Losi XXX-S

Old 07-05-2003, 06:32 AM
  #6556  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
ned911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 46
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Its usually the pivot block that start to where causing the slop.

Drilling vs. standard for pistons refers to creating a certain size hole in the piston.

For awhile Losi did not make #57 pistons, so we would buy a 60 (I think - tan piston) and drill the holes with a #57 drill bit. I've also got 556's and 566's which are 56's with 1 or 2 holes drilled with a #55 bit.

Ned
ned911 is offline  
Old 07-05-2003, 06:37 AM
  #6557  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

thanks...

so if they're using the #56 piston drilled, it would refer to the number of holes?
highwayman is offline  
Old 07-05-2003, 06:48 AM
  #6558  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
ned911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 46
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

No, all Losi pistons have 3 holes.

A #56 drilled indicated you created a #56 by drilling out a smaller piston with a #56 drill bit. Not sure why anyone would do this as #56 pistons are quite standard.

Ned
ned911 is offline  
Old 07-05-2003, 07:41 AM
  #6559  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 69
Default

Originally posted by highwayman
what will i replace? changed the arms already...

i noticed that in the setup sheet of some of the pro drivers it says there with regards the shock piston... "standard or drilled" what do they mean if its drilled...
The standard pistons are molded. There may be inconsistencies in the inner diameter of the holes, due to the mold itself. The drilled pistons are drilled out with a sized bit, ie #56.
thatdog is offline  
Old 07-05-2003, 07:46 AM
  #6560  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

thanks... so when it says drilled on the setup sheet of the pro's they're just re-sizing the pistons to the exact inner diameter...
highwayman is offline  
Old 07-05-2003, 07:53 AM
  #6561  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by thatdog
The standard pistons are molded. There may be inconsistencies in the inner diameter of the holes, due to the mold itself. The drilled pistons are drilled out with a sized bit, ie #56.
Actually I have found in every losi piston I checked that there are inconsistancies from 1 to the next, I always just bought #60 pistons and drilled them out. You can also make custom pistons like 56-56-57 for different dampening.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 07-06-2003, 05:46 PM
  #6562  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,169
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Anyone want another xxx-s?
Korey Harbke is offline  
Old 07-06-2003, 06:15 PM
  #6563  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: modesto, CA (central valley)
Posts: 109
Default

How much? what comes with it?
Smartazz07 is offline  
Old 07-06-2003, 07:11 PM
  #6564  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (38)
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,683
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Smartazz07 I have a G Plus thats really nice,It has everything that you could put on a G Plus(well almost)I have delt with a few people on the RCR board (speedworld)And have good feedback,I live in central Ca.1 to 2 days shipped to no. cal.PM me for more info.And I can get photos.
Oasis is offline  
Old 07-06-2003, 07:38 PM
  #6565  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

as mentioned by highwayman and glide1, the xxxs is by no means obsolete. still has a good representation here at our local track as well (along with TC3s, Tamiya EVO3s, Yok SDs, etc.). and week after week, majority of the cars in the a-main grid are still losi's - be that in stock, mod or spec 19T class.

highwayman: wow, thanks! binobola mo pa ako sa post mo ha! hehehe ... alam mo naman i read this thread. im sure next time you'll be ahead of me. by the way, you guys playing this wednesday? got a hot new set-up for the rockwell track which i worked out last saturday. the car is really hooked now and even more consistent than before. it was really just fine tuning but it made a big difference in terms of handling. cant wait to race it. wish i had this set up in last week's race! i would have defenitly been faster.

Last edited by ROBORAT; 07-06-2003 at 09:29 PM.
ROBORAT is offline  
Old 07-06-2003, 08:15 PM
  #6566  
Tech Adept
 
Pembalap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 207
Default Re: spur adapter

Originally posted by ongbenghui
Hi,

Any one try this from jet hobby & precisionrc.com ?

http://www.precisionrc.com/pic/jet/th/th1.jpg
I used the spur adapter, so that I am able to use a regular spur gear. By using this adapter, I am able to tune the gear ratio more closely.

The downside:
Since the profile of the tooth is sligthly differrent to the original pulley, the belt skips a lot under braking.

A.W
Pembalap is offline  
Old 07-06-2003, 08:59 PM
  #6567  
Tech Addict
 
Simon K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 573
Default

Originally posted by highwayman
i noticed that the front and rear of my G+ has some play, can this affect handling?
I noticed this too.
Last week I shimmed everything using what was left of my Yokomo shim set. The shims just fit onto the larger inner hinge pins and easily fit the outer ones.
Simon K is offline  
Old 07-06-2003, 09:59 PM
  #6568  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,583
Default

Originally posted by Dan
Ah yes, so its not obsolete yet. Just got mines...
So Dan when are you going to come and race with us????


Stlnlst:

Nice talking to you at Speedworld this past weekend.
Sydewynder is offline  
Old 07-07-2003, 12:04 AM
  #6569  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: modesto, CA (central valley)
Posts: 109
Default

Im not looking for one as a serious buyer. I am just seeing how much they would go for now. Sorry.
Brandon
Smartazz07 is offline  
Old 07-07-2003, 01:50 AM
  #6570  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

can anyone help with the thickness measurements of the losi front sway bars? am trying to fill out a set up sheet and this would help. thanks guys!
ROBORAT is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.