R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-25-2010, 04:01 PM   #61
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Does K.O. SS = K.O 2.4 system?
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 04:52 PM   #62
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
Does K.O. SS = K.O 2.4 system?
K.O. 2.4 system / 4PK + M11X = missing your main LOL
__________________
SMC ( www.smc-racing.com the only place to order your batteries online.), Awesomatix, Gonzo Paints, BN Racing

"Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery."
Advil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 05:36 PM   #63
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,880
Default

I've seen this issue caused by 3 things so far, that I have been able to fix:


1. a single stray strand of wire moving and touching the next post once in awhile, most other esc dont have bare metal so close to each other, the solder posts

2. a cold solder joint

3. bad sensor wire, only sometimes bad sometimes the sensor test showed ok and sometimes not
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 06:23 PM   #64
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Whats wrong with ko, 4pk, and m11x ?
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 06:32 PM   #65
Tech Master
 
billjacobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 1,264
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default tekin rs pro with spekrum micro

I also had this happen (loss of control). I changed receivers to one of my nomadio's and it never happened again. Someone told me that this is an issue with the noise of the tekin bec and the very little filtering of the spektrum receivers. I am not sure if that's the case, but it hasn't happened again with the nomadio. The exact same setup (position, receiver, etc,) with the same spektrum receiver and an lrp esc never causes an issue. My feeling is that it's the tekin because that's the only thing left. If this happens with futaba, ko, etc 2.4 ghz receivers, that I am not sure what the issue is.
billjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 08:45 PM   #66
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I was asking because I am about to move on from my Helios with Spektrum DSM 1 modules to something else. This last Sunday I changed nothing but the receiver and the radio/module and the problem went away entirely. I agree that the sensor wire and esc install could cause these problems, but in my case, it wasn't. I went from shutting down after a half lap and not starting my 4th Q to running 6 minutes. And this was on a HUGE track. The end of the 250' straight is about 110' from the drivers stand.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 12:01 AM   #67
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

the niggle guys are having is definately voltage drop no matter what system you are running.
If you powered the reciever from the main battery or used a cap, regulater etc.. the problem is no more.
Possible solution for Tekin is a higher amp BEC.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 06:46 AM   #68
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
Possible solution for Tekin is a higher amp BEC.
Possibly a BEC issue but it can't be the current.

3A is far more than it should ever need at all.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:18 AM   #69
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

I did a test last night with some stuff I had, std receiver cap vs the SP flat "super" cap. If I unplugged the speedo from the receiver with a regular cap it died instantly, the SP cap took about 2 sec to fade out, so I am going to leave that in this weekend and see how it goes. Ironically a regulator is probably a little lighter, but I didn't have one nor did the LHS.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 03:50 PM   #70
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
the niggle guys are having is definately voltage drop no matter what system you are running.
If you powered the reciever from the main battery or used a cap, regulater etc.. the problem is no more.
Possible solution for Tekin is a higher amp BEC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Possibly a BEC issue but it can't be the current.

3A is far more than it should ever need at all.

Skiddins
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
I did a test last night with some stuff I had, std receiver cap vs the SP flat "super" cap. If I unplugged the speedo from the receiver with a regular cap it died instantly, the SP cap took about 2 sec to fade out, so I am going to leave that in this weekend and see how it goes. Ironically a regulator is probably a little lighter, but I didn't have one nor did the LHS.
I can tell you the Spektrum cap did not fix my issue. Perhaps a better/larger cap will work.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 11:47 PM   #71
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
I can tell you the Spektrum cap did not fix my issue. Perhaps a better/larger cap will work.
check your esc cap as well.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 09:40 PM   #72
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

So I fitted my car with a Castle 10A UBEC, new servo, tested my receiver in a nitro model with zero problems, replaced the ESC Cap [genuine Tekin cap], put it all back together on my 10.5 Rubber TC and ran some practice today.

I put a switch in place so I could run on just the RS, or power via the CC UBEC [set to 6.0V output]. Ran out of room on the chassis and receiver, so I had to remove my Spektrum cap.

First run was with the UBEC switched off, just the RS powering the receiver.

Car ran great, until halfway through the first corner, where I immediately lost steering, but thankfully throttle stayed at neutral.

So I flipped the switch on the UBEC and immediately got a solid car again.

Car ran so good I ran a brand new set of tires down to cords and got to actually concentrate on chassis setup all day instead of chasing down solutions to radio problems.

The RS on that car is the oldest one I have, got it a couple weeks before the v189 firmware came out, so I guess it's possible it's seen some abuse and the BEC has paid the price.

Again, I've never had any radio problems racing indoors [always only been outdoors that any radio problems have shown up], but as hot as it was today, it got me wondering if the heat coming off the outdoor asphalt has anything to do with this phenomenon? Anybody had this glitching issue during winter racing?
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 11:36 PM   #73
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
check your esc cap as well.

I tried three different separate Spektrum caps. Is there a way to measure their performance objectively?

I alkso had the same cap in the car when I switched over to the KO 2.4 system and the problem went away. I'm not trying to be argumentative, just trying to get to the root of the issue.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 11:39 PM   #74
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryLeach View Post
So I fitted my car with a Castle 10A UBEC, new servo, tested my receiver in a nitro model with zero problems, replaced the ESC Cap [genuine Tekin cap], put it all back together on my 10.5 Rubber TC and ran some practice today.

I put a switch in place so I could run on just the RS, or power via the CC UBEC [set to 6.0V output]. Ran out of room on the chassis and receiver, so I had to remove my Spektrum cap.

First run was with the UBEC switched off, just the RS powering the receiver.

Car ran great, until halfway through the first corner, where I immediately lost steering, but thankfully throttle stayed at neutral.

So I flipped the switch on the UBEC and immediately got a solid car again.

Car ran so good I ran a brand new set of tires down to cords and got to actually concentrate on chassis setup all day instead of chasing down solutions to radio problems.

The RS on that car is the oldest one I have, got it a couple weeks before the v189 firmware came out, so I guess it's possible it's seen some abuse and the BEC has paid the price.

Again, I've never had any radio problems racing indoors [always only been outdoors that any radio problems have shown up], but as hot as it was today, it got me wondering if the heat coming off the outdoor asphalt has anything to do with this phenomenon? Anybody had this glitching issue during winter racing?
Do you have a link to the BEC? Your experience with the problem occurring only outdoors with the RS sounds distinctly like mine.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 12:17 AM   #75
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Using a UBEC or lipo regulater definately solves this problem.

Andrew while the std Tekin esc cap works i think its under strain and small with the new turbo software. I have been using the Speedpassion cap that comes std with the GT 2.0 and its been running cooler.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Tekin R1 ESC RC MARKET Electric On-Road 284 04-25-2008 03:59 PM
ESC ??? FT_Wacked Electric On-Road 9 02-25-2007 05:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net