R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2004, 01:16 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12
Default HRS and QC2 Compatibilty

Anyone running a Futaba HRS receiver with a LRP Quantum Competition 2 ESC? I have not been able to get this combination to work together properly.

The issue was that once I got through the ESC setup procedure, I had no throttle curve. It was wide open throttle through the complete range of the throttle or off. I went through the DSC (direct connect) method of setting up the ESC as outlined in the manual for some ESCs that may not be compatible with HRS but got the same result.

I have used the QC2 with my FM receivers with no problems. Last night I was also able to set up the HRS recevier with my LRP Quantum Competition (the orignal version). So both appear to function correctly with other components.

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced or heard of anything similar.

Jeff
TKG 27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 01:34 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
eeyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 3,944
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to eeyan Send a message via Yahoo to eeyan
Default

I will be racing with this setup mated with a Futaba 9550 servo on my 415 this weekend... so far, i've had good results with my practice/setup runs. Do you think it might be your radio setting that's causing this problem? Everytime I switch receivers, I always need to change my radio settings to adjust to the new receiver I install... PCM, Standard and HRS.

I'll give further feedback after this weekend's race...
__________________
TAOB Racing Team (1999 - 2011)
eeyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 01:39 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,503
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

I run that combo and have had no problems whatsoever. Be sure you're setting it right and that everything is hooked up as it should be.

Blake
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 01:48 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

reverse your throttle servo setting and it will work properly.
__________________
UF1 Seattle - SPEEDWERKES - VBC Racing - Team ORCA
Difuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 01:49 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Arcee Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Lost in Time, AZ
Posts: 60
Default

I have been using a fut. 9550, hrs and a Quantum 2 for the last 3 months with no problem. Are you sure your transmitter is properly setup?
Arcee Newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 02:45 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 436
Default

Hi,

Program #4 in the speedo is the reactive frequency program and will not work with an hrs receiver (causes severe interference), all the other program are fine.

I've been running the hrs rx's and q2's for a while, with no problems..... just not program #4
XCrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 06:26 PM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: C-BUS,OH
Posts: 55
Default

I'm also using both without incident. I've used every program but number 4 though.
Masterfaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 09:43 PM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12
Default Problem Solved

Thanks for all the great input guys! I ended up reversing the throttle servo setting (Thanks Difuser) and that solved the problem.

I also tried the #4 punch control setting and ended up getting the same interference that XCrash referred to. 1,2,3 and 5 are fine but not 4.

Thanks again to all! This forum is a great resource!

Jeff
TKG 27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 03:23 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default LRP Quantum 2

Anyone knows how to check if a LRP Quantum 2 is faulty or not functioning 100%? I currently use a HRS receiver and have been using the profile 5 for stock racing. I have tried a new stock motor with the same rollout and packs are also new but can seem to get the same speed as before (top end and acceleration). I have also tried resetting the speedo a number of times. Cars drivetrain is free as. Any help?
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 03:28 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default Re: LRP Quantum 2

Quote:
Originally posted by danjoy25
Anyone knows how to check if a LRP Quantum 2 is faulty or not functioning 100%? I currently use a HRS receiver and have been using the profile 5 for stock racing. I have tried a new stock motor with the same rollout and packs are also new but can seem to get the same speed as before (top end and acceleration). I have also tried resetting the speedo a number of times. Cars drivetrain is free as. Any help?
Not sure if you had this problem all the time with the QC2, or the problem showed up after chaning motor / battery or another change. Check these things:

1: GP packs need to be run in, that is it's first after 3-4 runs, they become punchy.
2: Just one bad soldering can be enough to cause what you describe... I've tried it
3: Motor condition.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250

Last edited by Cole Trickle; 04-26-2004 at 03:33 AM.
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reciever Compatibilty peded Electric On-Road 4 06-16-2007 08:16 PM
Ko Propo Mars R - Spektrum Compatibilty losi-sw Electric On-Road 6 04-24-2006 12:31 AM
Serpent Impulse Pro parts compatibilty stephen_p Nitro On-Road 4 03-12-2006 07:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net