. And GM has built an empire on "Wider is Better"
Kevin K is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 09:12 PM
  #7377  
RCTech Member #2
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
TSR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,962
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Kevin K
One more thing most of the time with wide foam tires you should run the TC3 hex's...they are alittle wider and give more clearance too.
Hey Kevin, Do you need to run low profile lock nuts with the AE Hex? I have a set of the AE hexes, but havent played with them. I put them on the car, found the axle didn't get to the nylon on the nut, so i just swaped back to the Losi hex.
TSR6 is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 09:19 PM
  #7378  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,852
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Troy....yeah you can use them or use the BRP locking nylon wheel nuts they never fall off. Or if you have some spare change get TC3 stub axles they have like one more thread on them so the nuts stay on better. The TC3 stub axels are like 8 bucks each but you wont have to worry too much about a wheel falling off. Or you can go ghetto and flip the wheel nuts over and put them on backwards...
Kevin K is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 10:23 PM
  #7379  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 115
Default

Originally posted by Kevin K
. Or you can go ghetto and flip the wheel nuts over and put them on backwards...
thats what i did on my old T3...the wheels are so deep my socket wrench won't reach the nut when it gets deeper....stupid wheels....
Los1Fan is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 10:24 PM
  #7380  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 115
Default

Originally posted by Randman
aaaah, nice! If I ever have problems with my Losi 1 way, I know what I'm gettin

with the steel outdrives..won't that be heavier so if heavier..the more the rotating mass and the slower the car will accel??
Los1Fan is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.