Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
How do you time your laps? >

How do you time your laps?

Like Tree2Likes

How do you time your laps?

Old 09-04-2001, 05:43 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore, Jurong East
Posts: 1,654
Default How do you time your laps?

Whew ran last night with 2 of my seniors and they easily lapped me 2-3 times :-)

How do you guys time your laps? Stopwatches? I'd like to know thanks!

~Alvin
Alvin is offline  
Old 09-04-2001, 08:07 AM
  #2  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (80)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,760
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

When I am timing I usually use a stop watch. I pick a point on the track and everytime the car passes that point I click the watch and see what the time is. I hope this is what you are asking and I hope it helps.
Kraig is offline  
Old 09-04-2001, 08:22 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Talking

I use the personal lap timer ...the one Team Orion is going to be importing, got mine a while back before Orion was importing them. The thing is great it lets you just drive and not worry about hitting a button on your controller or anything like that. Has an audible tone that lets you know your fastest lap and a different tone when you beat a preprogrammed time.
HarshGuy is offline  
Old 09-04-2001, 08:57 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore, Jurong East
Posts: 1,654
Default

Hi Kriag,
Haven't yet tried the stop watch - don't have one yet. Is it difficult for you to click to stop watch every lap at the same position? At my newbie stage just keeping the car on the track is very taxing.

HarshGuy, how much did u get it for? TIA!

~Alvin
Alvin is offline  
Old 09-04-2001, 09:19 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Team Orion has them on their website for $227.50, I'm sure they'll be making out to hobby shops that ordered them as well.
HarshGuy is offline  
Old 09-04-2001, 09:28 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore, Jurong East
Posts: 1,654
Default

ack that's quite a bundle! Any idea if there are DIY solutions?

OTOH, I have this urge to buy the Tamiya Mini 4WD speed meter to see how fast my tb01 can go
Alvin is offline  
Old 09-04-2001, 11:16 AM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
 
C. Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3
Default

I use the lap feature on my JR R-1 radio. i like it because you can set a pace monitor on it. If you need to be doing 12 second lap times, you can set it up to beep at you after 12 seconds during each lap. This way you can see how far you actually are from being up to speed. This becomes real useful when you are evaluating changes you have made to your set up.
--C. Alan
C. Alan is offline  
Old 09-04-2001, 11:38 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
TurnNBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,402
Default

I'm almost done developing Lap Timing software. If you've got a buddy and a laptop, you can use it to keep track of your lap times. Actually, the only thing left for me to do is complete the average speed conversion for MPH/KPH and vice-versa.

The software has an unlimited lap memory and recall, calculates average lap time and average lap speed (if you enter the track length), and keeps track of the fastest lap.

My next step will be to port it to Windows CE (Pocket PC), and to the Palm OS as well. These options would be a bit more realistic in terms of what someone might actually use at the track, although I have seen my share of laptops at the track!

If you're interested, you can check it out on my personal website

Last edited by TurnNBurn; 09-04-2001 at 11:44 AM.
TurnNBurn is offline  
Old 09-05-2001, 07:18 AM
  #9  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CT
Posts: 42
Cool Windows CE Lap Counter

My brother is in the process of making a Windows CE Lap Counter. The last few weekends we have been using it for practice and it is pretty good.

Please visit his site if you want more info: Windows CE Lap Counter



Thanks
Meche
meche is offline  
Old 09-05-2001, 07:38 AM
  #10  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (80)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,760
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Alvin
Hi Kriag,
Haven't yet tried the stop watch - don't have one yet. Is it difficult for you to click to stop watch every lap at the same position? At my newbie stage just keeping the car on the track is very taxing.

HarshGuy, how much did u get it for? TIA!

~Alvin
Oh, I forgot to mention that I have a buddy time me and I return the favor for him.
Kraig is offline  
Old 09-05-2001, 08:04 AM
  #11  
Administrator
iTrader: (26)
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,551
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

dont let kraig fool ya...he uses a calender to time himself....
Matt M. is offline  
Old 09-05-2001, 06:10 PM
  #12  
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,435
Default

I use my M8 timer
Speedo is offline  
Old 04-11-2018, 03:34 AM
  #13  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 707
Default

I use a Stopwatch. My kids time my laps.
-I make sure they're awake and I tell them to focus on the Start - Finish Line.

I have the Futaba 3PM-X. It has some-sort of a Lap-Timing feature. . . . . . . . . .I don't know how to use it.
GuyIsDamGood is offline  
Old 04-11-2018, 05:32 AM
  #14  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (213)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,091
Trader Rating: 213 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GuyIsDamGood View Post
I use a Stopwatch. My kids time my laps.<br />
-I make sure they're awake and I tell them to focus on the Start - Finish Line.<br />
<br />
I have the Futaba 3PM-X. It has some-sort of a Lap-Timing feature. . . . . . . . . .I don't know how to use it.
amazing people know how to use the search button
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 04-11-2018, 06:01 AM
  #15  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (7)
 
Billy Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Far south suburbs of Chicago area
Posts: 13,518
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Almost 17 years between posts. Think that the longest gap I’ve seen yet.
Marcos.J likes this.
Billy Kelly is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.