Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Did Proline/Protoform lose licensing? >

Did Proline/Protoform lose licensing?

Did Proline/Protoform lose licensing?

Old 04-17-2004, 10:27 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 271
Default Did Proline/Protoform lose licensing?

Anyone know what happened with Proline/Protoform? From their website, it looks like almost half of the bodies they used to carry are gone including the Stratus. They used to have 20+ bodies.. now it looks like they're down to 9.
EuroKRN is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 10:57 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
skiptomylou6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 1,308
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I think they just discontinued a bunch of them and took them off the site.

Last edited by skiptomylou6; 04-17-2004 at 11:12 AM.
skiptomylou6 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 10:58 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
Java1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VERY Northern California
Posts: 164
Default

The message I got was that they were updating their site.
Java1970 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 11:06 AM
  #4  
RCTech Member #2
iTrader: (5)
 
TSR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,961
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

"Temporarily Discontinued" is whats being said about the all of the Daimler/Chrysler bodies.

There was another thread on this about a month ago.
TSR6 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 11:11 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Default

I've been told that HPI has bought all of the rights on the Chrysler-bodies.. Anyone else who heard that?
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 11:32 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

hi, protoform/proline probably aren't showing those bodyshells because maybe every racer knows the stratus etc but it's still available, but they're showing the less popular shells
Chazz is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 11:36 AM
  #7  
RCTech Member #2
iTrader: (5)
 
TSR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,961
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Chazz
hi, protoform/proline probably aren't showing those bodyshells because maybe every racer knows the stratus etc but it's still available, but they're showing the less popular shells
It's still availible due to the large stock in the warehouses, but they are "Temporarily Discontinued"
TSR6 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 11:37 AM
  #8  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

You mean they had licenses for the bodies in the first place??? Why did Proline need to have decals of "Fer" and "arri" on the 360 and with the Prancing Horse facing the wrong way????!!!!
dtm is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 11:39 AM
  #9  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (80)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,755
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

If anyone is looking for Stratus bodies I have plenty in stock to last a little while.

Kraig
KT Hobbies
Kraig is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 05:23 PM
  #10  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 638
Default

OK - right from the horses mouth regarding PROTOform & PROLINE Dodge bodies.
PROTOform and PROLINE were in a licensing agreement since 1994 with regard to their Dodge/Chrysler likeness products. The actual licensing is handled by independent licensing firms who also have contracts with the auto companies like Nissan, Chevrolet, Daimler/ Chrysler etc. etc. ( Ford is the exception, they do things internally) They're all just trying to get the most money they possibly can for their clients.
Recently, Dodge gave their licensing contract to a different licensing firm and this company in their "wisdom" felt it would be better to give "all" the Dodge RC body-sales contracts to only "one" RC company. We've always tried to present our Dodge and Chrysler likeness products in a positive and professional way that would not damage their corporate image, so naturally we felt this was extremely unfair to PROLINE and PROTOform.
THE GOOD NEWS! This particular licensing firm has since seen that this was in fact not a wise move. As of May 1 2004, PROLINE and PROTOform will resume with the production and sale of Dodge likeness products.
We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you, the RC racer and enthusiast.
daleepp is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 06:56 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default

I bought a ProtoForm Stratus 2.0 body a couple of weeks ago. On the back of the label it said "Product Liscenced by GM" That seemed kinda strange since the Stratus isn't a GM car. Maybe Chrysler got PO'ed and dropped them......?
j240z is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 07:32 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
 
GTO2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Don't Blink !!
Posts: 2,264
Default

Forgive me for my ignorance, is Mazda temporarily effected as well? thx.
GTO2 is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 08:03 PM
  #13  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,494
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

If you guys read the post from Dale Epp below (the owner of Protoform) he explained it all!! No need for any more speculation!!!

Glad to see you got it worked out Dale!!

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 11:14 PM
  #14  
WC
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,932
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by j240z
On the back of the label it said "Product Licenced by GM" That seemed kinda strange since the Stratus isn't a GM car. Maybe Chrysler got PO'ed and dropped them......?
Same cardboard tags also came with latest LHS haul last Sat.
Mazda 6es, MG ZS no Dodgy items there.
WC is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 11:38 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by GTO2
Forgive me for my ignorance, is Mazda temporarily effected as well? thx.
Mazda = Ford , so...no.
Turbo Joe is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.