Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Charging/Discharging techniques? >

Charging/Discharging techniques?

Charging/Discharging techniques?

Old 04-17-2004, 05:56 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
TC3Racer67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 267
Default Charging/Discharging techniques?

Hey, I now have some nice batteries that I want to take care of. I'm sort of lost about what tray to use, ie one that takes each individual cell to .9, or down to nothing. After you run your car, do you discharge it with some 30 amp discharger which will take it down to .9v, then when you get home, do you tray them and immedietly charge them back up to full? thanks for any help.

btw I'm running matched gp3300's.
TC3Racer67 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 08:14 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
wolfeman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Big Dance, USA
Posts: 445
Default

Depends how often you race, if you race once a week like me, after I run the, i discharge them at 20 amps and store them. With the Integy I tell it 7 cells instead of 6 to leave some more charge in them.

On race day I discharge them with the Rayspeed discharger.

Hope this helps..
wolfeman09 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 08:17 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
TC3Racer67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 267
Default

when you mean on race day, you discharge them with the rayspeed, then charge them back up so you can run them? thanks
TC3Racer67 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 09:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 352
Default

This is what i do.... After the race take the battery out and discharge it on a turbo35 or GFX or something that can discharge at 30 amps. I use a Rayspeed Discharging tray, and they are the best and most recomended at the track I race at. Back onto what I do... After it is done discharging, hit 30 amp discharge again..... Then you want to tray it.... And on the rayspeed you can actually discharge AND equalize/condition! With the rayspeed you want to discharge it on the discharge slot first and keep doing it until all the lights go off at the same time so the cells are mached.... Then immediately switch it to equalize/condition... After that is done, I deadshort my batteries if I am running touring stock, dont dead short and just put away with touring mod (just what u should do). Basically, if you want MORE runtime DONT deadshort.... IF you want MORE VOLTAGE dead short.... I am done preaching...
FriedDiff is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 09:52 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
TC3Racer67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 267
Default

The thing that I don't get is, after you discharge it at 30 amps, won't it cut off at .9v a cell? then, isn't that also the value for the rayspeed one? how can there be anything left to discharge?
TC3Racer67 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 09:58 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 352
Default

there is voltage left... A turbo35 or w/e you discharge it on 30 amps with only discharges it if it can put out 30 amps.... if it can put out 30 amps it wont discharge it.... This is how it ususally is on tray.... 2-5 mins on rayspeed... and about 3-7 for the equalize mode.... then I put em away
FriedDiff is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 05:33 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,659
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

When you discharge on a Turbo 35, or any discharger that's not a tray for that matter, your discharging the whole pack to 5.4v. Not each cell. Also, a 30amp discharge will give a much higher voltage bounce at the end of the discharge.

After the run- Discharge at 20-30 amps, let cool (NEVER put the cells on a fan to force cool. Let them naturally cool down for at least a couple of hours) and store. (no need to tray them yet)
Before your first charge on race day, put them on the tray and equalize them. If you're using the Rayspeed like Fried does and I do as well, set it to the 5 amp equalizing setting and discharge. This will bring the cells down to .9 per cell fairly quickly at 5 amps. Once it cuts off all 6 cells, flip it to conditioning and start it again. This will bring them back down to .9v at 1 amp much more slowly, giving less of a voltage bounce and all the cells should go out at the exact same time telling you all cells are equalized. Then immediatly put them on the charger. If you run your packs more than once in a day, let them cool completely for a couple hours minimum, and just recharge. No need to re tray them.

Hope that clears things up. I'll be happy to help if you have any other questions.

Last edited by Jon Kerr; 04-18-2004 at 05:40 AM.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 05:37 AM
  #8  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,659
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Oh, and as far as dead shorting, thats a risky and dangerous way to possibly get a very little extra voltage from your cells. It has to be done just right and even then, you can do serious damage to your cells and to yourself. It's better to just buy higher number packs. Dead shorting won't always give you any extra voltage and will always shorten your runtime signifiganly. Some guys swear by dead shorting and that's fine for them. But I know many of the top 10 at the recent ROAR carpet nats in stock weren't dead shorting and they seemed to be running plenty fast.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 11:57 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 352
Default

Also, when you discharge on the rayspeed tray, do stage one over and over until all the lights go off at the SAME TIME then immediately switch them over to equalize.... After that immediately charge them. Me personally.... I tray them like that after discharging on the turbo35 and then discharge again before charging....
FriedDiff is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 04:19 PM
  #10  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,659
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

The only reason we don't equalize after the run is through storage, they will un-equalize over time as they sit. So there's really no advantage. But if you feel more comfortable doing it, go for it.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 06:03 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
TC3Racer67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 267
Default

thanks for the reply guys
TC3Racer67 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.