R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2002, 09:46 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Simon K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 573
Wink Rebuilding stock motors

Just curious, How many of you would replace the arm in a stock motor after it becomes "Un-skimmable"?..
When you have run a motor enough times to reach this point, do you just buy another one and start again or buy a new arm and keep using the motor?.
Simon K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2002, 09:57 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Mad_Cats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 35
Send a message via Yahoo to Mad_Cats
Default

When my motors get to the point of no return.. (.270 com. Dia), I simply just make sure I keep them clean and use them for pratice...
I have only put new arms in Green Machines that have gone up in smoke... Well I should say I have only even done this once.
Mad_Cats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2002, 11:44 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

what is the diameter of a brand new comm? approximately how many times can you cut the comm before it goes down to .270? thanks for any info
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 04:23 AM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Mad_Cats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 35
Send a message via Yahoo to Mad_Cats
Default

The Dia. of a new com veries motor to motor, and the .270 is really just a refferance number.
Mad_Cats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 07:56 AM   #5
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

Yep, I replace just the arms alot, as long as the bushings in the can are OK.

For Trinity arms, the regular arms start at around .290-.295 and the "pro" arms start at about .285

Speedo
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 08:42 AM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
benraldo the ho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Rainy Washington
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to benraldo the ho
Default

I would do what is cheaper, which is just replace the arm. Providing the bushings aren't toasted.
benraldo the ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 09:48 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington state
Posts: 962
Default

My two cents: Make sure you buy the "pro" version of the armature because it will have been balanced (hopefully). You can tell if there are drill holes in the laminations. I have some Fantom stock motors that are hard to find and when the comms wear out I will have to buy Trinity pro arms. Given that many of us use different springs and brushes than what comes with new motors, it makes sense to buy arms only.
coolrcdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 05:23 PM   #8
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

coolrcdad, the Trinity regular arms are balanced also. The only difference is the Pro arms have been diamond trued, which means they take a whole lot more off than they need to and reduce the life of the comm. I just get the standard arms and true them my-self.

Speedo
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 06:46 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 226
Default

hi, has anyone here rewind their smoked gm3 motor? any tips in doing that?
maski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 06:55 PM   #10
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

Haha, well, that would be illegal. I guess you could do it, you would need to replace the wire though, and the stuff you use has to have a protective coating so it won't short out.

Speedo
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 06:58 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Simon K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 573
Wink

I would have thought the replacement GM3 arms would be a "Hot" item(pardon the pun)
Simon K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 08:25 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 226
Default

yeah, that coating is hard to find and also i still need to balance the motor again!
maski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 09:39 PM   #13
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

maski- I think it would be cheaper just to buy another arm...

LOL, maybe the GM3 is a marketing ploy so they can make a whole bunch of money on arms???
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modified Motors Rebuilding mttbsg Electric On-Road 7 11-13-2006 04:59 AM
Modified Motors Rebuilding mttbsg Singapore R/C Racers 0 11-10-2006 04:21 PM
Rebuilding a stock motor mcrcracer Electric On-Road 11 04-21-2006 11:39 AM
Rebuilding Motors.... Altrodesigns Rookie Zone 7 03-17-2004 06:06 PM
Rebuilding Motors SPC Racing Electric On-Road 7 03-05-2004 05:04 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net