Losi XXX-S

Old 02-02-2002, 06:15 AM
  #1786  
Tech Apprentice
 
RacerTex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 77
Default

I know the c-hubs fit because I use them on my XXX-S. You need to enlarge the hole some for the CVD to fit through. I never thought about the steering knuckles - no comment. Looks like the rear hubs would fit, but the geometry would be off. They have the axle several mm below the losi ones.
RacerTex is offline  
Old 02-02-2002, 11:26 AM
  #1787  
R/C Tech Founder
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,062
Default

I would assume that the front knuckles would fit (since they rest in the C-hubs, and if you're using the AE hubs...) but I am guess that they would throw the geometry off.

I have never seen one of the knuckles (or whatever their proper name is) get broken, since the force of impacts normally ends up on the arms or C-hubs. I wouldn't worry too much about having spares of them.
futureal is offline  
Old 02-02-2002, 12:15 PM
  #1788  
RCTech Member #2
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
TSR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,962
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by futureal
I have never seen one of the knuckles (or whatever their proper name is) get broken, since the force of impacts normally ends up on the arms or C-hubs. I wouldn't worry too much about having spares of them.
I have... I broke mine at the bottom where the screw goes in. It cracked right there. It was one heck-uva hit though.
TSR6 is offline  
Old 02-02-2002, 02:15 PM
  #1789  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 00000
Posts: 4,163
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

the AE Spindles actually have a longer arm than the Losi spindles. you would have to adjust the links from the steering bellcranks. they may provide more throw than what you want.
MDawson is offline  
Old 02-02-2002, 02:57 PM
  #1790  
R/C Tech Founder
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,062
Default

TSR6: Losi needs to hire you as the "worst case scenario" when they test their cars.
futureal is offline  
Old 02-02-2002, 04:38 PM
  #1791  
RCTech Member #2
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
TSR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,962
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by futureal
TSR6: Losi needs to hire you as the "worst case scenario" when they test their cars.
When can i start?
TSR6 is offline  
Old 02-02-2002, 04:54 PM
  #1792  
R/C Tech Founder
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,062
Default

As soon as you stop quoting the message you are responding to when it's right fricking above you! Sheesh!

heh

I finally got my .28" shocks today. Car is already handling great. Going to try 60/50 oil with a stiffer set up and see what happens. Still no swaybars.
futureal is offline  
Old 02-02-2002, 05:59 PM
  #1793  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,508
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

The car was on rails today. It's going to be an great nats for me if I can keep up the good driving. The car met up with a freak crash today though in the last round of qualifying. The damage looks like it's going to cost me a oneway out drive, front bumper, front bumper foam, chassis, front diff cover, and the screws for the front of the car. I ran a friends XXX-S for my main and his car was dialed too. Traffic wasn't too kind to anyone in the main so I pulled the car off before something happened to it.

futureal- Call Billy at Speedworld. He had the sway bars on the wall yesterday along with the new green springs.
STLNLST is offline  
Old 02-02-2002, 06:36 PM
  #1794  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (3)
 
kansasracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,615
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

where do the new green springs fit? Are they in between the blue and purple?
kansasracer is offline  
Old 02-02-2002, 06:49 PM
  #1795  
Administrator
iTrader: (26)
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,558
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

kansas..yes between blue and purple

fut...docks had a swaybar set in there yesterday.....unless wernik bought them.....he buys all that stuff and does not race...really screws the racers up...
Matt M. is offline  
Old 02-03-2002, 12:07 AM
  #1796  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (3)
 
kansasracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,615
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

By the way:

I was just looking at the coverage of the Novak race and I saw Kindwald's car. That looks so crappy...does anyone know if it actually worked?

I know he is a good driver, but what is he trying to achieve by "milling" (and I use that term loosely) out the drive tunnel...

It looks like A$$... just my 2 cents...
kansasracer is offline  
Old 02-03-2002, 01:18 AM
  #1797  
R/C Tech Founder
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,062
Default

Kinwald's car was, as far as I can tell, the best car there.

I know he's a good driver, but he was able to take the corners better than anybody. Part of that has got to be the car. I'm not saying the milling job helped in that sense, just that there certainly wasn't anything *wrong* with the car either...
futureal is offline  
Old 02-03-2002, 12:01 PM
  #1798  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 16
Default

Anyone tried to cut away material on the standard chassis???
My XXX-S is 88g to heavy........ (1500g is minimum limit where I race)
So I thought of doing a "Kindwall" on my XXX-S. Anyone tried it??? Do you think the chassis will flex a lot if I try????

By the way...
What bodies do you run????? Currently I run a Protoform Stratus.
TeeJay is offline  
Old 02-03-2002, 01:13 PM
  #1799  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (9)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

TeeJay: Well theres not much doubt that it will flex more than Kinwald's did. He preformed that mod on the Graphite chassis, so your regular Stiffezell chassis will definitely flex more. Now whether it flexes too much is a matter of how it feels on the track after you try it.

If you run somewhere that has debree on the track, don't even think about "doing a Kinwald".
Darkseid is offline  
Old 02-03-2002, 01:32 PM
  #1800  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,508
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

TeeJay- I wouldn't be so quick to mill out the chassis. Even though you need to shave off some weight you are giving up your sealed drive train. It might be easier to do instead of buying a graphite chassis but holes in the drive train makes the car too open to pebbles and other stuff on the track.
STLNLST is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.