Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
tweak vs ride height adjustements >

tweak vs ride height adjustements

tweak vs ride height adjustements

Old 04-05-2004, 07:20 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default tweak vs ride height adjustements

Hello,
I have some questions regarding the tweak vs ride height.
1.Which do you set first?
2.Do you set for equal ride height left/right?I mean it's like NO static tweak.
3.If yes for no.2,then when u lift the car to see / adjust the tweak , wouldn't it already affect the balance L/R?

Is there something i'm missing here?
lee82gx is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 07:22 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

I would think to set all the preloads the same, check for tweak, then set ride height.
Tek Nickal is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 10:12 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

I think ride height should be set first. Idealy if ride heights are perfect tweak will be also but we are not in a perfect world. I set ride height and then test it on the track first before I even check tweak. 99% of the time its perfect.
Speedie is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 10:54 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver Bc
Posts: 349
Default

I have always done it droop ride height then tweak.
shortygy is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 10:56 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
new92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Middleburg (Jax), FL
Posts: 356
Default

Originally posted by shortygy
I have always done it droop ride height then tweak.
Same way here. It may be wrong but it seems to work for me.
new92 is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 11:31 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside of Crook County Illinois
Posts: 1,964
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Usually you set droop, height then tweak in that order.

If you end up preloading one shock to get the right height or fighting a tweak, you might need to rebuild your shocks, assuming you checked the chassis for the tweak...
A-Ko is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 11:49 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lancashire - United Kingdom
Posts: 101
Default

Try setting your ride height on an MIP tweak station.
Gives the best of both worlds.
Bob The Builder is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 01:40 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Originally posted by Bob The Builder
Try setting your ride height on an MIP tweak station.
Gives the best of both worlds.
With a tweak station, you can actually risk that the car is tweaked in opposite corners, in a way so they equal each other on the tweak board.... So you wont see the tweak on the board !The knife method is better and cheaper ! Lift one end at the time with a knife and ensure that both wheels lift off at the same time. Best done with setup wheels.

Last edited by Cole Trickle; 04-06-2004 at 01:46 AM.
Cole Trickle is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 04:03 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Rick Worth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elmwood,Tn
Posts: 349
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What if one of your shocks or mounts has some slop. When you lift it up one could lift a wheel off the ground before the other side and have nothing to do with tweak or your droop screws aren't set the same. Use a tweak board. You are checking for pressure on each wheel not lift.
Rick Worth is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:24 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ok,here's the problem I'm having(yokomo SD).
I set the ride height first.I make it equal 5mm left/rear and right/rear.then the left/front 4.5mm and right/front 4.5mm.

Right now,both the left sides of the shocks have more preload since the battery is on the left and it's heavier than the motor+ESC+receiver.

Droop has already been preset to 3mm via downstops even earlier.

Now if i lift up one end of the car,say rear-
i find that the car is a little tweak-1.5mm.This is mainly becos the left front spring has more preload(earlier mentioned),making the right rear wheel lower.

I can now reduce the preload in the left-front shock to set the tweak back.but this will result in a changed ride height in the front ,especially on the right side,correct?

That's my dillemma.
lee82gx is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 09:25 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

Originally posted by lee82gx
Right now,both the left sides of the shocks have more preload since the battery is on the left and it's heavier than the motor+ESC+receiver.
I think the first thing you have to do is balance your chassis. Get scales or a scale and make sure it is balanced left to right. You wouldnt put a 10 pound weight on top of your foot and wonder why that foot seemed heavier would you. In full scale racing you would never even think about racing a car that you didnt set on scales.

I also think that a touring car cannot have the tweak set using the knife method. The wheels downtravel is limited by the droop screws or limiters. If either of these are uneven even a little it will affect tweak. I set droop last, and set it as downtravel, then I use a gague and make sure its even side to side.
Speedie is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 11:21 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Chassis adjustments

Guys;

You MUST start with the Ride Height settings first. Then adjust Droop, then check and adjust Tweak.

If ride height is altered enough to matter after a Tweak adjustment. Just make an adjustment on the opposite side to keep the relationship of the Shocks the same.

When I am compensating for Tweak via the Shock Collars. If I need more than 1/2 turn difference on one side, then I go back to the Chassis and look for a problem there. If everything is straight and true the adjustment needed at the Shocks should be minimal.
popsracer is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.