R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2010, 11:35 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,919
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Question about Novak-smart boost- TQ cells and any other company

I know my Novak smart boost will not work properly with the new Tekin ESC. I've heard about the TQ cells booster? I've also heard about another company that makes a booster like a TQ cell type. I don't want to run a reciever battery anymore.And My novak smart boost won't work right- any suggestions?
__________________
Team Epic/Trinity -Michael Bruce Hobbies-Team CRC ,Kimbrough Products and GForce.
WGT-R, GT-12 Racing USA (21.5 ), Formula 1 and Home Track is 386 RaceWay,ROAR #7540.

Last edited by BullFrog; 02-18-2010 at 02:24 PM.
BullFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 11:58 AM   #2
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BullFrog View Post
I know my Novak smart boost will not work properly with the new Novak ESC. I've heard about the TQ cells booster? I've also heard about another com,pany that makes a booster like a TQ cell type. I don't want to run a reciever battery anymore.And My novak smart boost won't work right any suggestions?

What Novak esc are you describing, and what seems to be the problem?
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:23 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,919
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Ops- I meant Tekin- but I'm waiting on the new Novak. It works on the bench but on the track it sputters and that just in the warmup session before the race.
__________________
Team Epic/Trinity -Michael Bruce Hobbies-Team CRC ,Kimbrough Products and GForce.
WGT-R, GT-12 Racing USA (21.5 ), Formula 1 and Home Track is 386 RaceWay,ROAR #7540.
BullFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:30 PM   #4
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BullFrog View Post
Ops- I meant Tekin- but I'm waiting on the new Novak. It works on the bench but on the track it sputters and that just in the warmup session before the race.
I have forwarded your comments to engineering.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 03:12 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
chris moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phx AZ
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)
Default

Its not the Tekin esc persay but the newest software that Tekin released(V203) where everyone is haveing issues when running the boosters. In reading the 1/12 thread just today a couple of racers have reported that this boosterhttp://www.rctech.net/forum/7022846-post33571.html is working fine with the new software; I'm going to take a look at it as I dislike a rec pack also. I've had no problems with the TQ booster on V200 running a 13.5 and I've been running that booster for 6 months or longer now, but I have'nt updated to V203 because of the problems that have been reported.
__________________
Sponsered by:

CMDezigns Paint Works
https://www.facebook.com/pages/CM-Dezigns/259989190822177?ref=hl
chris moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 04:12 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,919
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Novak 2- I should also include that it sputters so bad you can not race.I went to my old reciever pack but I pulled it off after the race.I could go to the new Tinity reciever battery but I don't want to.
__________________
Team Epic/Trinity -Michael Bruce Hobbies-Team CRC ,Kimbrough Products and GForce.
WGT-R, GT-12 Racing USA (21.5 ), Formula 1 and Home Track is 386 RaceWay,ROAR #7540.
BullFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 03:44 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
GasGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tween a Rock & a Hard Place in Pa.
Posts: 1,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I run a smartboost on an rs w/v203 1s 5000 13.5 and no prob.
Maybe I'm lucky-- so far.
__________________
F! Metal Militia,VTA NATION--Team SloMoFo
losi 8t,mbx5t,rc8
rc8,Kyosho rb5,SCR
ft4 MT wallet
cyclone;xxx-s;x-rayT2;crc gen xl;bmi 12rrl
GasGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 03:49 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

I wonder if it's an issue only with smaller capacity/burst rated lipo's?

Probably unlikely, just throwing it out there for discussion...
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 06:40 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
GWH74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

You will find that it is the current surge / spike from the motor that is tripping the novak lipo cut-out.
You could try adding a bit of current limiting on the Tekin v203. This should should stop it.
I am not sure if you can disable the current limiting on the novak. I will have a look at a fellow racers on the weekend. But if you can disable the cut-out ensure that you use the lipo cut-out in the tekin or at least time you usage.
__________________
AE 12R5.1 - Custom chassis
For Sale BMI DB12RR, Tire Warmers and lots of other stuff.
GWH74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 07:54 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

The problem with the Novak Smart boost is the Built-In Cutoff Voltage at 3.3 Volts. With the new Tekin 203 software, the ESC's are putting a much higher load on the battery, and when those peak draws occur, the battery voltage easily dips below 3.3 Volts for a few milliseconds, which was confirmed using the Novak Sentry logger.

