R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2010, 07:50 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
SloRacer1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Madison, NJ
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Electric 2 speed gearbox?

Hey guys, I found this on eBay looking for parts for my Tc3.

ht*tp://cgi.ebay.com/TWO-SPEED-TRANSMISSION-Fits-RC10-TC3-B4-T4-/360245872742?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Radio_Control_Vehicle s&hash=item53e053c866#ht_5387wt_1165 (remove the * in http)

Has anyone else run across one of these? Are they any good? On paper it sounds like a good idea, but it's eBay so who knows. My concern is how hard it shifts from 1st to 2nd, and if it would even fit on a Tc3 without cutting out the divider between the radio area and the motor area. For me it'd be only for bashing, there aren't any on-road courses in NJ that I know of.

Thoughts?
SloRacer1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 08:15 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Just get a Tekin RS.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 08:34 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
SloRacer1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Madison, NJ
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Going brushless is something I eventually want to do, but I am pretty behind on the tech there. I'm just now getting back into r/c after a 6-7 year break. Brushless was just starting to come up as I was getting out of r/c. I have a lot to catch up on, the li-po batteries alone baffle me.
SloRacer1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 08:45 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Tekin is awesome stuff on the track but for bashing its hard to beat Castle Creations systems both in value and performance not to mention customer service is also excellent.
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 09:51 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,505
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SloRacer1080 View Post
Hey guys, I found this on eBay looking for parts for my Tc3.

ht*tp://cgi.ebay.com/TWO-SPEED-TRANSMISSION-Fits-RC10-TC3-B4-T4-/360245872742?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Radio_Control_Vehicle s&hash=item53e053c866#ht_5387wt_1165 (remove the * in http)

Has anyone else run across one of these? Are they any good? On paper it sounds like a good idea, but it's eBay so who knows. My concern is how hard it shifts from 1st to 2nd, and if it would even fit on a Tc3 without cutting out the divider between the radio area and the motor area. For me it'd be only for bashing, there aren't any on-road courses in NJ that I know of.

Thoughts?

You have Jackson R/C in jersery
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 10:21 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

You don't have any brakes with that 2 speed. Its only good for massive open spaces with lots of room to slow down. Don't waste your money.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 12:18 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
SloRacer1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Madison, NJ
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Thanks alot for the headsup Geeunit. That just made my day.

Krio-I'm pretty sure it does still let you use brakes. The lower gear is engaged to where you can use brakes. Well according to the ad. Probly wont get it just based on the fact that it won't fit without major mods to the chassis.
SloRacer1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 12:43 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

2 speeds really aren't needed for electric cars because the torque kicks in nearly instantaneously. A few manufacturers played around with them in the early TC days but gave up on them as the benefits just weren't there. Not long after that they were outlawed in racing.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 06:16 AM
Will there ever be a 1/8th scale Electric onroad car Raydee Oval, Larger Scales and More 1264 03-30-2017 06:47 AM
2 speed shakzool Electric On-Road 19 08-29-2006 05:15 AM
2 speed question on TC3 alucard13 Nitro On-Road 17 05-02-2003 02:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:56 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net