Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
CEFX 2010 - A new Evolution. >

CEFX 2010 - A new Evolution.

CEFX 2010 - A new Evolution.

Old 05-20-2010, 07:31 PM
  #256  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Official's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Josh Cyrul View Post
olhipster1 - I have my set-up from the ROAR Carpet Nats but I don't have any for asphalt yet. I can make an estimated guess though and I will work on the set-up sheets specifically for the Evolution.
Hi Josh,
Will this set up work with form tires on?
Official is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 07:42 PM
  #257  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
Goingfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,457
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Khador12 View Post
The Speedpower 5300 45c battery does have the bumps. The new 55c batteries do not have bumps.
Thanks
Goingfast is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 07:53 PM
  #258  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Josh Cyrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 1,421
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Official - I don't think it would work with foam tires very well. If you are going to run foam tires, I can work on a best guess estimate for a set-up on foams for the Evolution but what are you running the car on - asphalt or carpet??
Josh Cyrul is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 08:12 PM
  #259  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Official's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Josh Cyrul View Post
Official - I don't think it would work with foam tires very well. If you are going to run foam tires, I can work on a best guess estimate for a set-up on foams for the Evolution but what are you running the car on - asphalt or carpet??
Will be running it on carpet, tires commonly used will be 37S forms. Track Layout not out yet. Best if it will be a set-up for technical layout which i can work down from.
Official is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 08:20 PM
  #260  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,237
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Josh,
Are you running Tamiya wheel hexes?
Brian L is offline  
Old 05-21-2010, 10:06 AM
  #261  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Josh Cyrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 1,421
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Brian L - I usually run 4mm wheel hexes (or as close to em as I can get) but it depends on the rims. Normally, we are on Jaco rims at a lot of the races and these have a bigger off-set than say the Tamiya or Solaris rims. I almost always run 4mm hexes with Jaco's and I don't recall the exact difference but I will measure the rims when I get to the Reedy and adjust the hex or spacers accordingly.
Josh Cyrul is offline  
Old 05-21-2010, 03:06 PM
  #262  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
F1fletch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Khador12 View Post
Finally got some pics. I mounted the transponder in the front bumper. Has anyone tried this? Is it a bad idea?
Clean looking job!!
F1fletch is offline  
Old 05-22-2010, 04:43 AM
  #263  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,150
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Josh - Awesome job on the kit - great fit & finish.

Minimalist in the right areas. The motor mount, spur gear set up are smart. Looking forward to getting some mileage on the Top/CEFX this weekend.

Great work.
MDawson is offline  
Old 05-22-2010, 10:00 AM
  #264  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
CARD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pearl of Oriental
Posts: 346
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by F1fletch View Post
Originally Posted by Khador12 View Post
Finally got some pics. I mounted the transponder in the front bumper. Has anyone tried this? Is it a bad idea?
Clean looking job!!
+1!! Neat!!
CARD is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 12:16 AM
  #265  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

what do lipo users (without the humps) use to locate the pack in place and affix it in one location? I understand you need to use tape and that is fine but without lipo locating tabs the pack can obviously scoot around a bit...
Hi Josh, can you comment on this? I like to know too. Thanks.
cvccsi is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 07:11 AM
  #266  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,150
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cvccsi View Post
Hi Josh, can you comment on this? I like to know too. Thanks.
I installed the TOP lipo balance tray with 1mm of spacing pushing out the tray. It allowed me to locate the lipo pack in a consistent location with option to add more weight. Of course, still using tape. All of my packs are flat.

That will give the pack all four areas to wedge placement.
MDawson is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 12:11 PM
  #267  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
F1fletch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MDawson View Post
I installed the TOP lipo balance tray with 1mm of spacing pushing out the tray. It allowed me to locate the lipo pack in a consistent location with option to add more weight. Of course, still using tape. All of my packs are flat.

That will give the pack all four areas to wedge placement.

Does this come std as part of the Photon kit?

Pics of it installed on the Evo Please....
F1fletch is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 03:37 PM
  #268  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MDawson View Post
I installed the TOP lipo balance tray with 1mm of spacing pushing out the tray. It allowed me to locate the lipo pack in a consistent location with option to add more weight. Of course, still using tape. All of my packs are flat.

That will give the pack all four areas to wedge placement.
Thanks, MDawson. One more question. What about the other side of the balancing tray, is the battery pushed against the top deck?

Thanks again.
cvccsi is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 04:06 PM
  #269  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,150
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by F1fletch View Post
Does this come std as part of the Photon kit?

Pics of it installed on the Evo Please....
It does come with std photon.



MDawson is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 04:08 PM
  #270  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,150
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cvccsi View Post
Thanks, MDawson. One more question. What about the other side of the balancing tray, is the battery pushed against the top deck?

Thanks again.

There is no real top deck for it to interfere with. The inside rear battery edge sits against the one of the lower stiffener/bulkhead elements.
MDawson is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.