Once the battery gets to the lower end of the available voltage on the battery, you can reproduce the Novak Smart Boost LiPo Cutoff circuitry kicking in on the bench with a few quick burst of full throttle.

The solution for me has been to either run lower gearing to reduce load on the battery, or by running a reciever battery.

Im WGT 13.5, the cut-off problem I experienced was more prominent. I figured this was because the car was heavier than 1/12, so full throttle on the track created more load to move a heavier car, and by 3-4 minutes into the race the Novak Smart Boost wouldn't let me complete a lap.

In 13.5 1/12 I don't start experiencing the issue until about 5-6 minutes into the race, then I can't use full throttle at all. Gearing down, smaller pinion, helped this condition. To Note, when we started using the Tekin 203 software, we immediately started using about 500mah more power out of the pack during an 8-minute run.

In 17.5 1/12, I can use the Novak Smart Boost the entire race regardless of my gearing.

Novak - Is there a way to disable or lower the Built-In LiPo Cut-Off on the Smart Boost?
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 08:20 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
I wonder if it's an issue only with smaller capacity/burst rated lipo's?

Probably unlikely, just throwing it out there for discussion...
I'm using Thunder Power 5000 40C packs, and we have heard of others with SMC 5000's having the issue too.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 09:02 AM   #12
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,543
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

as a side question, what is the cutoff set at for the TQ Boost and is the white version with the switch the latest version of the TQ Boost?
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 09:21 AM   #13
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn7671 View Post
The problem with the Novak Smart boost is the Built-In Cutoff Voltage at 3.3 Volts. With the new Tekin 203 software, the ESC's are putting a much higher load on the battery, and when those peak draws occur, the battery voltage easily dips below 3.3 Volts for a few milliseconds, which was confirmed using the Novak Sentry logger.

Once the battery gets to the lower end of the available voltage on the battery, you can reproduce the Novak Smart Boost LiPo Cutoff circuitry kicking in on the bench with a few quick burst of full throttle.

The solution for me has been to either run lower gearing to reduce load on the battery, or by running a reciever battery.

Im WGT 13.5, the cut-off problem I experienced was more prominent. I figured this was because the car was heavier than 1/12, so full throttle on the track created more load to move a heavier car, and by 3-4 minutes into the race the Novak Smart Boost wouldn't let me complete a lap.

In 13.5 1/12 I don't start experiencing the issue until about 5-6 minutes into the race, then I can't use full throttle at all. Gearing down, smaller pinion, helped this condition. To Note, when we started using the Tekin 203 software, we immediately started using about 500mah more power out of the pack during an 8-minute run.

In 17.5 1/12, I can use the Novak Smart Boost the entire race regardless of my gearing.

Novak - Is there a way to disable or lower the Built-In LiPo Cut-Off on the Smart Boost?
Thanks for this overview; it should be very helpfull. I am forwarding your comments and question to engineering.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 09:23 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn7671 View Post
I'm using Thunder Power 5000 40C packs, and we have heard of others with SMC 5000's having the issue too.
ah ok, I had a quick shot guess!
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 09:27 AM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

We noticed the same issue in GT10's running 1S Lipo on Tekin v203 with the novak booster. No problem with v200, but apply v203 and the cut off kicks in at full throttle, giving you no throttle at all until the motor coasts to a speed slow enough (almost stopped)

Changed to a tq booster or an rx pack and the problem's gone.
Didn't seem to matter which lipos/motor either by the way
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:07 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net