R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-24-2010, 05:04 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 130
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Sidewinder ESC won't arm for some reason...

After finally getting my stampede up and running, i took it out to continue making my brushless profile so it wouldn't wheelie. It still was, so i brought my stampede inside, put castle link in and when i brought it up it gave me this strange "invalid number" error on 5-6 different fields including warning on beep. So i set everything to defaults and try to turn my truck back on. Steering works, but my ESC won't arm to get my motor to spin. Whatever i do, it just won't arm.

I also tried the original firmware and newest non beta firmware. Nothing worked. Tried brushed mode with my brushed motor, still nothing. I also tried putting the ESC into channel 1 from channel 2 and now steering is done by the clutch, but it won't arm.

Did my ESC die? I never hit any bumps. It happened after i got though error messages.

Edit: Title did not change. It should of said "ESC is not arming. Did my ESC die?" Contacted an admin so ti hope the title is changed shortly.

Last edited by krone6; 04-24-2010 at 11:15 PM.
krone6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 11:11 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 130
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Bump, what's it sound like to everyone else? I gave it some time before doing this bump. Hope i waited a fair enough time.
krone6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 11:43 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
VenturaDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ventura, SoCal
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

did you recalibrate the radio to the esc?
__________________
Dustin Colt45 Aguirre
Kyosho RB6--Futaba--HW--Shuurspeed 17.5
Kyosho SCR--Hitec--Lrp--Yeah 13.5
Durango Dex210--Futaba--Trakpower--Tacon 8.5
VenturaDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 09:16 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 130
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VenturaDC View Post
did you recalibrate the radio to the esc?
How do i do that? It's just a stock radio.
krone6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 10:05 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
VenturaDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ventura, SoCal
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

STEP 1: We’re starting with the transmitter ON and the ESC switched OFF and
not connected to the battery.

STEP 2: Plug a battery into your Mamba ESC.

STEP 3: Hold full throttle on the transmitter and switch the ESC’s switch ON.
Keep holding full throttle on the transmitter. If all your connections are correct, you
will hear one multi-toned initialization “ring” from the motor (all tones are played by
the ESC vibrating the motor). This tone should always play when the ESC is first
powered up.

STEP 4: After a second or two, the green LED on the ESC will blink rapidly and
the motor will “ring” 4 times rapidly in a row (accepting the full throttle endpoint).

STEP 5: After the green LED flashing and ringing tones, the ESC will blink the red
LED. At this point the full throttle endpoint has been set within the ESC and now
it’s looking for the full brake endpoint (red LED blinking). Move the throttle trigger
to the full brake position and hold full brake.

STEP 6: After a few seconds, the ESC will flash the red LED and ring 4 times rapidly (accepting full brake endpoint).

STEP 7: After accepting the full brake endpoint the ESC will then blink the yellow
LED. Now relax the trigger to the neutral position.

STEP 8: The ESC will now ring 4 times and flash the yellow LED rapidly to accept
the neutral position.

STEP 9: After accepting the neutral position the ESC will ring twice and flash ALL
the LEDs. This is the arming tone/LED reaction. The ESC IS NOW ARMED and
the car will respond to throttle inputs from your transmitter.
__________________
Dustin Colt45 Aguirre
Kyosho RB6--Futaba--HW--Shuurspeed 17.5
Kyosho SCR--Hitec--Lrp--Yeah 13.5
Durango Dex210--Futaba--Trakpower--Tacon 8.5
VenturaDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 10:14 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 130
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

THANKS.. fixed it. I guess castle link went fubar on me.
krone6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 12:52 PM   #7
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

in future make sure u use a high speed usb port on your computer. not 1 out of your keyboard, a monitor, or even a hub/switch for that matter. and use the factory cord. i saw some1 kill a speedo on a failed download b/c they were too lazy to switch out their camera link wire for their castle. luckily in their case it did enuff and he didnt try to do anythin else before i intervened and gave it a proper baseload with the correct cable and port. just heads up. glad u fixed it.

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 01:33 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 130
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The hub is not usb 1.1. It's 2.0, same speed as the I/O on my mobo. Thanks for the tips.
krone6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oh #%@!! What did I do to my SMC Lipos? Freezebyte Electric Off-Road 102 08-31-2009 05:47 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:12 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net