R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 03-17-2010, 02:26 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default High speed oversteer

Hi all,

I'm very very new to this - please be gentle. I have done a quick search but found only rather model specific advise, maybe this would still be pertinent to me but I'm a bit too novice to know at this juncture.

I have a reasonable understanding of 1/1 scale cars - designed, built and raced many of my own. And worked for top end motorsport companies in the past.

I've recently bough an HPI RS4 Pro2. I have two issues I was wondering if any one can help me with?

1. The car never goes straight. I adjust the trim every straight and by the next straight it needs adjusting again.

I bought the car with 12degs castor and buckets of front toe in.

2. Massive high speed oversteer. the slighest of brushes against the steering stick at anything over 20mph leads to the car spinning out. In fact, the trim tab can cause the car to spin at high speed.

To counter the later point I have done the following, all with positive results:
V stiff front end, v soft rear end, lots of ackermann, spooled front diff, 2degs rear toe in.

Any advice greatly received as I was embarrassingly slow at my first race last weekend.

Cheers,
Glen.
wurlyvalve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 02:47 AM   #2
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)

Some things to check.

1) is the servo horn screwed in tight?
2) Droop Setting equal from Left to Right on the Front and Rear?
3) Shocks the same length?
4) Rebound of the shock shafts the same from L to R on the Front and Rear?
5) Any binding on the suspension?
6) Any bent hinge pins/shock shafts?
7) Bearings good to go? Check inside the rear hubs.
8) Is your Steering Servo in proper working condition?
9) Does your RX glitch?
10) Do the batteries in your TX ahve ample juice?
11) EXPO setting on your radio?

Thats all I can think of for now. Good luck on fixing your issue.