R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2004, 06:03 PM   #31
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

So does this mean the PS makes noise? I just ordered one because I am sick of carrying my 10 lbs Bulldog to the track with all my other equipment. I got rid of my GFX for 2 LRP Pulsars. I figure I will charge at 6 amps max on both and a motor lathe with the 55turn motor pulls about 9 amps so I should be good with this power supply.
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 10:52 PM   #32
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,236
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mike_Webb
So does this mean the PS makes noise? I just ordered one because I am sick of carrying my 10 lbs Bulldog to the track with all my other equipment. I got rid of my GFX for 2 LRP Pulsars. I figure I will charge at 6 amps max on both and a motor lathe with the 55turn motor pulls about 9 amps so I should be good with this power supply.
I second that. My Bulldog PS will be staying home; but, my GFX and Quasar Pro (AC/DC just in case) are still going to the track with me. Next addition should be a Yokomo Motor Management System which can also run my Hudy lathe.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 12:38 PM   #33
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mike_Webb
So does this mean the PS makes noise? I just ordered one because I am sick of carrying my 10 lbs Bulldog to the track with all my other equipment. I got rid of my GFX for 2 LRP Pulsars. I figure I will charge at 6 amps max on both and a motor lathe with the 55turn motor pulls about 9 amps so I should be good with this power supply.
to be correct it is electrial noise. This means the voltage isnīt as smooth as with a conventional power supply. The noise is generated from the high frequency switching. But a well designed switching powersupply uses filters and some special capacitators for keeping these unwanted noise as low as possible.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COMPETITION ELECTRONICS POWER SUPPLY waytoofast R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 08-16-2008 05:49 PM
Competition Electronics Power Supply 23 Amp Chris08527 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 03-25-2007 08:54 AM
SEC/Competition Electronics Power Supply Like new ATOMIC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 05-17-2006 07:48 PM
F/S Competition Electronics Power Supply (NIB) forty6 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-03-2006 10:13 PM
New Competition Electronics 23 amp power supply jrighter R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 08-17-2005 12:35 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:52 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net