Decent Cheap Dyno

Reply

Old 04-15-2004, 09:51 AM
  #1  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (251)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,590
Trader Rating: 251 (100%+)
Default Decent Cheap Dyno

I am looking into getting a decent cheap dyno, something that I can basically compare my motors and motor changes with.

So far I am looking more at the following:

Integy Dyno
BRP Dyno
Tekin 900 Dyno ( saw this cheap online and the company is coming back ).

What are you thoughts on these for what I am going to use them for?
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 10:20 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2,543
Default re dyno

as far as the dynos go I've got a integy I use to compare rpm and amps onit thats what I use it for I had a tekin and I guess it worked ok but I wasn't impressed and the load motor on the other side I wasn;t to shure about as far as them coming back I'll beleive it when I see it I liked there speedos and chargers. as far as other dynos go my next choice would be the fanton (IMO) or one of the other big name dyno but I can't afford one at the present. that just my two cents worth
crazymechmow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 10:26 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
iamramos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 107
Default

try the motor master imported by Schu or the yokomo mms(i think)
iamramos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 10:33 AM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
jeepnyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The Great Smokey Mountains, TN USA
Posts: 553
Default

I myself have the INDY ......it's ok to compare motors or what not's ...but thats just about it.....it has become just a "reference " tool for comparison.....I'am on the look out for some TurboDyno or Fantom on e-bay.....but until then.....
jeepnyy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 11:11 AM
  #5  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (251)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,590
Trader Rating: 251 (100%+)
Default

hmm. Ok. I see one of those motor masters on ebay. How good are they?
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 11:16 AM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I used a Tekin for YEARS, and it was very very good. BUT, with the newer motors, the amp draw is so high to begin with I was finding the power readings weren't as acurate as they should have been. I would also test the RPM @ a 15amp load, and that was also not acurate either. I just sold my Tekin around December after I picked up a Fantom
RCGaryK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 11:26 AM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

Yeah, I have been interested in getting a dyno also. I am wondering about the Yokomo MMS. It looks like one of the best "cheap" dyno's to me. I am wondering how it measures RPM though. It says it can do it, but how? Like where do you put the motor?

Thanks,
etzkev
etzkev is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 03:41 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
RcMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Philly burbs
Posts: 389
Default

etzkev,

You don't put the motor anywhere on the Yomoko MMS. It measures the rpm using a motor plug(sorta like a flywheel) attached to the motor and you just hold the sensor that has an optical sensor(??) up to the motor plug.
RcMonk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 03:53 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

fantom. robotronics, or a turbo dyno.. these are the only real dyno's there may be afew others, to but if u want a real dyno u are going to have to pay for it... it is an investment.... if u have a group of guys who u run with all of u should go in together on it.. ive seen this before... keep it at one of your places and just make sure u build your motors before u race ..... shouldnt be a problem
burbs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 05:06 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

Originally posted by RcMonk
etzkev,

You don't put the motor anywhere on the Yomoko MMS. It measures the rpm using a motor plug(sorta like a flywheel) attached to the motor and you just hold the sensor that has an optical sensor(??) up to the motor plug.
RcMonk - Thanks for explaining that. Now I understand how that works as opposed to the Indi Dyno.

To anyone - How is the Yokomo MMS compared to the other "cheap" dynos? Is it the best of the worst ??? Just let me know how it compares to some of the others.

Thanks,
etzkev
etzkev is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 05:57 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 3,018
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Dyno?

The cheapest and best dyno? Let me think. THE TRACK!
tandman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 06:00 PM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default Re: Dyno?

Originally posted by tandman
The cheapest and best dyno? Let me think. THE TRACK!
This is true!

etzkev is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 06:04 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 3,018
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Yeah

And as Darrel Waltrip would say; Experience!
Also when you are passing everyone, you know you are going fast!
But seriously I would also like to get a Fantom or the CE dyno just for the fact of having a really neet gadget!
tandman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 06:46 PM
  #14  
JRM
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Costa Mesa
Posts: 34
Default

Originally posted by etzkev
To anyone - How is the Yokomo MMS compared to the other "cheap" dynos? Is it the best of the worst ??? Just let me know how it compares to some of the others.

Thanks,
etzkev
I have had my mms for a few months now and honestly I have used it more often for motor break in than anything else.

The display has a graph that "measures motor condition" it will stay centered with a fresh comm and properly seated brushes. It will jump around in varying degrees as your motor parts wear or if your brushes aren't seated properly.

As far as measuring rpms, it's kind of awkward. You need to hold the sensor perfectly level with the flyweel on the motor to get a solid reading. I guess it's decent reference tool for comparing your motors to one another, but I wouldn't classify it as a dyno by any means.
JRM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 08:00 PM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

Well so far, it sounds like the best "cheap" dyno.

Thanks for the input.

-etzkev
etzkev is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service