R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2010, 12:03 AM   #106
Tech Fanatic
 
tiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 944
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tiko
Default

Hey guys I just got the EXOTEK EX05 chassis and wanted to know if anyone has a decent setup for a asphalt track that would not mind to share with me. I tried just about everything and anything this past weekend and the car has a really bad push coming out of a turn. The minute I touch the throttle car wants to spinout. I would greatly appreciate any and all suggestion from everyone and thanks in advance.
__________________
LionArtPrints - Custom Apparel, Hats, PitMats, RC Car Bags, and More
LionArtPrints - On Facebook
tiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:15 AM   #107
Tech Adept
 
millbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 164
Default

tried to buy the xray 009 chassis today but can't get onto the payment page?
Please could you put one on ebay with a battery strap with postage to the uk?
If this is not possible could you let me know how to get your website working
I belive i met you in San Diego while i was working out there as i was racing in a parking lot with the Krazy Kevin shops crew, i was running a rc18r with a exotek chassis. This was back in november 08- feb 09, along time ago but still fresh in my memory. I am a team driver for rcis in florida now and am always looking for new sponsorships to promote their products, hope to speak soon.
Many thanks Jay.
__________________
Xray T2009 / hobbywing v3 120amp /LRP x12 6.5 / wet car
Xray t4'14 / Hobbywing v3 120amp / 13.5/ boost car
Xray t4'15 / Orca Vxx / Orca Rx3 17.5 / blinky car
TEAM DRIVER FOR MMR FLUX
millbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 07:16 PM   #108
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,238
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

so I opted to buy this conversion since my stock chassis has worn down on my cyclone tc. I have been running the conversion for a few months now. I would say the car has been more consistent and predictable to push the car faster around the track. Also the belt flipping made it much easier to balance out the car.

I did find the car to be to flexy on a high bite track, so I opted to use the 2.5mm upper deck to compensate. I ended up buying the battery strap also. Got tired of constantly taping batteries.

overall I am happy with the purchase
goots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:50 PM   #109
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Pulled the pin on an EX05 deck, seems to be significantly more expensive than other chassis on there, is there any plan to have an all in one top deck for those of us who change the IFS suspension for a more traditional layout? At present it looks like the front plastic brace has to stay put and it makes it all look a tad cheap.
nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 08:54 AM   #110
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Received the Exotek deck the other day and am regretting my decision already, the finish wasn't the best, around the centre pulley area there were chunks missing from the Chassis, upon emailing exotek the reply I got was IMO dismissive at best.


That is simply cutting dust stuck onto the edges. When the CNC router bit cuts the CF the cutting dust gets super heated and sticks to some inside edges when spun off the routing bit. Even with a high power vacuum system the speeds of the dust flying off can cause this on inside cut outs because there is no place for the dust to go. Even my $500 Xray T'11 has this straight from the Xray box. All it takes to knock the dust off is rub a small screw driver or X-acto blade against the caked dust. It will clean right up.

Thank You,

Mike Rydwell


The images I present to you all show it's not just dust, it's chunks missing from the chassis, two very different things.

Considering I paid $160 USD shipped for this deck and battery holders shipped to Australia what should I do?
Attached Thumbnails
Exotek Chassis??-img_0002.jpg   Exotek Chassis??-img_0003.jpg   Exotek Chassis??-img_0004.jpg   Exotek Chassis??-img_0005.jpg  
nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 09:16 AM   #111
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexxus View Post
Received the Exotek deck the other day and am regretting my decision already, the finish wasn't the best, around the centre pulley area there were chunks missing from the Chassis, upon emailing exotek the reply I got was IMO dismissive at best.


That is simply cutting dust stuck onto the edges. When the CNC router bit cuts the CF the cutting dust gets super heated and sticks to some inside edges when spun off the routing bit. Even with a high power vacuum system the speeds of the dust flying off can cause this on inside cut outs because there is no place for the dust to go. Even my $500 Xray T'11 has this straight from the Xray box. All it takes to knock the dust off is rub a small screw driver or X-acto blade against the caked dust. It will clean right up.

Thank You,

Mike Rydwell


The images I present to you all show it's not just dust, it's chunks missing from the chassis, two very different things.

Considering I paid $160 USD shipped for this deck and battery holders shipped to Australia what should I do?
Mike's a very straight up guy - maybe send him the pics of what you're talking about and he might have a better understanding of what you're talking about

I have several of his chassis and never seen something like that - it might look a little ugly, but doesn't look like it'll effect performance of the car
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 01:07 PM   #112
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexxus View Post
Received the Exotek deck the other day and am regretting my decision already, the finish wasn't the best, around the centre pulley area there were chunks missing from the Chassis, upon emailing exotek the reply I got was IMO dismissive at best.


That is simply cutting dust stuck onto the edges. When the CNC router bit cuts the CF the cutting dust gets super heated and sticks to some inside edges when spun off the routing bit. Even with a high power vacuum system the speeds of the dust flying off can cause this on inside cut outs because there is no place for the dust to go. Even my $500 Xray T'11 has this straight from the Xray box. All it takes to knock the dust off is rub a small screw driver or X-acto blade against the caked dust. It will clean right up.

Thank You,

Mike Rydwell


The images I present to you all show it's not just dust, it's chunks missing from the chassis, two very different things.

