Losi XXX-S

Old 02-18-2003, 04:00 PM
  #5401  
Gus
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 31
Default G+ chassis

Neo heres a pic of the G+ chassis.
Attached Thumbnails Losi XXX-S-losa0251-chassis-450.jpeg  
Gus is offline  
Old 02-18-2003, 04:01 PM
  #5402  
Gus
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 31
Default G+ chassis

And this is the older version.
Attached Thumbnails Losi XXX-S-losa9918-250.jpeg  
Gus is offline  
Old 02-18-2003, 04:03 PM
  #5403  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,508
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Anyone that hasn't broken a shock shaft consider yourself VERY LUCKY. Hard hit or soft hit they break. I have broken four shafts with no damage tp the body or the arms. It's a big pain in the booty when this happens too. I went back to the stock short shock shafts. If I break one of those then I'll look at the new bumper thingy.
STLNLST is offline  
Old 02-18-2003, 04:03 PM
  #5404  
Tech Regular
 
NeO-pRo-3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Socal
Posts: 330
Default

Oh i see, thanks. G+ chassis are hard to get. Any news when the G+ Graphite Conversion would come out? I doubt there would be one.
NeO-pRo-3 is offline  
Old 02-18-2003, 07:39 PM
  #5405  
RCTech Member #2
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
TSR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,962
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by STLNLST
Anyone that hasn't broken a shock shaft consider yourself VERY LUCKY. Hard hit or soft hit they break. I have broken four shafts with no damage tp the body or the arms. It's a big pain in the booty when this happens too. I went back to the stock short shock shafts. If I break one of those then I'll look at the new bumper thingy.
I've taken a couple hard hits. Broke the shock eyelet on both my cars about 2 weeks ago, both the GP+ and graphite conversion. Both shafts held fine..

Same exact spot on the track, almost the same exact parts too. Hit #1 was foam, hit #2 was rubber.
TSR6 is offline  
Old 02-18-2003, 07:54 PM
  #5406  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 117
Default

Thanks everyone for replying to my heatsink question. My reason for wanting one is cause I want to run my practice packs closer together. Hoping that piece would keep it a bit cooler so I can run them closer together. I'm working on getting a fan working as well. I just need more practice and I don't really want to wait that long between packs.
Leon is offline  
Old 02-18-2003, 08:50 PM
  #5407  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,508
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

TSR6- I don't know how you haven't I have seen a couple of other people have the same problem but for it to happen to me as many times as it has is frustrating. If the worse is behind me then let's party If not.....look for me in the lower mains
STLNLST is offline  
Old 02-18-2003, 09:31 PM
  #5408  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Kenneth Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,123
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi,

I am considering to buy the G+. I would be mainly running the car on carpet and would be using rubber tires (Sorex 20Rs work well on the local track). Would the box stock setup run well? I am not really an experienced setup tuner, that's why I would prefer a car that would run well in the box stock settings. Thank you.
Kenneth Tan is offline  
Old 02-19-2003, 07:35 AM
  #5409  
RCTech Member #2
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
TSR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,962
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

STLNLST - maybe I was lucky? Knock on wood... I don't think shock shafts are prone to breaking around here though. I hear it online fairly often, but I don't think I've seen, or heard about it at the track. This reminds me of the original x-s, when people were breaking rear arms & hubs. It was news to me!

Kenneth Tan - The box setup works fine from what I've heard, I haven't used it though. I just went ahead and used Paul's carpet nats setup from the Losi website. I changed springs to silver all around, moved the front arms to the forward position, front swaybar, and ran the "offset" rear end parts.
TSR6 is offline  
Old 02-19-2003, 07:38 AM
  #5410  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (80)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,780
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Looks like the chassis questions have been answered. As of late, all the chassis's we have gotten in have been the new style that come with the G+ kits.

I don't think you will see a G+ Conversion kit. However, as the old pieces are phased out I am willing to bet that you will see the new pieces like the chassis, arms, and rear shock tower be phased in.

Kenneth, I am sure the kit setup would work. If you look at Todd's setup on the Losi site for the Novak race in 2002 that will work also. The G+ comes with the new off-set hubs but you should still be ok. The manual that comes with the car has very good text about changing this does that.
Kraig is offline  
Old 02-19-2003, 07:46 AM
  #5411  
Tech Regular
 
LouisB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Guernsey, UK
Posts: 404
Default

Originally posted by Kraig

I don't think you will see a G+ Conversion kit. However, as the old pieces are phased out I am willing to bet that you will see the new pieces like the chassis, arms, and rear shock tower be phased in.
I got a graphite conversion at chrismas and it had the new rear shock tower and some features of the new chassis (raised battery retaining parts)
LouisB is offline  
Old 02-19-2003, 03:24 PM
  #5412  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Really good stock foam setup for Graphite +:
Attached Thumbnails Losi XXX-S-foam-2-16-03.jpg  
Brian McGreevy is offline  
Old 02-19-2003, 03:34 PM
  #5413  
Tech Regular
 
melnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 340
Default

when i was on the new losi site for the graphite plus car i noticed there is a new belt does anyone know the difference between the blue and the new yellow belt
melnyk is offline  
Old 02-19-2003, 04:13 PM
  #5414  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Yellow belt is more flexible and stronger at the same time...thus...drivetrain more free.
Brian McGreevy is offline  
Old 02-19-2003, 05:07 PM
  #5415  
Tech Regular
 
NeO-pRo-3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Socal
Posts: 330
Default

I just purchased the yellow belt. Even though i like the color blue of the old blue belt i think the yellow is better. i can feel the difference and see the difference when racing on the track! NICE BELT! GOOD JOB TEAM LOSI! They should make like a variety of belts for performance and drivers's choice!
NeO-pRo-3 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.