R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2004, 08:50 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 107
Default brush serrators?

who makes the best brush serrator and where can i get one?
SPC Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 11:10 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

I dont know if its the best but I have one from Integy that works great for me and it wasnt expensive.
__________________
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 11:38 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
evaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south of metro manila
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

was just wondering, if i serrate my brushes, then do i have to break them in again?
evaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 11:40 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I do for like maybe 20 seconds....


Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 12:09 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

When reserrating a brush for the first time I break it in again for 120 seconds. But if Im only touching up the serrations between runs I do just like Eddieo and do it for a few seconds and check them to make sure they look even.
__________________
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 02:08 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
evaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south of metro manila
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

tanx. by the way, is the brush factory 1 any good?
evaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 05:11 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to R/C Anonymous
Default

i have the Promatch one...it works fine but i never use it...id rather run new brushes ...more power
__________________
Geoff C.
R/C Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 06:50 AM   #8
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,527
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

I believe Big Jim likes the Promatch one and the Integy brush serrator.

About brushes, how can you tell that they are in need of replacement but they still have plenty of length on them? Reason I ask is I have a pair of 767s in my Reedy Quad Mag motor and they haven't burned up, and have plenty of length on them, but they don't have the punch they used to have and I have tried truing the comm up. Big Jim says that they brushes will work even when they serrations are gone but I have read other places they work best with the Quad Mag when the serrations are there. Any Ideas?
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 08:04 AM   #9
Tech Addict
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 579
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to acyrier
Default reserration of brushes

Keep in mind, when you reserrate brushes, (especially ifyou do it serveral times) that A: they do get shorter...(I know..duh) but that cuases the springs to have less pressure on the brush that it did say, when the brush was at it's full length. That might be why you don't have the punch you originally had..your spring rate changed.
__________________
The products and places I support.
www.michianarc.com www.facebook.com/michianarc - www.russellrc.com
www.teamtekin.com - www.teamcrc.com - www.teamassociated.com
www.fantomracing.com - www.discountrcstore.com
acyrier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:40 AM   #10
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,527
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

True.

I actually check my spring settings with my fiddlestick on a regular basis. Everytime I run the motor I pull it out to clean it up, and I recheck my FS settings so I don't think that could be the issue.

I don't however at this time reserrate my brushes. What all is needed to use the promatch tool?
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 03:17 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

I'm pretty sure all you need is an old motor.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Tru Lathe 3 with Diamond bit/Trinity Brush Station/ Putnam brush driller Brian Anthony R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 05-28-2008 08:01 AM
Brush slotter, GT7, Pulsar 2, Comm drops, and Fussy brush serrator and shaper bigdog xxx-s R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 09-15-2007 07:44 AM
NOVAK New XBR Sport Brush/Brush Speed Control rcforum Electric On-Road 42 09-03-2007 12:45 PM
Brush Cutter/Serrators mangoman Australia For Sale/Trade 1 06-01-2007 04:38 PM
Brush Serrators woozer71 Electric On-Road 6 03-24-2005 09:24 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:15 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net