Losi XXX-S

Old 09-27-2003, 11:26 AM
  #7156  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

One more thing you can do is get a craftsman screw extractor. I've never tried it on an RC screw, but they say it works for every kind of stripped screw out there..
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 09-27-2003, 11:55 AM
  #7157  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default i got it out

thanx randman, i got it out with a flathead. I still can't lower the car though, could it just be a mistake in the setup, because if i want to move the front shocks up, they rub on the caster block. I think i'll just screw the setup, and just make the thing run right first.
pro3racer is offline  
Old 09-27-2003, 12:40 PM
  #7158  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Make sure you built the car right, go back through the instructions and be sure everything is how it's supposed to be. You really shouldn't have a problem getting the car to sit at the right ride height.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 09-27-2003, 12:54 PM
  #7159  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default usually

usually, the preloader, isn't that far down, it's actually really close to the top right, because, well, i got my car down, but th preloades really just hold the spring now, and don't have a big affect on tension of it, but who cares, it's lowered, thats good enough.
pro3racer is offline  
Old 09-27-2003, 02:50 PM
  #7160  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,659
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Randman
One more thing you can do is get a craftsman screw extractor. I've never tried it on an RC screw, but they say it works for every kind of stripped screw out there..
Gee- I wonder where you heard that?
Jon Kerr is offline  
Old 09-27-2003, 03:02 PM
  #7161  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default fyi

i finally got the car down. different shock setup, lots of damper, and 5 hours 4 hours behind schedule(now i can start with electronics). Wow, race season can really creap up to yea and bite you in the butt.
pro3racer is offline  
Old 09-27-2003, 06:02 PM
  #7162  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (29)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,458
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by losi jon
STLNFRST-HAHA!!now THAT'S funny! still racing offroad bro but now that the track i am racing at is putting in a big sedan track its on like donkey kong!! gonna try to pry you and Mark Dawson back here to race again!!

also i bought a new REAL vehicle,i am looking at coming up to your neck of the woods now that i have a dependable vehicle....and do some racing...if that what you want to call it
It will be a while before I drive down your way.....LOL That was a long drive to that track which left a bad taste in my mouth.
STLNLST is offline  
Old 09-27-2003, 09:41 PM
  #7163  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by jkerr0043
Gee- I wonder where you heard that?
...work...
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 09-27-2003, 11:32 PM
  #7164  
Tech Addict
 
losi jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: california
Posts: 648
Default

STLNLST-Different facility,better track!!! it will be bigger and races run better,you WILL be down here again soon!.LOL...i don't race at the other place anymore!! they have started preparing the area this weekend to put the track in.

racers-haven.com
losi jon is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 01:30 PM
  #7165  
ttr
Tech Apprentice
 
ttr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Budapest
Posts: 66
Default

May I ask your help for a good setup for stock racing with a G+ on a very tight carpet track with a lot of 180 turns, only 50' straight, only on foams with front diff or spool?
ttr is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 02:03 PM
  #7166  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

where can you find, and what is the importance of that plastic thing that goes between the battery and the belt casing
pro3racer is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 02:07 PM
  #7167  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by ttr
May I ask your help for a good setup for stock racing with a G+ on a very tight carpet track with a lot of 180 turns, only 50' straight, only on foams with front diff or spool?
PM BrianJ for that one.
Brian McGreevy is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 02:12 PM
  #7168  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,659
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by pro3racer
where can you find, and what is the importance of that plastic thing that goes between the battery and the belt casing
It's extremely important if you're using the graphite chassis. It keeps your batteries from shorting out on the chassis. I just use electrical tape on my car. It's easier to apply and works just as well.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 02:13 PM
  #7169  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by pro3racer
where can you find, and what is the importance of that plastic thing that goes between the battery and the belt casing

do you mean the clear plastic sticker? it's suppose to prevent your batteries from shorting... graphite conducts electricity...
highwayman is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 02:21 PM
  #7170  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

thanx, i'll have to custom fabricate one, hehe
pro3racer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.