Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
belts: cutting every OTHER tooth??? >

belts: cutting every OTHER tooth???

belts: cutting every OTHER tooth???

Old 04-29-2004, 12:33 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,574
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default belts: cutting every OTHER tooth???

hey

i was just wondering... ive heard a lot about cutting off every OTHER tooth on belts for belt drive cars, to make the drivetrain more free.....

does every OTHER tooth mean every SECOND??? like cut one-leave one-cut one-leave one etc..

and could somebody please explain the best and easiest way to do this without damaging anything?

and also, is it really worth it??? does it make THAT much of a difference???

im running xray btw

let me know,

thanx, robbie
xray racer is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 04:41 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
mcsquish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Was in Toledo, OH now Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 833
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That is what I did with my LOSI car. Since the X-Ray belts are much more narrow I wouldn't think you would want to cut out teeth. From what I have seen, the X-Ray drive like is very free to begin with.
mcsquish is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 07:06 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Default

you should try cut the front diff pulley tooth.......

check out the pics from josh cyrul's car and you'll see how it's made....


and surely works...josh was toooooooooooo faster at the roar nats....
SalvadoriRacing is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 07:27 AM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
 
mikejr718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jammin' X1CR PRO
Posts: 88
Default

I just cut the belt on the Losi I built. Found easiest way was to turn the belt inside out and use fingernail clippers to clip off every other tooth.
mikejr718 is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 07:28 AM
  #5  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (268)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,637
Trader Rating: 268 (100%+)
Default

those X-Rays have insanely free drivetrains. I am an AE man, but its funny to watch stankulas get a kick out of spinning his drive train with a yank on the belt. TALK ABOUT FREE!
Cain is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 07:50 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
ICEMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 730
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i have done it to my XRAY's and have seen really no real gain
ICEMAN is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 08:32 AM
  #7  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I do it on my Losi belts, but really dont see a need to do it on an XRay belt because like everyone is saying, they are already free. I have heard of Josh cutting teeth off the gear which I would think is a better idea on that car since the pulleys are pretty small, cutting teeth would propably make it skip easilly.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 08:33 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Doesn't removing teeth on the belt cause chance of stripping the belt? I don't think the belt could handle a mod motor and it would strip and end your race. My Xray drivetrain is very free, mostly with high speed bearings and the 1.77 internal gear ratio. I would like to hear from Josh or other factory team pilots that have done this on their opinion.
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 08:39 AM
  #9  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

There is no more chance of stripping the belt from when it was stock as long as you dont cut into the fibers. I havent seen anyone strip a belt out here weather it's cut or not...
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 08:39 AM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
 
losispeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 76
Default

I was under the impression that this was done to the Losi Belt because it is a single belt system that has to loop back on its self so cutting out the extra teeth added more flex, making it easier to loop back. Im not even sure this would benifit any other cars..
losispeed is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 08:50 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Randy Caster
There is no more chance of stripping the belt from when it was stock as long as you dont cut into the fibers. I havent seen anyone strip a belt out here weather it's cut or not...
Good point. Would there be a chance for the belt to skip more as there isn't as many teeth in contact with the pullies? These belts surely move fast, mostly with mod motors..
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 10:08 AM
  #12  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (268)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,637
Trader Rating: 268 (100%+)
Default

I have seen an X-Ray belt strip clean. Was pretty funny to, a local racer who will remain incognito when to burn out the compound on his tires. Did it for two seconds, went to go and wow, he had front wheel drive. Was pretty funny.
Cain is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 10:57 AM
  #13  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 737
Default

I bet he said that the car was crap, not that what he've been doing was stupid...
Cobra81li200 is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 12:49 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Margaritaville
Posts: 1,957
Default

Originally posted by ICEMAN
i have done it to my XRAY's and have seen really no real gain
Of course not, you're too fast to begin with.
NismoSkyline17 is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 06:12 PM
  #15  
Tech Adept
 
stankulas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: hartford ct
Posts: 230
Default

i have cut every other tooth on my xray front and rear belt on the evo2 kit it was noticable with stock but should not be done with the rear belt it will strip to easy i ran the front cut belt for at least 3 months i replaced it when it was tweeked or bent side ways and flipped over twice in one day but it never broke running 19 turn

for stock it is noticable and worth cutting the front belt but i would not do it with 19t or mod and i would cut the pully this time

alex lopez runs super thin belts front and back that were saved down to kevlar and were super flexable when i spun his drive train you could see how free it was and no one can say he is slow
but when he put a 19t he broke it
stankulas is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.