Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Why should I dead short my Ni-Cds? >

Why should I dead short my Ni-Cds?

Why should I dead short my Ni-Cds?

Old 03-17-2002, 03:44 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Why should I dead short my Ni-Cds?

I heard that it is best to run my 2400 Ni-Cds down, throw them in a tray until they are 0.0v and then dead short them for the next time that I use them. Can someone either confirm this or tell me the best way to care for my batteries? I get a good 7 minutes run rime from them so I don' tmind sacrificing run time for a bit higher voltage to get that extra "punch". I charge at 4- 4.5 A, after a run, I put them on the lights until they are 5.4v and then put them in a discharge tray to 0.0v. Is it necessary to dead short them afterward? Thanks for the input.
Dennis
Old 03-17-2002, 05:33 PM
Regional Moderator

looks like you got 17 views but no one responded. I'm not an expert on batteries but from what you are telling me, excluding the dead short, your doing everything right. I actually do the same thing your doing and I get more volts in my batteries. I don't know what type of charger your using but I have the Tekin B12 and on older batteries, such as my 2400, I charge them on P3 at 4.8 and get about 9.8, 10 volts.

I wouldn't recommending dead shortening your batteries after you put them on the tray. What tray are you using? I have the trinity real time 2, pretty cool it has that fan that draws more out of the battery once the lights go out.
Old 03-17-2002, 05:38 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)