R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2011, 10:54 AM   #646
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
Switched from 17.5 sp v3 to a 17.5 Ballistic. Ran a couple of times. The next day, system does not run. When I pull the throttle it wants to reverse, then dies. Did I fry the esc? I have been using the esc for months now with the v3 combo. It makes a high pitched noise when I pull the throttle.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
sorry, v2 I mean. I was thinking of the SP v3 17.5 motor.
Can you try put the 17.5 V2 motor back up and make sure sensor cables are all working..? I am trying to see is that a motor problem or speedo problem...
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 11:05 AM   #647
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesmoDave View Post
Is there a new combo with an updated 17.5 V3 motor? The kits I was about to order (and the one I have in my buggy right now) are V2 motors. Just want to know what the latest and greatest are.

Thx.

PS. Ran my buggy again for 4 hours today and I'm always impressed with how this things performs. I'm tempted to order another for my SC10 and put the Tekin on the shelf for a while.
If you are talking about the LOCKED END BELL V3 motor, yes, we will....however, you have to understand this. The new ultra sportsman V3 is ideal for handout and true spec racing...the end bell is 100% locked and timing cannot be alter.

The current V2 Ultra Sportsman does not recommand to adjust the end bell timing, but it is possible to do so.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:11 AM   #648
Tech Master
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,044
Default

When runnning a rx battery, can we run the Cirtix asis, or do we need to unhook/cut the red servowire from it?
PizzaDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 10:24 AM   #649
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PizzaDude View Post
When runnning a rx battery, can we run the Cirtix asis, or do we need to unhook/cut the red servowire from it?
Are you talking about running 1S lipo...? Like on 12th scale..?

If you are indeed trying to run it on 1S with the Cirtix Club Spec....I really don't think (99%) running a receiver pack will make the Club spec work on 1S. Alot of customer trying to do that and I don't see any of those work. Club spec is design for 2S lipo input and I don't want to list all the detail why adding a receive pack onto the receiver will not work on our ESC but work on other brand's ESC.

So far, the only solution I have seen (and tested it myself) is running the TQ CELLS BOOSTER - from Canada (yes, they are the ONLY 1 that works with our speedo) along with the club spec...no need to pull any wire, just follow their diagram and solder their wires onto the ESC and run...

http://www.tqcells.com/TQBOOSTER.htm

If you are talking about something else...please be more specific.

Enforcerman (that is the username) is currently running the club spec with TQ booster at his club and converting the club to use this unit as a spec 12th scale over his area...you can ask here or PM him for more info.

Last edited by Solara; 04-08-2011 at 10:35 AM.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 05:56 PM   #650
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 160
Default

Hi guys, Solara is right about the TQ Cells booster working with the Cirtix Stock Club. We use it in our 1/10 pan car class with 1 cell lipos and the 17.5 brushless and it works great! We have some guys using the Cirtix and some using Tekin and Novak and the Cirtix runs just as good as any of them.
Enforcerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 06:23 PM   #651
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,583
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I got my brothers SP cirtix working with a booster. It's not a TQ booster but similar. No brand name to it. The booster from Stormer didn't work. A receiver pack worked for a short time.

Now I want to get one for my 1/12 scale
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 12:46 AM   #652
Tech Master
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
Are you talking about running 1S lipo...? Like on 12th scale..?

If you are indeed trying to run it on 1S with the Cirtix Club Spec....I really don't think (99%) running a receiver pack will make the Club spec work on 1S. Alot of customer trying to do that and I don't see any of those work. Club spec is design for 2S lipo input and I don't want to list all the detail why adding a receive pack onto the receiver will not work on our ESC but work on other brand's ESC.

So far, the only solution I have seen (and tested it myself) is running the TQ CELLS BOOSTER - from Canada (yes, they are the ONLY 1 that works with our speedo) along with the club spec...no need to pull any wire, just follow their diagram and solder their wires onto the ESC and run...

http://www.tqcells.com/TQBOOSTER.htm

If you are talking about something else...please be more specific.

Enforcerman (that is the username) is currently running the club spec with TQ booster at his club and converting the club to use this unit as a spec 12th scale over his area...you can ask here or PM him for more info.
Solara,

Thanks for the reply,

No Booster will be used but a rx battery
No 1s but 2s car.

Will I need to unhook the red wire or leave it be and it won't cause any harm?

Kind regards,

Pizza
PizzaDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 01:28 AM   #653
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
Switched from 17.5 sp v3 to a 17.5 Ballistic. Ran a couple of times. The next day, system does not run. When I pull the throttle it wants to reverse, then dies. Did I fry the esc? I have been using the esc for months now with the v3 combo. It makes a high pitched noise when I pull the throttle.
Maybe the ESC lost the settings and you have to readjust.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 01:28 AM   #654
Tech Master
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,044
Default

ttt
PizzaDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:05 AM   #655
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PizzaDude View Post
Solara,

Thanks for the reply,

No Booster will be used but a rx battery
No 1s but 2s car.

Will I need to unhook the red wire or leave it be and it won't cause any harm?

Kind regards,

Pizza
If you are running 2S, why do you need a receiver pack?

To be honest, I don't know that answer....if you must try it, I would definitely pull out the red (or black) wire and try...but I cannot garantee the result and definitely will void the warranty.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:11 AM   #656
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,007
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

hey solara - does the cirtix need a fan if you're using it with a 21.5 in a f1 car?

trying to use my cirtix in my F104 and i think the fan might be to much for the F104 chassis
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:47 AM   #657
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
hey solara - does the cirtix need a fan if you're using it with a 21.5 in a f1 car?

trying to use my cirtix in my F104 and i think the fan might be to much for the F104 chassis
You are correct...you don't need 1 if running on 21.5, even on 17.5. My club spec fit within my F103 and F104 only without the fan...however, if you need the fan in the future, you can use double side tape to tape the fan in stand up position behind the ESC and onto the chassi (in front of the battery on F103) and blowing toward the ESC...

Good luck...
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 08:36 AM   #658
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 49
Default

Should throttle be reversed on an Airtronics MX-3x, getting ready to set up. Also a bit confused by set up directions, what is the standard drag brake and ABS setting?
RCveteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 08:45 AM   #659
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCveteran View Post
Should throttle be reversed on an Airtronics MX-3x, getting ready to set up. Also a bit confused by set up directions, what is the standard drag brake and ABS setting?
Setup with reverse first....if not working, reverse the throttle.

ABS braking, default is 50%.

You can try 40% drag braking....club spec required higher % in drag braking compare to other SP higher end ESC.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 08:45 AM   #660
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
hey solara - does the cirtix need a fan if you're using it with a 21.5 in a f1 car?

trying to use my cirtix in my F104 and i think the fan might be to much for the F104 chassis
Already answered your PM...I don't use ESC fan on F1 on my F103 and F104 on 21.5 racing...
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
World GT Club Racing - To spec or not to spec is the question???? Mr. McGoo Electric On-Road 722 11-01-2014 07:05 AM
Real Stock On Road Racing... Me_MrTyson Australian Racing 214 05-19-2010 06:06 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net