R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2004, 10:29 AM   #1
Registered User
 
JonteJsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Svenljunga Near Gothenburg, Sweden.
Posts: 90
Default Power a lathe ..

Hi!
I am going to buy a comm lathe ...
I wonder if I have got to use a 4cell battery pack or can I power it with my power supply??

Regards/ JonteJsson
JonteJsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 10:33 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

u can use a power supply if its like 2-4Volts. A 4 Cell pack should be fine though. HOpe this helps
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 10:36 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside of Crook County Illinois
Posts: 1,949
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A-Ko
Default

4 cell pack works perfect.
__________________
Jeffrey
teamgravityrc.com - motivrc.com
USVTA National Points Member #101
A-Ko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 10:36 AM   #4
Registered User
 
JonteJsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Svenljunga Near Gothenburg, Sweden.
Posts: 90
Default

Yeah that helped me very much ...
JonteJsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 10:47 AM   #5
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,329
Send a message via AIM to Mike F
Default

what kind of charger do you have? If you have something like the LRP competition charger, you can use that to power a lathe
Mike F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 11:39 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
AdR|aN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Malaysia. Land of Peace.
Posts: 2,445
Send a message via ICQ to AdR|aN
Default

If the instructions ask for 4 cells to power your lathe, you can get a power supply to supply not more then 5v. It must be able to provide 5 amp of supply

Hope it helps
AdR|aN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 10:18 PM   #7
Registered User
 
JonteJsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Svenljunga Near Gothenburg, Sweden.
Posts: 90
Default

I have not got a good charger ... Yet .. Ill buy the compeition in the beginneing of the summer or maybe earlier ..
JonteJsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 09:15 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

I use my Pulsar Comp at 7.2 volts or 6 cell pack.
Works fine with the motor that was with my Hudy lathe
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Savx - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 10:01 AM   #9
Registered User
 
JonteJsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Svenljunga Near Gothenburg, Sweden.
Posts: 90
Default

Then if I put a stock motor in my lathe .. I can power it with my usual 3000/3300 accus !?
JonteJsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 10:41 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default if I put a stock motor in my lathe

JonteJsson;

You can use a Stock Motor for a Lathe drive Motor. Much, faster than you need to turn the Arm for cutting. You might want to go with a 3 cell pack or (3.6V) to keep the rpm's down.
Otherwise, there are companies that sell high turn slave Motors just for Lathe applications.

What does everyone else think?
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 04:46 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jaysimpson
Default

Contact Banzai Motors and get them to wind a 80 x 1. You can power it with you 12 volt supply and it is perfect. You just adjust the timing to fine tune the RPM range you want.
__________________
Kalgard Racing
Banzai Motorsports
ProMatch Racing
A-Train Racing
Warehouse Raceway
jaysimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 08:10 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

Where have I heard that before??
__________________
Xray and Serpent....very dusty!
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 09:49 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jaysimpson
Default

LOL, Yeah I wonder
__________________
Kalgard Racing
Banzai Motorsports
ProMatch Racing
A-Train Racing
Warehouse Raceway
jaysimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 10:15 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Default Stock motor works great

I use an OLD stock motor, it has to run backwards for my lathe, so it runs pretty slow on 4 cells. I like 3 cells better, but 4 works fine. Integy makes a 55 turn lathe motor for 12 volts, the 80 turn posted earlier is also good. I am too cheap so I just use my crummiest stocker and a 4 cell pack.

I also have a 5 volt tap off my computer power supply I use for my chargers. This works great also.

David Root
David Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 11:43 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jaysimpson
Default

The problem with the 55t is still doesn't produce the quality of cut the 80t does because of the smoothness of the 80t. The key to the 80t is it runs so smoothly and causes less vibration in the lathe.
__________________
Kalgard Racing
Banzai Motorsports
ProMatch Racing
A-Train Racing
Warehouse Raceway
jaysimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cobra Com Lathe w/ Power Feed. TheTurtleMan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-25-2007 04:24 PM
Twister Com lathe w/ power pack and diamond bit dyoung R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 11-19-2005 07:07 PM
Power supply for lathe? Galactik Electric On-Road 7 09-23-2004 10:31 AM
For Sale : Com Lathe w/ power base ZeroCooL R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 08-19-2004 04:15 PM
Power a motor lathe from any charger?? G-spec Electric On-Road 9 05-21-2004 02:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net