Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Associated 611 Quasar Pro Charger Recalled! >

Associated 611 Quasar Pro Charger Recalled!

Associated 611 Quasar Pro Charger Recalled!

Old 05-04-2004, 10:51 AM
  #46  
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Default

maybe i aint old enough to remember the pinto
raving-monkey is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 03:30 PM
  #47  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (9)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, thats a little before my time!
Darkseid is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 04:35 PM
  #48  
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Default

Originally posted by TSR6
At least they did a recall, and didn't follow the leads of such likes as ford. Remember the Pinto?

They went poof too.
That car was sad
DOMOisCOOL is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 06:22 PM
  #49  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by eeyan
The recall is actually just to change a fuse inside to a smaller rating so it goes first instead of burning some batteries out there. I believe there were several isolated incidents with a certain battery brand manufacturer(SMC???) wherein some high end batteries burnt or exploded due to overheating (instead the batteries venting, they actually went *kapoof*).

I had my unit done by a factory driver last month (actually I didn't even know about it; he just approached me and said he wanted to take a look at my charger). It was an easy 3 minute job and really didn't change anything. Mine is already almost 3 yrs and still going strong... nothing major to worry about; for all you know it could still be an "isolated" case.
Ian, that fuse change may only be a stop-gap measure. The factory guy may just have did it to prevent an accident and he just MIGHT be aware that there is a bigger problem with the charger.

The bit about the programming problem might be true and might be the actual cause of the charge celebrating the fourth of july too early. See, the charger is controlled by a Microcontroller chip which is controlled by a program. Maybe the program has a bug that sends too large a current to the battery, or maybe an IF condition (that controls the charge termination) keeps getting skipped.

Now, if it's true that a radio near the charger is causing a problem, or somebody plugging in another charger on the same Mains line is true, then the engineers need to go back to drawing board and redesign the whole board. Don't be surprised when you get back your charger and you see "new" components soldered on all over the PCB.
rough512 is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 05:26 AM
  #50  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (268)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,684
Trader Rating: 268 (100%+)
Default

I wonder if this affects other chargers like the integy brands as eagle makes the reedy and the integy chargers. Will be interesting to see as I remember a lot of 16x7s going poof recently.

I hope they just give a new charger. Would be easier and faster turn around as well.
Cain is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 05:38 AM
  #51  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Here's a question. I can't stand the tamiya plug for the DC voltage imput and I switched it to a deans. If I send this unit back, will they replace on the new charger the new tamiya with my deans plug??
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 05:48 AM
  #52  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (268)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,684
Trader Rating: 268 (100%+)
Default

I'd be suprised if they did the swap for you. They may just return your connector.
Cain is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 06:58 AM
  #53  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

Nah, they won't. They will just send you a new charger.
etzkev is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 08:46 AM
  #54  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I guess if I send it back, I will take my deans off and solder the wires together and shrink wrap it. Ie. One big wire
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:18 AM
  #55  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hamilton,ohio
Posts: 357
Default recall

there was a pretty bad battery explosion at planet raceway in Indianapolis a couple months ago that sent someone to the hospital. Does anyone know if that charger was a Quasar pro?
sedanaddict is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:37 AM
  #56  
Tech Regular
 
stegger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ellesmere port Cheshire UK
Posts: 297
Thumbs down Quasar pro recall

Does anybody know if model no #612 is to be recalled as well.
I got one of these after returning my faulty #611 6 months ago.
stegger is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 11:02 AM
  #57  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,736
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

stegger - you may have an update version...

the recall is specifically for 611s....when you plug in your charger does is say "Quasar Pro Version 1.0" or "Quasar Pro Version 2.1?"

If it says 2.1...you're fine.

Just wondering if everyone is satisfied with the recall notice...they offered to fix is and to compensate you for the loss in s/h charges you can have the following:

1 Reedy Pulsar Motor
10 pairs of brushes...766 or 729
$15 credit toward a direct purchase from them

http://www.teamassociated.com/611recall.pdf


I have been happy with my Quasar Pro to this point and hopefully the recall is done quickly.
Nexus is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 11:14 AM
  #58  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (268)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,684
Trader Rating: 268 (100%+)
Default

When my motor works, I love it.

Wow, 10 pairs of brushes huh? I am not sure what to take. Though, the brushes probably would be worth more than the Pulse motor.

I mainly run 767s, wish they would include that instead
Cain is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 11:19 AM
  #59  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (268)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,684
Trader Rating: 268 (100%+)
Default

Most likely going to send it out tommorrow. I wonder if it is a fix or will it actually be a replacement charger?
Cain is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 12:35 PM
  #60  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

From all the people i have heard from, they are just replacing the fuse.

Btw, what is the "Pular motor", i havnt heard of that motor.
rcguy2477 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.