R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-18-2011, 02:16 PM   #736
Tech Fanatic
 
oldrcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default Legal for stock class?

Hi,
I was wondering why this esc cannot be run in stock class, ie no timing classes? Does it add timing? If so, any chance it could be made to run in "blinky mode" like others? Or it cannot be done? It's a shame, since that is what we need for getting new racers, an inexpensive esc for these zero timing classes.
__________________
Alxd - Seattle RC Racers - AWESOMATIX - Having Fun :-)
oldrcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:22 PM   #737
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldrcr View Post
Hi,
I was wondering why this esc cannot be run in stock class, ie no timing classes? Does it add timing? If so, any chance it could be made to run in "blinky mode" like others? Or it cannot be done? It's a shame, since that is what we need for getting new racers, an inexpensive esc for these zero timing classes.
How come you said this ESC is not legal to run in stock class..? It has a blinking red light underneath........it is designed for no timing racing and it has no software/USB support or computer altering for this ESC
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:23 PM   #738
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Hi,

This is a true stock class speedo, 'blinky' class. There is no timing software in it. All you can adjust is lipo cut off, drag brake and brakes.

HTH.
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:37 PM   #739
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Only the 1st ones didnt have the blinky light ,

One of mine is the PreProduction model and it has no blinky light , bt the others have a blinky light at no throttle
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:51 PM   #740
Tech Fanatic
 
oldrcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
Only the 1st ones didnt have the blinky light ,

One of mine is the PreProduction model and it has no blinky light , but the others have a blinky light at no throttle
That must be why mine does not blink. If I have an early one, can it be updated? Or is it legal even if not blinking?

Someone had complained about this at a race, so I was wondering.

Thanks.
__________________
Alxd - Seattle RC Racers - AWESOMATIX - Having Fun :-)
oldrcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 04:22 PM   #741
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
How come you said this ESC is not legal to run in stock class..? It has a blinking red light underneath........it is designed for no timing racing and it has no software/USB support or computer altering for this ESC
Gonna say I run mine in 17.5 blinky and love it!!!
__________________
J. Barton
Associated B5M
Associated RC8B3E
smokefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 05:27 PM   #742
Tech Master
 
g12314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 1,281
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to g12314 Send a message via Yahoo to g12314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldrcr View Post
Hi,
I was wondering why this esc cannot be run in stock class, ie no timing classes? Does it add timing? If so, any chance it could be made to run in "blinky mode" like others? Or it cannot be done? It's a shame, since that is what we need for getting new racers, an inexpensive esc for these zero timing classes.

Information taken from: http://www.thebigrc.com/?p=527

Speed Passion Cirtix Stock Club Race # 12280 No Timing adjustments-no LED Non-Programable

The Club Spec ESC is legal for no-timing classes and does not require a "blinky LED" as it is not programmable.
__________________
"PREPARE TO QUALIFY"
g12314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 06:40 PM   #743
Tech Adept
 
Dread Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: OC/RC Raceway
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldrcr View Post
Hi,
I was wondering why this esc cannot be run in stock class, ie no timing classes? Does it add timing? If so, any chance it could be made to run in "blinky mode" like others? Or it cannot be done? It's a shame, since that is what we need for getting new racers, an inexpensive esc for these zero timing classes.
See the ROAR rules for approved ESC's for non-timing class:
http://www.roarracing.com/?page_id=737
Speed Passion Cirtix Stock Club is allowed.
__________________
"We face each other as God intended. Sportsman-like. No tricks, skill against skill alone." -Fezzik
Dread Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 09:11 AM   #744
Tech Master
 
gene1219's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wheaton
Posts: 1,874
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

...

