R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2004, 02:00 PM   #1
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default Tekin Dyno, anyone still use?

I am considering purchasing a cheap dyno as I am getting more competitive at the track and I think that will help in the horsepower area that is lacking alittle, though better driving is of course the most important.

I am currently looking at the integy dyno / motor checker, the BRP unit, and the Tekin 900 dyno.

I know the BRP and Tekin have been discontinued, but I can get them for a pretty cheap price and I wanted to know for those who have used the Tekin dyno, how valuable a tool is it compared to the integy one.

Also, just 1 simple dyno general question:

To power the tekin or integy, what type of power supply should I get ( car battery, etc ) and what specs should it have?
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 02:03 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I had one till January, and it worked well. I used a 30 amp power supply, no problems. Between the units you are looking into, the Tekin is the best.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 03:01 PM   #3
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info, I think I am going to purchase this. I may look into a Car battery to power it, never charged one up before, whats a good battery to get at say a Walmart for this?
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 03:35 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
gee-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

let me suggest saving for a power supply over the car battery. you'll spend 35-50 bucks on a cheap 12v battery, you'll need a to buy a charger for it (in case you don't have one already), then you're still stuck with a big bulky battery every time you want to use the dyno. not to mention the power supply will (should) last you years and years, and almost all of the future 'higher end' chargers you get can use the power supply.

overall, i agree with gary, the tekin is probably the best choice (from a dyno perspective) of the options listed.
gee-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 04:44 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I use a car battery now for my Fantom Dyno, it was like $18 plus $25-$30 for a charger.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 05:32 PM   #6
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

so what is a good reasonable:

1. Battery
2. Charger for the battery
3. Power supply unit ( not sure how much is required to do stock and 19 turn motors )

thanks.
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 05:41 PM   #7
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

ANy specs I should look for on the car battery and the charger? A model number and place to get it would be great too. ( ie- walmart, etc )

Thanks!
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 05:44 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

i got a 50A power supply i can let go
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 05:53 PM   #9
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

Well, seeing how the prices are for power supply's and I only paid about $60 for the dyno, I don't want to go too crazy here.

Anyone know how much amps you need to have to run a dyno properly?
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 06:56 AM   #10
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

I got word from someone who stated that I can run the dyno off of a lawn mower battery which would work better than a car battery. Only thing is I don't know really want to look for in a battery. are there some things I should look for and others I shouldn't?

I am most likely going to get this at walmart, so if anyone knows of a good lawn motor battery let me know, also, a good way to charge it as well.
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 04:01 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
gee-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

if going this route, look for a battery in the 15-35 amp-hour range. robitronic reccomends a 17AH battery on their web site for their flywheel dyno. beyond the amp rating, preferrably look for something that is 'sealed'. Then you won't have to worry about venting/leaking as much.

as far as chargers go, you'll find a couple of cheap automotive/lawn chargers at walmart. most have a 'slow charge' rating of about 2 amps, and a 'fast charge' rating around 5-6. the only reccomendation i would make here is to get one that has some kind of charge measuring device on it. these are usually a needle gauge that shows how many amps are going into the battery. they work on the principle that as the battery charges up, the internal resistance increases, lowering the inbound charge amperage.
gee-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 05:38 PM   #12
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

The batteries I saw only list cold crank and crank amps, what can I look at to determine the AH?
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 05:50 PM   #13
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

I picked up the Everstart U-1 Lawn / Garden Battery. It doesn't state however what the AH is. I may go back to walmart and pickup the 35AH battery that they do sell instead.

Will this battery work that I got for what I am doing or should I just go back and get another battery?
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 05:54 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Cain, that's what I use on my Fantom which has a higher amp requirement than the Tekin ever will. The one you grabbed was like $20, right?
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 06:02 PM   #15
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

yeah thats the one. looking at the ratings it states that the CA is like 140 and the CCA is like 140.

Reading up on the CA ( Crank Amps ) it states that this is a measurement of the amps it can deliver in a 30 second period. Do we run the dyno's longer than this I don't think.

Well, when using it to power my charger when its trying to charge a transmitter pack I got some weird errors on the charger, it wouldn't go up to the full 1 amp I specified. But if I do a 6 cell race pack it goes to 6amps no problems. Strange...

It states I have a 2 week return on it from Walmart so I will see how it goes I guess. I may just cycle a few packs tonite with it and see how it goes.
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tekin dyno Matt M. R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 02-18-2009 01:26 AM
Tekin Dyno Brian Anthony R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 02-15-2006 01:10 AM
Tekin Dyno F/S OVA R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 03-12-2005 08:33 PM
Tekin Dyno chrisman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 04-16-2003 08:17 AM
tekin dyno Matt M. R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-10-2001 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:36 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net