Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TB-Evolution IV >

Tamiya TB-Evolution IV

Tamiya TB-Evolution IV

Old 12-19-2004, 10:19 AM
  #2161  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (5)
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by F. Alonso
I want to get a spool for the Evo IV. I have seen the speedtech spool and am wanting to get that, but not happy about the photo id ordering for international orders. Is there any other spool made up for the Evo IV??
F. Alonso,

If you're interested in a spool from us, please send me an email

Thanks

Steve Wang
SpeedTech is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 10:43 AM
  #2162  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
hierog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 893
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by SpeedTech
F. Alonso,

If you're interested in a spool from us, please send me an email

Thanks

Steve Wang
F. Alonso, I bought the spool for the EVO III from both Steve @ speedtech and from Jurgen, but for the EVO IV, I've only tried Steve's.

Both worked great and Steve's was much cheaper to purchase

vic
hierog is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 12:32 PM
  #2163  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

I used one of Steve's spools for my Cuda and it worked great. I will get one eventually for my EVO but when I bought my car it already had they tightened spool/diff so I didn't get one yet.
wyd is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 02:19 PM
  #2164  
Tech Adept
 
TRF_SPAIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 157
Default

I use the speedtech spool on my car, and it works really awesome, i race a complete weekend race (8 minutes heats) and i didnt notice any minimal trouble and the car have a great performance
TRF_SPAIN is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 02:25 PM
  #2165  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
F. Alonso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default MAIL!

Originally posted by SpeedTech
F. Alonso,

If you're interested in a spool from us, please send me an email

Thanks

Steve Wang
Hey Steve,

Guess what!?!?

You've got Mail!

BTW - Thanks for everyone's input on it. I would like to get the Speedtech Spool. Very Strong looking and at a competitive price. What more could I ask ....... blue anodized
F. Alonso is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 12:00 AM
  #2166  
Tech Addict
 
fraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 653
Default

Notes on the spool. In general you will get more breakage running a spool if you hit stuff. In the Evo4 the drive cups break easiest and I now have aluminum ones and they are holding up well. It transfers so much force to the driveshaft, I even bent my Jurgen lightweight shaft. I run the Speedtech spool and it is a single piece of machined steel and looks like it will last forever. I think I would rather have the steel spool than the flex generated from the long slots in the stock plastic diff halves.

The Evo4 hubs from Tamiya are 1 degree in plastic or aluminum. I am using the ones from Square and they are indeed 1.5 degrees.

loosenut: Make sure you use Loctite 242 on the screws for the crown gears that go on the front and rear shafts. Otherwise, they will become loose and cause problems eventually. Your parts list looks pretty good and you will want to add 950 bearings to the list because they do wear out quickly.
fraz is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 02:12 PM
  #2167  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Default

Thx fraz for the tip. Will I need titanium turn buckles? I thought the evo kid don't come with them? Who should I get it from or shall I buy the TC3 ones?

G
loosenut is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 02:40 PM
  #2168  
Tech Addict
 
fraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 653
Default

You don't need the Ti turnbuckles. I have them but it was mostly to shave weight.
fraz is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 04:25 PM
  #2169  
Tech Regular
 
Ballsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton, United Kingdom
Posts: 354
Default

I don't have Ti turnbuckles on my Evo IV, but I do have them on my 415.

I bought them as I felt I was damaging the aluminium ones as I was adjusting them - I am heavy handed though!
Ballsie is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 04:47 PM
  #2170  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
F. Alonso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I have been looking for Ti 28mm turnbuckles for the camber on my Evo IV but doesn't look like Tamiya make them in Ti at that size. I have just bought the 32mm ones and I'm sure that they will fit fine anyway. Like Fraz, only doing it to shave weight as well as having unbendable turnbuckles. Nothing worse then bent shafts, :P :P :P
F. Alonso is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 06:37 PM
  #2171  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (5)
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by F. Alonso
I have been looking for Ti 28mm turnbuckles for the camber on my Evo IV but doesn't look like Tamiya make them in Ti at that size. I have just bought the 32mm ones and I'm sure that they will fit fine anyway. Like Fraz, only doing it to shave weight as well as having unbendable turnbuckles. Nothing worse then bent shafts, :P :P :P
Hi Simon,

The 32mm is probably best in place of the 28mm (they'll go into the ball cups a bit more, which gives it more strength as well) Also, I just sent a reply to your email. I apologize for the delay, I usually don't see the emails from the weekend until Monday (today)

Thanks

Steve Wang
SpeedTech is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 07:32 PM
  #2172  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
hierog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 893
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default free drivetrain

can anybody post some tips on how to make the drivetrain more free? I've set up my car straight from the manual, and it seems to be pretty free. but after seeing a friends pro4, i was absolutely stunned!! i can only get about 8 seconds of free spin from my car. I'll try to attach a small video. i took out the sound, so you'll just have to look at the far wheel to see when it stops!

thanks for the input in advace!!

vic
Attached Files
File Type: mov
freespin.mov (1.8 KB, 158 views)
hierog is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 08:30 PM
  #2173  
Tech Addict
 
cooliomojo-CEBU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 576
Default

the drive train in the evo 4 is pretty free. i compared it to my old evo 3 and there was a big difference. however, the pro 4 is a really great car and im not surprised it has free drive train. wow, if anybody can give any suggestions as how to achieve a really free drive train!
cooliomojo-CEBU is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 09:55 PM
  #2174  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

My drive is pretty free overall but I got the car used and not sure if all the bearing where sprayed out. I know I did most of them but I did put in one new 950 bearing and it is a sealed one and I know it is tighter than the others. It is still smooth and no binding. It really don't matter if your trans spins for 10 seconds or 30 seconds the track performance will be the same.
wyd is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 10:12 PM
  #2175  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by wyd
It really don't matter if your trans spins for 10 seconds or 30 seconds the track performance will be the same.
But the bragging rights would be soooooooo cooooool!! if you could have your car able to spin for up to 30 seconds....hmmm wait I have one that might come close
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.