Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Glitching Monster >

Glitching Monster

Glitching Monster

Old 04-16-2004, 10:10 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Default Glitching Monster

I have a Monster Stock that is glitching really badly. I don't have glitching probs with my other motors. A friend suggested that the surface mounted caps are bad. Do I just solder on some new caps or do I have to take the SMCs out first?
rod_b is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 10:14 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

I had the same problem.....I just put it in a toolbox for a few months then took it out and put a new endbell on it when another monster's arm burned up.
The Black Kat is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 04:27 AM
  #3  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

don't add any caps.

I had the samething hapen.

RESOLDER the caps on it along with solder the wires coming off the circuit board going to the screw.

Hope that made since..

I can take a pic if needed.
Tres is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 01:01 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,965
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I had the same problem. The motor slowed excessively and glitched like heck. I too tossed it in the toolbox... its still there.

- DaveW
DaveW is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 07:39 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
DT-Skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 24 Hour Fitness
Posts: 499
Default

Could be brushes, endbell, arm, or just needs a capacitar.
DT-Skyline is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 08:19 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

If you can't get it fixed just rip out the SM caps and solder on some more. Of course then you have to spend ages re-aligning the brushes(if you do it).
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 08:20 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Glitching Monster

Rod_b;

Hey, you might have a Bad Cap on the circuit board. Try what 'Tres' suggested. If that doesn't work, you can buy replacement Boards seperately.

That or remove the Board and just solder on 3 regular caps like the old days.
popsracer is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 07:29 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
HK Racing Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ravinia, Il
Posts: 251
Default

get your comm turned and new brushes i had the same problem and that fixed it
HK Racing Joe is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.