Losi XXX-S

Old 06-18-2003, 11:58 PM
  #6466  
Tech Adept
 
Pembalap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 207
Default

Originally posted by losi jon
Hey guys, I race with Mimno and his problem seems to be drivetrain related, so any idea's on what may be causing it would be most helpful.
His motor's and electronics are going fine in his MR4TC and he knows how to gear properly, when on the track it just seems like he's running a stock motor when everyone else is running a mod.
The car doesn't pull to one side so it doesn't seem related to one particular side or corner of the drive train, he's tried various belt tensions, at the moment it's just slack enough to make the usual XXX-S belt slipping sound under hard braking. His diffs seemed slightly tight when I fealt them but not hugely so, not enough to slow him down so much anyway.
There isn't any excess noise from his car on the track, so gear mesh seems fine, could a badly moulded spur gear still cause problems?

He's rebuilt the car atleast once so I would of thought he would notice any obvious problem, he's an engineer so knows how to build stuff too I hope

check to see if the spur is rubbing up against the tensioner,i had this problem and talked to todd hodge,he found it and had me put a shim in between the two.

I think you might want to try to remove the motor first, and then try to push the car on a flat surface. It should be very free. If it's not free...there might be somethin wrong in the drivetrain.

I suspect it might be a faulty bearing. Another thing is that you might also want to check the spur gear assembly.....the shaft holding the spur gear might be too short. So that when it is installed in the chassis, the spur gear does not rotate freely.

A.W

Last edited by Pembalap; 06-19-2003 at 12:16 AM.
Pembalap is offline  
Old 06-19-2003, 12:29 AM
  #6467  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,852
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by ongbenghui
Great! you might want to use some thread lock on the screws such that the screws that secure the top shaft wouldn't come lost.
Or you could just use one long screw with a mini lock nut on the other side....it seems to hold everything better then the two screws. I always had one of the screws loosen up on me after I did this I never had that happen again. Just be carefull not to tighten the nut or the screw too much and pinch the gear between the chassis sides.
Kevin K is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 06:50 AM
  #6468  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 219
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default gear alinment

Kenin K.--That sounds like a very good idea.
Simple fix for a simple problem,I have not had the gear
problem-but have seen the screws back off.
I might try it on my xxx4 @ this week end s off road race,


Thanks for the idea!
SrRC is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 07:26 AM
  #6469  
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default Track Width with TC3 hexes...

Originally posted by GKC
For those using the TC3 wheel hexs, what is the part number of the part to use for tamiya type of wheels?
What is the trackwidth when using tc3 hexes? We run rubbers and following the setup on the manual (inner holes on the rear arms), i get a width of 186mm. Hope it is closer to 190mm and not over. Thanks in advance.
glide 1 is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 07:49 AM
  #6470  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (29)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,458
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default Re: Track Width with TC3 hexes...

Originally posted by glide 1
What is the trackwidth when using tc3 hexes? We run rubbers and following the setup on the manual (inner holes on the rear arms), i get a width of 186mm. Hope it is closer to 190mm and not over. Thanks in advance.
It should be pretty close to 190. I haven't measured it but my car has never failed tech inspection with the AE hex's on.
STLNLST is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 07:51 AM
  #6471  
Tech Regular
 
LouisB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Guernsey, UK
Posts: 404
Default

I think they are exactly 2mm wider than the stock Losi ones, bringing it up to 190mm.
LouisB is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 10:21 PM
  #6472  
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default STLNLST, LouisB

Thanks, i'l give them a try. Also, are there aluminum hexes like the yoke (pin and o-ring type) that would fit the losi?
glide 1 is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 10:35 PM
  #6473  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (29)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,458
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Yokomo has those types....I think that they are called E-Z hubs. It's up to you which one's you want. I like the clamping (non O-ring) stlye hubs myself.
STLNLST is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 10:39 PM
  #6474  
Tech Regular
 
Koya Dale.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Manila Philippines
Posts: 254
Default

glide 1: i used to have one of those in my losi. their made by dynamite
Koya Dale.com is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 10:43 PM
  #6475  
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default Clamp type hexes

Thanks STLNLST, Koya
glide 1 is offline  
Old 06-22-2003, 07:24 AM
  #6476  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Koya Dale.com
glide 1: i used to have one of those in my losi. their made by dynamite
i have those now, the red ones made by dynamite, will those make my car wider, like using the TC3 hex?
highwayman is offline  
Old 06-22-2003, 08:59 AM
  #6477  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: RI
Posts: 44
Default Matt Francis xxxs

Anyone interested in buying a xxxs Matt Francis Edtion in very good condition! I got a few extras I could throw in! DJ
jrnitrocars is offline  
Old 06-22-2003, 09:51 AM
  #6478  
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
xxxs

yea i bought a xxxs G-plus about mid march and have been running stock rubber ever since, and was woundering what kind of springs i could use to run foam with.? i had my tc3 running foam but got tired of all the problems of have a 2 owner car. so im open for suggestions on sorings a or oils for the shocks.
lazyboy is offline  
Old 06-22-2003, 09:55 AM
  #6479  
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Post foam set up for xxxs G-plus

yea i bought a xxxs G-plus about mid march and have been running stock rubber ever since, and was woundering what kind of springs i could use to run foam with.? i had my tc3 running foam but got tired of all the problems of have a 2 owner car. so im open for suggestions on sorings a or oils for the shocks.
lazyboy is offline  
Old 06-22-2003, 09:55 AM
  #6480  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Get 25 lb blacks, 30 lb whites, and 35 lb orange

for oils get from 50-70
Brian McGreevy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.