Last edited by gene1219; 08-05-2011 at 04:16 PM.
gene1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 06:45 PM   #745
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 241
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I was wondering if anyone has a problem with a KO PROPO 10 binding with a cirtix club esc.I used the cirtix with a M8 with no problem,changed radios and can't get it to bind.I go through the set up in the book and on SP internet and the lights do what there ssupposed to do but then the red light starts blinking.I've tried I don't know how many timesto reset both of my esc with no luck.If any body has a idea post it please.
jtsbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 01:23 AM   #746
Tech Adept
 
brighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 137
Default

It seems from what I have been reading that these motors like to be geared very tall? I just ordered a Stock Club Race ESC and 17.5T Brushless Motor Combo set from amainhobbies. I plan to use it in a lazer zx-5. Would I be right to gear it around 4.5 fdr to start and tweak from there?
__________________
HPI Savage XS - Viper Copperhead, Viper VX439
Team Associated B4.1 - Hobbywing Xerun V2.1 120A, Hobbywing Xerun 8.5
Xray T3R - Novak Kinetic, Novak Ballistic 17.5
Kyosho Lazer ZX-5 - Speed Passion Cirtix 'Stock Spec', Speed Passion 17.5
Kyosho TF3 - Old Skool 15t brushed
brighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 03:00 AM   #747
Tech Rookie
 
Urabus23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brighty View Post
It seems from what I have been reading that these motors like to be geared very tall? I just ordered a Stock Club Race ESC and 17.5T Brushless Motor Combo set from amainhobbies. I plan to use it in a lazer zx-5. Would I be right to gear it around 4.5 fdr to start and tweak from there?
I running the same setup as you and started at 4.5 as well. I'm currently at 4.0 but I think I can still go a little taller.
__________________
Tamiya TB-03 : Speed Passion Club Race 17.5 : Airtronics MX-Sport
Urabus23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 03:21 AM   #748
Tech Adept
 
brighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Urabus23 View Post
I running the same setup as you and started at 4.5 as well. I'm currently at 4.0 but I think I can still go a little taller.
oh ok thats good...So what spur and pinion are you running? I can only get my hands on a 76t spur, as thats the smallest I think they go for a zx-5? If so, Im not sure I'll be able to fit a big enough pinion on to get it down to a fdr of 4.5
__________________
HPI Savage XS - Viper Copperhead, Viper VX439
Team Associated B4.1 - Hobbywing Xerun V2.1 120A, Hobbywing Xerun 8.5
Xray T3R - Novak Kinetic, Novak Ballistic 17.5
Kyosho Lazer ZX-5 - Speed Passion Cirtix 'Stock Spec', Speed Passion 17.5
Kyosho TF3 - Old Skool 15t brushed
brighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 07:58 PM   #749
Tech Adept
 
brighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 137
Default

Installed this system into my zx-5 this morning....very impressed! Nice power delivery and cool temps. I managed to gear it down to 5.29 fdr, which for a zx-5 is about the limit it will allow. I do have a couple of questions. How do you program the esc without the program card? Is the lipo cut-off set as default? I've read through the instructions but can only find how to calibrate the throttle position. Any ideas? Cheers!
__________________
HPI Savage XS - Viper Copperhead, Viper VX439
Team Associated B4.1 - Hobbywing Xerun V2.1 120A, Hobbywing Xerun 8.5
Xray T3R - Novak Kinetic, Novak Ballistic 17.5
Kyosho Lazer ZX-5 - Speed Passion Cirtix 'Stock Spec', Speed Passion 17.5
Kyosho TF3 - Old Skool 15t brushed
brighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 10:30 AM   #750
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brighty View Post
Installed this system into my zx-5 this morning....very impressed! Nice power delivery and fcool temps. I managed to gear it down to 5.29 fdr, which for a zx-5 is about the limit it will allow. I do have a couple of questions. How do you program the esc without the program card? Is the lipo cut-off set as default? I've read through the instructions but can only find how to calibrate the throttle position. Any ideas? Cheers!
Lipo is pre set...cannot adjust. Set at 3v per cell.

You must purchase the programmer card in order to adjust brake....or you can borrow one.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
World GT Club Racing - To spec or not to spec is the question???? Mr. McGoo Electric On-Road 722 11-01-2014 07:05 AM
Real Stock On Road Racing... Me_MrTyson Australian Racing 214 05-19-2010 06:06 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:35 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net