R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2010, 08:28 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Barry White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: HEAVEN
Posts: 720
Default Why oh why KO PROPO allways use a 35V capacitor

I wonder why KO allways use a 35V capacitor. A 10V one should be more then enough and that's lighter and smaller.
Barry White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 09:49 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry White View Post
I wonder why KO allways use a 35V capacitor. A 10V one should be more then enough and that's lighter and smaller.
Shot in the dark guess, but maybe it is the FET spec that defaults the choice of cap?
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 09:55 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Barry White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: HEAVEN
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
Shot in the dark guess, but maybe it is the FET spec that defaults the choice of cap?
I wonder what that has to do with it. Other manufacturers seem to use 16V most of the time. Also easier to find as 10V, but 35V? I have a bunch of them and want to throw them away becouse they are too heavy, unless somebody can explane why to use them.
Barry White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 10:46 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
tza1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Default

Should be because of Voltage pikes in the Output through the higher frequencies. Therefore a higher Voltage capacitor works better. Itīs hard to describe it in english for me. Its daily work for me but not in english ^^

Itīs easier to flaten the voltage with high voltage capacitors if you have high frequencies. Iīm definitly not sure if they use it because of that but its apossibility. If you can see a realisitc change in the working of the car? I donīt think so...

Hope that helps...
__________________
Yokomo BD5 - LRP X12 StockSpec 13.5T - LRP Sphere Competition - PF Mazda - GM XG-6i Race Spec 2,4GHz
Traxxas Slash - Mike Jenkins Edition
tza1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 01:44 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tza1981 View Post
Should be because of Voltage pikes in the Output through the higher frequencies. Therefore a higher Voltage capacitor works better. Itīs hard to describe it in english for me. Its daily work for me but not in english ^^

Itīs easier to flaten the voltage with high voltage capacitors if you have high frequencies. Iīm definitly not sure if they use it because of that but its apossibility.
Winner winner, chicken dinner!!
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:33 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net