Considering I paid $160 USD shipped for this deck and battery holders shipped to Australia what should I do?
I would sent the product back for replacement...it isn't what you paid for it...it is a poor workmanship...
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 07:54 PM   #113
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
Mike's a very straight up guy - maybe send him the pics of what you're talking about and he might have a better understanding of what you're talking about

I have several of his chassis and never seen something like that - it might look a little ugly, but doesn't look like it'll effect performance of the car
I'm sorry but I am just not seeing that, IMO it's a bit sloppy particularly considering the price (heck a BNIP TA05 is only $200ish, thinking I should have flogged my TA05 on Ebay and bought a TC6 now )

Latest email:

Those 'chunks' are machined cut outs. Please see the attachments as reference. The dust might have obscured that but those cut outs are in place to allow the square corners of the motor mount to seat into the chassis. The chassis is cut with a CNC router- you cannot obtain square corners through the machining process so extra material must be removed in those areas for the square parts to fit into.

I don't think I'm going to get anywhere with this, just have to suck it up I guess, I could do the Paypal claim thing but just more f... around for something that's supposed to be fun.


...chalk this up as lesson learnt! It's a shame, I had bought a TC5 Exotek a yr or so ago (and it was a lot cheaper) and it was flawless, so I went back on this car, but it's left me with a decidedly bitter aftertaste this time.
nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 09:40 PM   #114
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I just got one for my xray and it looks fine! I am surprised by your pictures.
dex410usa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 10:56 PM   #115
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Am I missing something in the pics that were posted by Brad?? I was communicating with decorum with Brad R I thought via email (quickly and on weekends I might add) but I guess what I was saying made no sense??

Does this FULL email and the attached photos seem a fair and honest assessment after Brad thought that the chassis had missing chunks...

From Brad;

Iím sorry this is not merely cutting disc dust, itís chunks missing from the Chassis. I can live with residual dust to clean off, and thatís not what my pictures show.

My reply;

Brad,

Those 'chunks' are machined cut outs. Please see the attachments as reference. The dust might have obscured that but those cut outs are in place to allow the square corners of the motor mount to seat into the chassis. The chassis is cut with a CNC router- you cannot obtain square corners through the machining process so extra material must be removed in those areas for the square parts to fit into.

I hope the attached clears it up. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Thank You,

Mike R


....end email

Fyi- the red circles in the cad file are the supposed 'chunks'. They are in fact added cut outs for the purpose described in my email.

Also we have a stated satisfaction policy here;

http://www41.instantestore.net/merchant10762/faq.cfm

I have no problems at all with refunds or exchanges if the customer just asks for it... the whole thing seems pretty strange if you ask me.
Attached Thumbnails
Exotek Chassis??-ex05-final-6-10.jpg   Exotek Chassis??-dsc_0373.jpg  
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆TEKNO☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...

Last edited by MikeR; 06-18-2011 at 11:10 PM.
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 01:24 AM   #116
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Ok 2nd pic clarifies it (didn't receive pics in email)

So seems fine, my bad however but emails were a bit unclear.

Would like to see a top deck for non IFS suspesnion?

Last edited by nexxus; 06-19-2011 at 01:38 AM.
nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 01:32 AM   #117
Tech Adept
 
Mitch-e4fs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 132
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Nexxus i can see the dust. I think you owe someone an apology!
Mitch-e4fs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 04:02 PM   #118
Tech Elite
 
Big Midget's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lawrence, Ks
Posts: 4,334
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Guys I need a little help. I have a T3 and was thinking about buying one of the exotek chassis for it but, do I really need it......

My lipo fits the car just fine and it handles great the way it is. I race r.ubber on a prepared parking lot track. I'm running stock 17.5 and boosted 17.5 class's with the same car.

Will my car handle that much better with an Exotek chassis??

Any opinions or suggestions?
__________________
UltralineHobbies.com
Ultraline Raceway Topeka Ks
Dee & Mee Hobbies RickyRacer Lidz,Absolute Tattoo,Fuzzy Dice Decals
Big Midget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 04:13 PM   #119
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default tcx

I would like some help too. I just bought a tcx. I mostly run 13.5 out prepared parking lot. In winter ozlite carpet 17.5 non boost. I have tc5x but never really run it. My question is :what are the benefits if I change to exotek chasis on my tcx.
cup racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 05:21 PM   #120
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default WELL WORTH THE INVESTMENT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Midget View Post
Guys I need a little help. I have a T3 and was thinking about buying one of the exotek chassis for it but, do I really need it......

My lipo fits the car just fine and it handles great the way it is. I race r.ubber on a prepared parking lot track. I'm running stock 17.5 and boosted 17.5 class's with the same car.

Will my car handle that much better with an Exotek chassis??

Any opinions or suggestions?
Big Midget,I just bought two XRAY T2 007s and put the Exotek chassis on both cars.For me this was one of the best R/C moves I have ever made.It beats buying a new car and then buying all the spare arm,carriers,and all the other things that it would take to to go racing.Its funny because my friend that owned on of the T2s that I buoght,saw the car after the conversion and had me find him another 007 and he put the conversion on.I got a some setup help this past Saturday and drove from 8th to 2nd in the main....It works.......
TWILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TC5R with Exotek chassis and electronics islander360 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 25 01-06-2010 01:37 PM
TC5 w/ Exotek Chassis-Brace and One Piece Bulkheads MUDVAYNE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 48 10-27-2009 06:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:00 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net