R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2004, 11:45 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

Jay - do you have an extra 80 single arm that you don't need? LMK. Thanks!
__________________
Xray and Serpent....very dusty!
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 12:01 PM   #17
Tech Master
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Margaritaville
Posts: 1,957
Default

You could always buy a Turbo 35 GFX to power it. The LRP Pulsar Pro is a great charger, as the motor run in option, and much cheaper.
NismoSkyline17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 12:11 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NismoSkyline17
You could always buy a Turbo 35 GFX to power it. The LRP Pulsar Pro is a great charger, as the motor run in option, and much cheaper.
I have a GFX, but sometimes it's in use charging a battery and you have to wait to break in a motor or cut a comm. Plugging directly to a power supply is very easy, and always available. That's why I want the 80x1 arm
__________________
Xray and Serpent....very dusty!
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 12:45 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jaysimpson
Default

John...you got a pm
__________________
Kalgard Racing
Banzai Motorsports
ProMatch Racing
A-Train Racing
Warehouse Raceway
jaysimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 12:53 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

for my lathe i just use an old 6 cell pack i found lying around.

as its a bit crappy and fairly old it doesn't make the arm spin to much and with the diamond tip i get a lovely finish

edit: since when have you had an oil 6 cell pack

Last edited by raving-monkey; 04-05-2004 at 03:05 PM.
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 02:53 PM   #21
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I just took an old stock motor arm and put it in a modified motor can and turned the timing down a bit. The bearings help keep it running smooth for a lot longer than a stock motor with bushings and lowering the timing keeps it from needing to be rebuilt for a LONG time. The 80X1 is a good idea if you have to use 12 volts but if you can use a 4 volt setting on a charger or even a 3-4 cell pack, I'd go with that. Just seems easier and less$$$ if you have the stuff laying around.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 07:42 PM   #22
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver Bc
Posts: 349
Default

The best thing I have found is the integy 55 turn motor it can be run directly off of a 12v power supply and is easily available.

http://integy.automated-shops.com/cg...06104397361.13

It is around 25$ and is very cool to have. It is also available from speedtechrc

http://64.70.208.72/speedtechrc/25.html
shortygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 08:25 PM   #23
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

thats what came in my eagle lathe. (integy in US i think)

it is a pretty good motor, as it is only needed for powering the lathe.
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 06:26 PM   #24
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: essex, england
Posts: 127
Default

so is this motor definately meant to use 12 volts even on the integy/eagle lathes, this may explain why my lathe has never cut brilliantly
Bony85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cobra Com Lathe w/ Power Feed. TheTurtleMan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-25-2007 04:24 PM
Twister Com lathe w/ power pack and diamond bit dyoung R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 11-19-2005 07:07 PM
Power supply for lathe? Galactik Electric On-Road 7 09-23-2004 10:31 AM
For Sale : Com Lathe w/ power base ZeroCooL R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 08-19-2004 04:15 PM
Power a motor lathe from any charger?? G-spec Electric On-Road 9 05-21-2004 02:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:19 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net