R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2010, 06:46 AM   #76
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

I can only assume (at the moment) that when running indoors, due to the nature of the carpet circuits the gearing is a lot lower, so the loads are reduced on the ESC in general.

Outdoors, we are trying to get greater speeds so the gearing is taller, certainly is on the tracks I run.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:53 AM   #77
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
Do you have a link to the BEC? Your experience with the problem occurring only outdoors with the RS sounds distinctly like mine.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...Adjustable-BEC

Any 2s regulator should do the job though. I went this route to be able to test at various output voltages later on. For my TC, the leads are way too long, and I don't have the time or patience to shorten them, just have to race a cluttered car Saturday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I can only assume (at the moment) that when running indoors, due to the nature of the carpet circuits the gearing is a lot lower, so the loads are reduced on the ESC in general.

Outdoors, we are trying to get greater speeds so the gearing is taller, certainly is on the tracks I run.

Skiddins
Our indoor track isn't super tight, and from the guys I've talked to, the main changes guys are making is adding more turbo for the outdoor track. Same FDR. I'm starting to think it's temperature related.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 09:40 AM   #78
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryLeach View Post
[url]
Our indoor track isn't super tight, and from the guys I've talked to, the main changes guys are making is adding more turbo for the outdoor track. Same FDR. I'm starting to think it's temperature related.
Even though I love the size of the RS, I think they should have gone the route like other manu having a heatsink on the fets where you can mount a fan too it. As is, the only way to try and cool the fets is a fan on the solder posts.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 09:41 AM   #79
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I can only assume (at the moment) that when running indoors, due to the nature of the carpet circuits the gearing is a lot lower, so the loads are reduced on the ESC in general.

Outdoors, we are trying to get greater speeds so the gearing is taller, certainly is on the tracks I run.

Skiddins
I had the issue indoors with my fasst reciever, as did my friend. We were running 17.5 with the settings pretty high.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 09:48 AM   #80
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
Even though I love the size of the RS, I think they should have gone the route like other manu having a heatsink on the fets where you can mount a fan too it. As is, the only way to try and cool the fets is a fan on the solder posts.
My RS Pro was only showing 2 leds for heat indication [about 140* F] after some hard runs, so I don't think the ESC itself is suffering from heat, but maybe the BEC in the RS is.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 05:19 PM   #81
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
I did a test last night with some stuff I had, std receiver cap vs the SP flat "super" cap. If I unplugged the speedo from the receiver with a regular cap it died instantly, the SP cap took about 2 sec to fade out, so I am going to leave that in this weekend and see how it goes. Ironically a regulator is probably a little lighter, but I didn't have one nor did the LHS.
Just wanted to note that this setup caused me some glitching, so I went back to a standard cap in the receiver. I will try the regulator next.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 04:37 AM   #82
Tech Regular
 
Uziman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Burton SA
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I guess every thing has been all good? I have my lipo regulator in and ready for tomorrow. Here's hoping all glitches are a thing of the past
__________________
Corally RDXΦ'09 ★ Airtronics/Spektrum ★ Tekin ★ Fantom
-------------------------------------------------------
★ www.aerccc.org.au ★
-------------------------------------------------------
Uziman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 07:39 AM   #83
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have been having a small issue lately.

it started after ETS , I had to remove the speedo and fit the handout speedo , since then it wont bleep when it receives signal from my transmitter every time , i have to disconnect the battery again and try again.

Steering works but no throttle !!

Weird
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 06:57 PM   #84
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
I have been having a small issue lately.

it started after ETS , I had to remove the speedo and fit the handout speedo , since then it wont bleep when it receives signal from my transmitter every time , i have to disconnect the battery again and try again.

Steering works but no throttle !!

Weird
Did you have to reverse your throttle to sync the other speedo?
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 11:50 PM   #85
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
Did you have to reverse your throttle to sync the other speedo?
maybe try clearing the models memory in your radio and starting over.? . .
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 03:37 AM   #86
Tech Regular
 
Uziman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Burton SA
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well had my first run with the regulator today and no problems at all.
I only bought the Yeah Racing 3A unit and as it was cheap and it performed without any glitches.
So I'm happy.
__________________
Corally RDXΦ'09 ★ Airtronics/Spektrum ★ Tekin ★ Fantom
-------------------------------------------------------
★ www.aerccc.org.au ★
-------------------------------------------------------
Uziman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 03:45 AM   #87
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
Did you have to reverse your throttle to sync the other speedo?
nope everything is still the same
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 05:58 AM   #88
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
nope everything is still the same
the tekin is very sensitive to neutral, run through the one touch setup again, sometimes re calibrating your radio helps too.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 10:14 AM   #89
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yeah i will try that the next time i strip the car ready for ETS

Thanks guys
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 10:25 AM   #90
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

I have also had problems eith my spektrum system in my m11.

Stadning right nect to the vehicle it would be fine, move 10 feet away and I would loose all power. Switched to an am reciever and module, and my problems were solved. Its great how a 40$ am rx and module works as good as the spektrum with less problems.
__________________
Unreal RC
Premier NJ Hobby Shop

Claw RC
TTKDracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Tekin R1 ESC RC MARKET Electric On-Road 284 04-25-2008 03:59 PM
ESC ??? FT_Wacked Electric On-Road 9 02-25-2007 05:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:38 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net