R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2005, 08:51 PM   #241
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,016
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

kidDynomite:

The NiMH batteries will self regenerate and the voltage comes back up on its own quickly. Nothing much of a charge in them at that point obviously.

Best to do as you are after the race tray them to 0.9V and then before the next time just before you charge them, tray them to equalize them again. It could be the same 0.9V cutoff or a little deeper discharge: 0.6V, 0.1V etc.

How do you like your Fusion Batteries? 1.87+ WOW!

I just ordered some 1.80+ packs from them. Hoping I can kick some butt with these at my track!
__________________
Yokomo BD8 x 2 , BD7 2016, YRX-12, Tamiya TRF419, Associated B6, B6D, B5M Factory Lite, B64D, B44.3, RC8B3, RC8B3e

My Outdated R/C Car collection:
Associated B44, Associated NTC3, Tamiya TRF415, TRF415 MSX MRE, TRF416X
190mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 02:22 AM   #242
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

Thanks 190mph. Sorry, I meant 1.187s. The Fusions kick @ss. They run strong all the way through. Best packs I've ever owned.
kidDynomite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 12:26 AM   #243
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Johnnytc3
Default

I bought the novak tray today, did anyone get a dc adapter that didnt even fit the jack on the tray?
Johnnytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 05:54 AM   #244
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Johnnytc3
I bought the novak tray today, did anyone get a dc adapter that didnt even fit the jack on the tray?
Yep, I did get the DC jack that does not fit. Otherwise unit work really well, I do like it.
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 06:09 AM   #245
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Question.

Been using the tray for months and Its really great!!!

Question is: can I use the Noval Smart Tray with 4 cells? for my 1/12th? I just assembled a pack for my 12 scale but could not figure out how and if I could tray it?

Help please....... Thanks!!
Lem
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 07:47 AM   #246
Tech Addict
 
S.Stew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 660
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Ive seen some 4cell oval guys using them. It looked to me like they removed the tabs they didnt need, but im not for sure.
__________________
- Steven Stewart -
S.Stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 08:29 AM   #247
Tech Master
 
kerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,157
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

nothing changes for the 4 cell packs, i have been using it for my 1/12 scale for months. dont cut the tabs off
kerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 08:37 AM   #248
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kerry
nothing changes for the 4 cell packs, i have been using it for my 1/12 scale for months. dont cut the tabs off
where do I start, in the (+)side, (-)side or I can place the 4 cell packs anywhere?
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 08:50 AM   #249
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: scottsdale az
Posts: 282
Default

Line up your battery with the pos(+) side of the tray the neg(-)side on a four cell pack does not matter
no1uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 09:34 AM   #250
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by no1uno
Line up your battery with the pos(+) side of the tray the neg(-)side on a four cell pack does not matter
Thank You!!!
Just wanted to be sure, I might ruin the tray if I experiment.
Your a BIG help!
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 10:34 AM   #251
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Just make freakign SURE that the battery bar markers on the tray match where your battery bars are on the packs. cause those clips are linked via a big nasty trace, and if you put a pack in upside down... BOOM.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 07:12 AM   #252
Tech Adept
 
basementLOSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Niagara Falls area
Posts: 117
Send a message via AIM to basementLOSI
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bAsEmEnTLOSI
It should be here any day now! YAY!! I just have a few quick questions on actually how to get the best usage out of these.

My battery packs are not being used right now, so I charge them every few weeks to keep the charge in them, but I heard you should cycle them every month? So, what I was planning on doing was equalizing it, then charging, then maybe doing it again, or would once be enough? I just want to keep the charge in them until the season starts, but I don't want them to "die" in the meantime.
I recieved it a few days ago! This is so beautiful! Works oh so nice too! Until my racing season starts, I plan to equalize and charge about 7 minutes every 2 weeks to keep my packs in shape.

For anyone on the fence for getting this equalizer, do it, and NOW. This thing is gorgeous....

Quote:
Originally posted by Evicerator
You should be fine with your side by side pack with deans plugs connected to the end battery bars.

Using a 12-14V power supply the Smart Tray will only consume about 0.1- 0.2A
As you can see below, that is what one of my packs looks like (it was the first pack I got, before I settled into the pro way of doing it: 6 cells side-by-side in length soldered together by battery bars... what would you actually call it?). BTW, I have the Sanyo, the top one... Evicerator, you said I could work this? Would I just connect the positive of the deans connector to the bottom right tab on the equalizing tray (positive with a red band on it), and do the same to the negative, but to the negative tab? Thanks guys.... I am very happy with my purchase.

basementLOSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 05:44 AM   #253
Tech Addict
 
Losiho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 642
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Johnnytc3
I bought the novak tray today, did anyone get a dc adapter that didnt even fit the jack on the tray?
Yes, I have the International Version, and the included input wire and plug will not fit into the power jack on the right hand side. What can be done ? Has Novak supplied the wrong input plugs ?

Komkit - How can you say the unit works well if you also cannot get the input plug to fit ? The unit will not work without AC/DC power.

Losiho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 09:01 AM   #254
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Hey Guys,

Just send us an email if your Connector doesn't fit, we have a replacment we can send out.

If you guys ever have questions that need fast answers feel free to give us a call, or drop us an email.

[email protected] or
[email protected]

Thanks
Charlie
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 03:49 PM   #255
Tech Addict
 
Losiho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 642
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Charlie just replied by e-mail, and a replacement plug is on its way to me. Gotta love Novak product support
Losiho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Novak smart tray , discharger 7HEAVN Australia For Sale/Trade 0 11-27-2007 01:22 PM
Novak Smart Tray Discharger xraycer007 Electric On-Road 1 03-07-2007 05:55 PM
WTB: Equalizing Discharger (IE: Novak Smart Tray,etc) XXWoodmanXX R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 8 10-06-2006 04:32 AM
Novak Smart Tray Discharger John Q R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 02-14-2006 08:28 PM
Novak smart tray digital discharger fs sharkman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 03-02-2005 11:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net