R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2004, 04:10 AM   #61
Tech Rookie
 
Turn Marshal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Default

Hey! I went by RC TECH in Daly City and they had 4!!! Two of them were sold while I was there. They opened one and hooled it up. One button to set the discharge cut off, and to start discharging. You hit the button quickly to set cut-off, then after a pause, you hit it again to start the discharging. 6 leds, 1 for each cell. Spring loaded contacts, i liked that, none of those funky screws to loose contact!

One word........excellent!!!!!

here's their web addy....

rctechonline.com
Turn Marshal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 07:44 AM   #62
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 27
Default Question to those that have em already

Do I have to use AC? I would prefer to hook this thing up to my power supply. Is that at all possiable?
datruth99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 08:40 AM   #63
Tech Regular
 
gcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 269
Default

Is it true this tray only dumps at 2.75 amps. I thought NiMh had to dump at 20?

Coop
gcooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 09:08 AM   #64
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gcooper
Is it true this tray only dumps at 2.75 amps. I thought NiMh had to dump at 20?

Coop
Sounds about right, You want to dump your cells on a discharger before putting them in the tray, unless you ran them down really far.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 12:23 PM   #65
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside of Crook County Illinois
Posts: 1,949
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A-Ko
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6
Sounds about right, You want to dump your cells on a discharger before putting them in the tray, unless you ran them down really far.
I usually dump them 1st too but doesn't Rayspeeds and Octane 2 dump them at 20 amps?
__________________
Jeffrey
teamgravityrc.com - motivrc.com
USVTA National Points Member #101
A-Ko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 12:27 PM   #66
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by A-Ko
I usually dump them 1st too but doesn't Rayspeeds and Octane 2 dump them at 20 amps?
Rayspeed:

Equalizing-Mode Discharge rate: 5A
Conditioning-Mode Discharge rate: 1A
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 01:18 PM   #67
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,366
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

this is equalizing stuff, not discharging stuff... you still need to dump your packs at high amps (30A is standard) and THEN you put them on the equalizing tray...

The 5A mode on the RS tray is useless IMHO. Just use the "conditioning" mode.

BTW, none of these trays (RS, Integy, ...) discharge at constant current... it's just resistors in there.

Does the Novak dischrge at constant rate?

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 05:00 PM   #68
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Turn Marshal
Hey! I went by RC TECH in Daly City and they had 4!!! Two of them were sold while I was there. They opened one and hooled it up. One button to set the discharge cut off, and to start discharging. You hit the button quickly to set cut-off, then after a pause, you hit it again to start the discharging. 6 leds, 1 for each cell. Spring loaded contacts, i liked that, none of those funky screws to loose contact!

One word........excellent!!!!!

here's their web addy....

rctechonline.com
Sounds good. Maybe i'll go there this weekend
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 05:57 PM   #69
Tech Addict
 
gee-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

lonestar - one of the early advertised benefits of nimh was 'no cell memory' (meaning you could do things like partial charges). if nimh doesn't have a 'memory', excluding how long it will take, what does it matter what the discharge rate is? were we lied to by advertising?

datruth99 - the discharger comes with both an AC/DC wall adapter as well as a pig tail that allows you to connect it into a 12-15v power supply. so, yes you can run it off your power supply.
gee-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 06:26 PM   #70
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,519
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
Sounds good. Maybe i'll go there this weekend
Sorry Lawrence sold me the last one.
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 06:58 PM   #71
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gee-dub
lonestar - one of the early advertised benefits of nimh was 'no cell memory' (meaning you could do things like partial charges). if nimh doesn't have a 'memory', excluding how long it will take, what does it matter what the discharge rate is? were we lied to by advertising?

datruth99 - the discharger comes with both an AC/DC wall adapter as well as a pig tail that allows you to connect it into a 12-15v power supply. so, yes you can run it off your power supply.
i think the memory effect is more related to capacity than to discharge characteristic of batteries

equalizing is needed for GP3300 because the cells tends to have different self discharge rate, so you just wanna make sure that all the cells have the same charge before you charge the pack
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 07:00 PM   #72
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by racenut123
Sorry Lawrence sold me the last one.
Dang...

BTW, You have a PM
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 07:48 PM   #73
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by racenut123
Sorry Lawrence sold me the last one.
How much did he sell it for?
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 07:47 PM   #74
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 10
Default

Tony, The Novak Trays are $89.99.

SOLD OUT!!! Sorry Domo!

Hopefully we can get more soon!
RC TECH in Daly City is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 02:31 AM   #75
Tech Initiate
 
Arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 46
Default

I've been using the Protrak battery conditioner for a few years now.

Similar deal to the Novak, separate 12v supply but no display other than a couple of leds to say when you are doin and when you are done.

It was designed foe NiCds and worked a treat for them. I think it did more harm than good to the 3000s. However, I do still have a couple of packs of SMH 3000s that I used the conditioner on that are 2 years old, they easily last 5mins (Stock) with plenty of punch - my understanding is that those panasonics should be truly dead by now but they still go strong in my daughters car. When the packs started to die off about 4 months after I bought them (I abused them with too much heat), I put them on the conditioner thinking what the hell. They still go fine today. I put their longevity down to the conditioner.

I've started using it more with the 3300s. Brings the voltage of each cell nicely to 0v, I then I quickly dead short the pack.

I started off buying it because it was a new gadget, it took me a year to realise that the conditioner was worth the investment.
Arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Novak smart tray , discharger 7HEAVN Australia For Sale/Trade 0 11-27-2007 01:22 PM
Novak Smart Tray Discharger xraycer007 Electric On-Road 1 03-07-2007 05:55 PM
WTB: Equalizing Discharger (IE: Novak Smart Tray,etc) XXWoodmanXX R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 8 10-06-2006 04:32 AM
Novak Smart Tray Discharger John Q R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 02-14-2006 08:28 PM
Novak smart tray digital discharger fs sharkman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 03-02-2005 11:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net