R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-15-2010, 02:52 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Chris Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas,Texas
Posts: 1,003
Default Kited my car

Hey guys,

So yesterday, I was driving down the straight in 13.5 rubber and for some reason, it lost signal with the radio and drove through the retaining wall. I hadn't seen a motor fly out of a car until yesterday. Connected to the motor was the speedo. Im guessing it will be a couple hundred dollar fix. Anyways, the question I mean to ask is, anyone else have this problem of the car losing all connection with the radio?

Im using a tekin pro
Helios 2.4
Ko low profile
duo 1 13.5

Its been suggested that the module wasn't upgraded but it does have the nail polish on the circuit board.
__________________
TEXASEOS.net, RcAmerica, Xray, Hudy, Protoform, Orca, Avid, 2mm Designs, Ulti Tires America

Texas EOS 2018!
Chris Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 05:24 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Jimmy Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,230
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

pics or it didn't happen.
__________________
www.superiorhobbies.com
Jimmy Morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 06:34 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: HOFFMAN ESTATES
Posts: 67
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default LOST CAR

SOUNDS LIKE YOU HAVE A STICKY FRIGER. MAY NEED TO GET IT REPLACED
PMHOURS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 06:58 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Adams View Post
Hey guys,

So yesterday, I was driving down the straight in 13.5 rubber and for some reason, it lost signal with the radio and drove through the retaining wall. I hadn't seen a motor fly out of a car until yesterday. Connected to the motor was the speedo. Im guessing it will be a couple hundred dollar fix. Anyways, the question I mean to ask is, anyone else have this problem of the car losing all connection with the radio?

Im using a tekin pro
Helios 2.4
Ko low profile
duo 1 13.5

Its been suggested that the module wasn't upgraded but it does have the nail polish on the circuit board.
I had the exact same thing happen this past Saturday Chris. I belive it is the 2.4 Ko receiver module. I had something similar happen in offroad last year. My car smashed square into the wall after going on a death run down the straight. Lucky there did not appear to be any serious damage. I sent the reciever in for repair and Robert replaced the board.

Im running

KO Low pro servo
Tekin RS Pro
LRP X12
KO UR 2,4
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 08:40 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Danny-b23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,336
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Adams View Post
Hey guys,

So yesterday, I was driving down the straight in 13.5 rubber and for some reason, it lost signal with the radio and drove through the retaining wall. I hadn't seen a motor fly out of a car until yesterday. Connected to the motor was the speedo. Im guessing it will be a couple hundred dollar fix. Anyways, the question I mean to ask is, anyone else have this problem of the car losing all connection with the radio?

Im using a tekin pro
Helios 2.4
Ko low profile
duo 1 13.5

Its been suggested that the module wasn't upgraded but it does have the nail polish on the circuit board.
Was it a Toyota?

All kidding aside; I would try a new reciever. I had a similar issue, but my car would just stop where ever it was and not move for about 3 seconds, or until it got hit.
__________________
RC America|XRAY|ORCA|Motiv|EA Motorsports
Danny Buck
WCICS Rep - Round 1, Saskatoon, SK
Danny-b23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 08:50 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What was the voltage like being supplied to the transmitter? Are your batteries too weak?
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 10:45 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
dpatterson26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 966
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I actually witnessed the same thing about a month ago. The difference is he was using a 3PK. Which does not matter.

The issue ended up being, the wires had actually frayed or pulled out of the plug on the speedo from pulling it out of the receiver to adjust the Tekin. We spliced a servo extension on and got rid of the bad section and works great.
__________________
eXpress Motorsports•Sweep•Lunsford Racing•ORCA•RC Plus
dpatterson26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 05:58 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Lately ive been having the same problem. I'll have to take a closer look at the ESC cable. When I try to pull it out or put it back in it's very tight and i might of caused some damage on it.

Chris it could be worse, it could of happened at the birds.
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:09 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Chris Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas,Texas
Posts: 1,003
Default

haha, ill see if I can get someone to take a picture of the retaining wall that I destroyed.

The batts are fine. Thunderpower 5000 40c

PM- everyone knows that I dont have a sticky finger

Nitro- it did happen at birds. It was practice and happened in the chicane luckily. Thought it was a fluke but I guess it wasn't.
__________________
TEXASEOS.net, RcAmerica, Xray, Hudy, Protoform, Orca, Avid, 2mm Designs, Ulti Tires America

Texas EOS 2018!
Chris Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 07:33 PM   #10
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: I'm banned
Posts: 141
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo Morris View Post
pics or it didn't happen.
pt'd
__________________
I never apologize... I'm sorry, but that's just the way I am
ballsagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 07:44 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...building minis
Posts: 3,237
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballsagna View Post
pt'd
WTF is pt'd?
__________________
Why don't we endurance race more often?
Greg Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 11:02 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Chris this happened to me today here in Austin,Tx. I was on the back straight and lifted for the sweeper and the car had no steering and was full throttle hard in to the wall. Picked up the pieces and checked everything over and it looked good. Put in a new Futaba rx and it did it again at low speed(Thank God) so I pulled it and disconnected my personal transponder. Threw it on the track and never had another problem.

Now just need a new personal transponder. Check your transponder and see if it helps.

I was running:
MI4 lp
RS v203
Dou2 17.5
TP 5200 50c
4PK
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 03:51 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,492
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

It was my car that patterson was talking about. But anyway yea, it did the same thing you talked about just all of a sudden took off full steam ahead, jumped the pipe and had to watch a cornel marshall run after it. The problem is the Speedo plug in the reciever with constantly plugging in and out for changes, one of the wires broke.

After we found the problem it was kinda of funny. Even the annouccer was like" This is first time I have said this in a electric race, but we have a run away car!"
__________________
eXpress Motorsports***VBC
fastasu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:22 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I had the same exact thing happen to me last year. My car ran into an actual concrete barrier, like you would see on the freeway. We have them at the end of our straight. Luckily, I only destroyed a bumper.

Anyway, I think mine was because of losing signal. After this happened, I took my radio and module apart and found that the antenna had come unplugged from the module. It was touching but, not actually plugged in and when you moved the radio around, would move the connection enough to loose signal. I have no idea how this happened.

The reason for the car taking off at full speed, I believe, was I calibrated everything wrong. I'm running the KO Helios with Spektrum Pro - First I calibrated the radio with the receiver with full brake on - this is correct but, after doing this I went to calibrate my Tekin and when you calibrate the Tekin with a KO Helios, you have to have the throttle set to reverse (when I calibrated the receiver, I had it set to normal). I changed the radio setting to reverse, calibrated the Tekin and went on about my business. With this setup - when the receiver looses signal, it tells the ESC to go full brake, except in this case full brake for the receiver was the opposite direction for the ESC, so it actually went full throttle..........straight into the barrier.

With the KO and Tekin - I do this - I know my ESC needs the radio throttle set at REVERSE, set this first. Then calibrate the RX with either full brake or neutral. Then calibrate the ESC normally.

Try this and with the car and radio in your hand (or on bench) and both turned on, cut the radio off to force the RX to go into failsafe mode, then check the ESC to make sure it is going into full brake. If it's set wrong, it will probably throttle full speed, so be ready to cut it off quickly.

This fixed my problem, hope it helps.
EVILGRAFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 01:52 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

i had this hassle as well on my Scythe with Spektrum Pro and a Tekin RS Pro.
Fortunately we where running in a parking lot so no walls.
Though it was my radio, then i tried a cap on my reciever and it hasnt happened again.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:15 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net