Hot Bodies TCX

Reply

Old 12-17-2010, 08:12 AM
  #1561  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
san.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,504
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by warnos View Post
Don't know if it's just gossip but has anyone else heard that Hot Bodies may be in financial trouble.. A couple of different racers have said it to me.. Any truth to it..
Call them direct and find out:

Hot Bodies by HPI Racing
70 Icon St
Foothill Ranch, CA 92610
+1 (949) 753-1099

I also heard a rumor that Yokomo is buying Associated.
san. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 01:09 PM
  #1562  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,104
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Heard HPI Japan might be closing.
rccartips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 02:32 PM
  #1563  
ark
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by warnos View Post
Don't know if it's just gossip but has anyone else heard that Hot Bodies may be in financial trouble.. A couple of different racers have said it to me.. Any truth to it..
Are they paying Hara too much
ark is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 02:40 PM
  #1564  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Originally Posted by ark View Post
Are they paying Hara too much
lmao
Afro1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 02:37 AM
  #1565  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Box setup..

How is the box set up on the TCX?

Just got a TCX and was wondering if I should start out with the box setup.. or transfer my old TC setup over to this car? I used to used 1.5 shims all round top and bottom on the TC...

Also I have had some issues getting the 3 hole 1.1 shock pistons.. I usually had the 45wt with 3 hole pistons.. should I both using 2 holes with 35wt or 30wt.. or not bother and just go to the 3 hole pistons from another brand car.. never used the 2 holes pistons just went straight to the 3's...

cheers
warnos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 02:54 AM
  #1566  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
ali_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,153
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hi-LowBlow View Post
Here is a suggestion to kill some chatter problem on the drive shaft.

It is very easy, just remove the set screw (on the cross spider) off and put a collar on the axle to hold the drive shaft pin instead. Top Racing makes the collar for this and it fits perfectly on our axle. But you can also use the collar from our option parts #67731 POM solid axle cup joint. (please see the picture attached)

When you remove the set screw off from the cross spider, the drive shaft spins freer. I would say that the best combo is to use with POM spool drive cup (#67731) and no set screw on drive shaft. The DCJ still runs smoother than this, but it is very close to DCJ feeling.

If you are fighting with chatter problem, i recommend to try this.
Please let me know if you have any questions.

Hope it helps.
Hiro
Hi hiro do you have the part no for the top racing part?
ali_g is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 10:09 AM
  #1567  
Tech Regular
 
M3Armand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 263
Default

I finally got mine!!!! Woo hooo!!! And I opened it before Christmas (and no, my wife doesn't know)...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAoPhXIMFPs
M3Armand is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 10:40 AM
  #1568  
Tech Adept
 
rendcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sunshine state
Posts: 199
Default

Originally Posted by M3Armand View Post
I finally got mine!!!! Woo hooo!!! And I opened it before Christmas (and no, my wife doesn't know)...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAoPhXIMFPs
good for you ,,,
congrats ,,,
rendcool is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 11:12 AM
  #1569  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: im in north carolina
Posts: 30
Default

so is it worth buying be cuz i have the moore speed edition and to get a good setup is a nightmare...is this a good car to buy
AF1king_kid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 11:41 AM
  #1570  
Tech Adept
 
EJ20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 232
Default

Originally Posted by AF1king_kid View Post
so is it worth buying be cuz i have the moore speed edition and to get a good setup is a nightmare...is this a good car to buy
!
EJ20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 12:54 PM
  #1571  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,104
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

It is me or does this car have too much chassis flex? Are the fast drivers (e.g. Hara) using a different (e.g. thicker) chassis? Just can't speed out of this soft chassis.
rccartips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 10:31 PM
  #1572  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 35
Default

Originally Posted by AF1king_kid View Post
so is it worth buying be cuz i have the moore speed edition and to get a good setup is a nightmare...is this a good car to buy
Way easier to drive than a cyclone!!!!!!!!!!!
silky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 11:14 PM
  #1573  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
Yokomo_Ant3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,410
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rccartips View Post
It is me or does this car have too much chassis flex? Are the fast drivers (e.g. Hara) using a different (e.g. thicker) chassis? Just can't speed out of this soft chassis.
The chassis is actually quite stiff compared to other cars i have owned The chassis that Freddy Sudhoff is running on his car is actually a 2mm chassis and he said has more flex than the standard one. I actually feel the car will be faster again with more flex. This is Modified Asphalt racing. Maybe post your setup so others may be able to offer some advice

I have just got the car but i already love it. Awesome Car!

Cheers,

Antoni
Yokomo_Ant3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 01:49 AM
  #1574  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 72
Default

You can be sure that the std. chassis is not too soft. It works fine and compared to the yokomo chassis , HB's is still "hard".
I tested a own made chassis over the last races and it's as Antoni said little bit softer and different material. It improved the handling a little bit so I think softer should be better, but not too soft like the yokomo option chassis with the huge cut outs. This is too soft. So maybe share you're setup and we try to find out what's wrong. :-)

Regards
Freddy
FreddySudhoff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 02:22 AM
  #1575  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,104
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi, thanks for the replies. I use standard Hara setup on indoor asphalt track. Maybe the problem is in my driving. Locally the 417s are dominating, and their chassis felt much stiffer than my TCX.

Do you guys put in the single upperdeck screw on the steering part?
rccartips is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service