Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
1S setups with 2s receiver packs…  Bad! >

1S setups with 2s receiver packs… Bad!

1S setups with 2s receiver packs… Bad!

Old 03-14-2010, 07:13 PM
  #61  
avs
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
that is funny, i am worried that I will loose steering. since we were feeding the servo at 8.4 and now down to 5.7
it is non-intuitive that a higher voltage to the servo could be worse. i think the problem is that with increased supply voltage, the servo unloaded rate goes up, but the current required for a given load also goes up. so if the circuit is current limited, a higher voltage may perform worse.
avs is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 07:52 PM
  #62  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by avs View Post
it is non-intuitive that a higher voltage to the servo could be worse. i think the problem is that with increased supply voltage, the servo unloaded rate goes up, but the current required for a given load also goes up. so if the circuit is current limited, a higher voltage may perform worse.
have already tried it. all my ko stuff is made for 2 cell. once powered from the internal bec, the sevo runs much slower. not a big deal, I have already got my solution and it does what I want. fast servo response and under 7volts to the speedo
theisgroup is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 08:02 PM
  #63  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,082
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
have already tried it. all my ko stuff is made for 2 cell. once powered from the internal bec, the sevo runs much slower. not a big deal, I have already got my solution and it does what I want. fast servo response and under 7volts to the speedo
What was your solution? Is it different from the ones already listed?
pakk is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 08:13 PM
  #64  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pakk View Post
What was your solution? Is it different from the ones already listed?
nope, i run a 2s pack with diodes inline of the speedo to drop the voltage below 7v
theisgroup is offline  
Old 03-15-2010, 03:50 PM
  #65  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Tekin Pres,

Is it permissable to wire a booster into the switch line? My thinking is that it would be a more stable a supply using the speedo regulator than relying on a booster that might not have quite enough volts/amps for every situation.

Your advice appreciated, thanks.
SlowerOne is offline  
Old 03-15-2010, 06:24 PM
  #66  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
MCSEDanny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 1,105
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Is this a good supported option?

So I have been trying to find an acceptable supported option. Would this be that option? Also if all is correct with the link below what rate would I charge this battery at?


http://www.nexusracing.com/product_i...oducts_id=3143


This is the charger I have and now worried it won't charge the battery listed above????
MCSEDanny is offline  
Old 03-15-2010, 10:30 PM
  #67  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
TonyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

After reading this thread I am still confused. I am setting up a RS in a 12 scale car. What is the easiest and safest way to set it up without ruining the ESC, servo and receiver?
TonyK is offline  
Old 03-15-2010, 10:39 PM
  #68  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,082
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Life pack is probably the easiest. Just plug it into the RX.
pakk is offline  
Old 03-15-2010, 10:45 PM
  #69  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
TonyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I take it a battery pack from a micro t won't work because its 7.4
TonyK is offline  
Old 03-15-2010, 10:59 PM
  #70  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,082
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

No. You need a life pack or I think a 5cell nihm pack. Life packs max voltage is 7.2.

--pakk
pakk is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 06:04 AM
  #71  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,369
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

If you read a couple of posts back you can run diodes ( in the correct direction) to drop the end voltage down. Generally a 1N4007 diode will drop about 0.6V for about .1 to .5A and above that the voltage drop can get up to about .8V

Now for a 2S lipo that fully charged can get up to 8.4V fully charged and they only go down from there. The only downside to using Diodes is the power usage only stops when you have no load on the system. if there is any current it will dissipate heat therefore using up Mah's
jdeadman is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 03:52 PM
  #72  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: IOWA
Posts: 89
Default

Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
Yes putting a reciver battery in line with the switch looks pretty good. A little dangerous to let people start doing mods like this, but it is pretty straight forward and should be more robust than a booster or regulator.

You really only need to use another 1S lipo in the switch line. Now we are getting down to little micro helicopter batteries.

With this modification the voltage cutoff WILL NOT WORK.

Good options for 1S setups with the RS.

LiFe 6.6v receiver pack

4 cell, 5 cell or 6 cell Nimh or NiCd

1s or 2s lipo in line with the switch.

2s lipo with a 6v regulator

Booster connected to the main 1S lipo

Using a Diode to drop the voltage of a 2S is not bad, but a little more complicated to wire if you want full voltage to the servo.

Tekin Prez

http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/attach...0&d=1268706357

Would running one of these make you run slower? Less Power? It seem to me since I installed one of these I have been slower then when I ran my SMC 2 cell Li-Po receiver pack with no regulator.

Also... Can you charge a Li-Fe pack on a Li-Po charger?


Jack
jackh is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 04:18 PM
  #73  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (73)
 
Metalsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,060
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MCSEDanny View Post
So I have been trying to find an acceptable supported option. Would this be that option? Also if all is correct with the link below what rate would I charge this battery at?


http://www.nexusracing.com/product_i...oducts_id=3143


This is the charger I have and now worried it won't charge the battery listed above????
A few guys run those and they work great. But as a whole, they run it without a regulator and only one has fried in about 2+ months.

Good choice though, if you don't want a regulator. You can charge it at .2 to .3 amps.

I don't have a Tekin ( hint hint Tekin Prez hook a brother up ) but here is how mine is set up.

I run the castle CC-BEC reg,http://www.castlecreations.com/products/ccbec.html you can program it to run 4.8 - 9.6 volts. It only weighs 11 grams. I use a 2s lipo receiver pack.

Also... Can you charge a Li-Fe pack on a Li-Po charger?
That's a negitive ghostrider unless your charger supports it.
Attached Thumbnails -p1010266.jpg  
Metalsoft is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 05:23 PM
  #74  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jackh View Post
http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/attach...0&d=1268706357

Would running one of these make you run slower? Less Power? It seem to me since I installed one of these I have been slower then when I ran my SMC 2 cell Li-Po receiver pack with no regulator.

Also... Can you charge a Li-Fe pack on a Li-Po charger?


Jack
the speedo does not run any slower with less then 2s voltage. but I can tell you that if you were running 2s into the rx, then your servo will be running slower then it did. i am dropping voltage of my 2s just to the speedo and everything works as it did. I guarantee that it is not any slower. this past weekend I ran this in my stock and superstock car. in stock the car was blazing fast and was untouchable. in super stock I was only 1 lap off of Dumas.
theisgroup is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 05:51 PM
  #75  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (102)
 
hairymuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: moreno valley, ca
Posts: 3,196
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

is a life pack pretty straight forward? Is it just plug in and go? Reason I ask is because I just got a life pack and my esc dies at WOT?..Everything worked flawless with my novak booster before this setup?
hairymuffin is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.