R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-15-2004, 04:11 AM   #76
Tech Rookie
 
Turn Marshal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Default

Uhhhhh....you need to have a cut off of .9v per cell. Bringing your cells down to zero can be very damaging to you nimh cells. Hence, to decrease in performance in you 3000's. You really need to read up on proper maintenance of nimh's!!! They are NOT conditioned the same as nicads!!!
Turn Marshal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 04:39 AM   #77
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Turn Marshal - SMC says otherwise.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 05:02 AM   #78
Tech Initiate
 
Arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 46
Default

I'm not recommending bringing 3000nimhs down to 0v I did say it can do more harm than good in my post. Although I did have some success with the 3000mAh Panasonic stock metal hydrides which are supposedly not that robust a cell.

If you are running recent 3300s however there may be some advantage to going down to 0v as long as you do it properly. You should read the Dead Short thread Turn Marshal.
Arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 03:36 PM   #79
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Turn Marshal
Uhhhhh....you need to have a cut off of .9v per cell. Bringing your cells down to zero can be very damaging to you nimh cells. Hence, to decrease in performance in you 3000's. You really need to read up on proper maintenance of nimh's!!! They are NOT conditioned the same as nicads!!!
yeeaahh ROOK!

just kidd'n
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 04:46 AM   #80
Tech Master
 
17driver's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mayville,Wi
Posts: 1,382
Default

Is every one happy with the tray?Would you recomend it?
__________________
Midwest malitia member
17driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 05:42 AM   #81
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 27
Default

Its cool. The only thing is you still need to use a 30A discharger first then use the smart tray.

If the tray was really smart it would first discharge your cells at 30 amps then automatically go into like a "matching mode" and match the cells at 5 amp.

So after spending $85 on this, I still need to buy or build a bulb discharger.

"Would I recommend"? Well if you already have something to discharge your cells at 30amp, then yes (if you got extra $) get one. But If you don't have anything to dump the cells then maybe you can find an alternative and spend less money.

Last edited by datruth99; 05-19-2004 at 05:49 AM.
datruth99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 06:08 AM   #82
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by datruth99
Its cool. The only thing is you still need to use a 30A discharger first then use the smart tray.

If the tray was really smart it would first discharge your cells at 30 amps then automatically go into like a "matching mode" and match the cells at 5 amp.

So after spending $85 on this, I still need to buy or build a bulb discharger.

"Would I recommend"? Well if you already have something to discharge your cells at 30amp, then yes (if you got extra $) get one. But If you don't have anything to dump the cells then maybe you can find an alternative and spend less money.

That's a great idea, one unit does it all, don't say it out loud! or soon someone will steal your idea and come up with the product, it would be beneficial to us though...
Quiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 06:28 AM   #83
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 44
Default

Hi Turn Marshal;


you might be right about the 3000 nimh but go to www.smc-racing.com and check out the new charging updates for gp3300's I already have shorted a new sms 3300gp pack, haven't used it yet they are stored with a wire across positive to negative terminal I will let know the out come of this new method of treating nimh's... at least it is to me!
Quiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 08:05 AM   #84
Tech Addict
 
jeepnyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The Great Smokey Mountains, TN USA
Posts: 553
Default

Who's got them in stock now ?
jeepnyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 09:27 AM   #85
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeepnyy
Who's got them in stock now ?
STormer had some last time I looked yesterday..
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 09:55 AM   #86
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Quiet
Hi Turn Marshal;


you might be right about the 3000 nimh but go to www.smc-racing.com and check out the new charging updates for gp3300's I already have shorted a new sms 3300gp pack, haven't used it yet they are stored with a wire across positive to negative terminal I will let know the out come of this new method of treating nimh's... at least it is to me!

it works great for stock racing .. really helps the voltage out ... keeps it high longer ... you do lose runtime tho ... but with 3300's who cares ... I was making 7 minutes with the packs I dead shorted when I first got them assembled ( I wanted to see how much runtime I actually lost after dead shorting ) after the dead shorting I can barely make 6 mins 15 secs or there abouts ... but I dropped an average of .2 to .4 secs per lap depending on which motor and track I was at ... so it is worth it ...

have fun racing

E
roddude65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 05:08 PM   #87
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

i just got my smart tray and i like it alot; now i can start discharging my packs the right way
but i do have a stupid question-- when i use the tray to take the cells down with a .9 cut-off voltage, and then go to charge them, aren't they supposed to read 5.4V (.9v x 6 cells) on the charger initially? the tray is designed to take EACH CELL to .9v correct?
i'm getting a reading of 7.45-7.78v for my cells initially when put on the charger.
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 05:19 PM   #88
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Once you take a load off the battery the voltage will rise back up to what you are seeing.... The higher the load, the lower the voltage should read... so no load = higher voltage...
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 05:43 PM   #89
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by datruth99
Its cool. The only thing is you still need to use a 30A discharger first then use the smart tray.

If the tray was really smart it would first discharge your cells at 30 amps then automatically go into like a "matching mode" and match the cells at 5 amp.

So after spending $85 on this, I still need to buy or build a bulb discharger.

"Would I recommend"? Well if you already have something to discharge your cells at 30amp, then yes (if you got extra $) get one. But If you don't have anything to dump the cells then maybe you can find an alternative and spend less money.
Yeah, but have you ever opened up a CE Turbo 30/35 charger to see the size of the heatsinks in there? Thats the main reason they are so big..

So not only will we have T-35's, but have a discharge/equalization tray of the same size?

...now where did my pit table go?
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 05:46 PM   #90
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Evicerator
Once you take a load off the battery the voltage will rise back up to what you are seeing.... The higher the load, the lower the voltage should read... so no load = higher voltage...
whew, thanks, i was a little concerned there for a moment.
what charger are you using?
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Novak smart tray , discharger 7HEAVN Australia For Sale/Trade 0 11-27-2007 01:22 PM
Novak Smart Tray Discharger xraycer007 Electric On-Road 1 03-07-2007 05:55 PM
WTB: Equalizing Discharger (IE: Novak Smart Tray,etc) XXWoodmanXX R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 8 10-06-2006 04:32 AM
Novak Smart Tray Discharger John Q R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 02-14-2006 08:28 PM
Novak smart tray digital discharger fs sharkman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 03-02-2005 11:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:05 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net