R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2010, 03:46 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default Issue running Novak motor with Tekin RS

Hello all. I recently picked up a RS/10.5 combo (NIB). I'm trying to run the speedo with a sensored Novak 17.5 SS pro motor. The problem I'm having is that the motor "locks up" around zero rpm at random times. Takes a lot of throttle to get off this locked condition. Installed the 10.5 Tekin motor and had no issues. Tried a different Novak 17.5 with the same problem. I'm running v203 software if it matters.

Anyone else have this issue? I assume buying a Redline motor will solve the problem, but I'd rather not buy another motor if I don't have to..
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:05 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Should work fine. Sounds like a sensor wire problem but it would be weird that the sensor wire on two motors would be bad. Double check you had the sensor wire plugged in. It will run without a sensor wire but not well.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:08 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
B4james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Novak comes with 30 degrees of timing at it's neutral point. If you are running to much timing in the speedy combined with this it may have problems.

I was trying a 10.5 Novak on the weekend and left the motor at the N spot and instead of running 50 or so timing in the speedy I ran 40 and car was quick with no cog or heat issues
__________________
Follow me on Facebook - James Ainslie Designs or on Instagram - JA_Designs

*HEI International for Protoform/Proline/Spaz Stix
*Bitty Design Australia for Bodies and Liquid Mask
* Airbrushmegastore.com for all paint and airbrush supplies
B4james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:10 PM   #4
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by csracing View Post
Hello all. I recently picked up a RS/10.5 combo (NIB). I'm trying to run the speedo with a sensored Novak 17.5 SS pro motor. The problem I'm having is that the motor "locks up" around zero rpm at random times. Takes a lot of throttle to get off this locked condition. Installed the 10.5 Tekin motor and had no issues. Tried a different Novak 17.5 with the same problem. I'm running v203 software if it matters.

Anyone else have this issue? I assume buying a Redline motor will solve the problem, but I'd rather not buy another motor if I don't have to..
Never had any issues with Novak motors (either SS or Ballistic) with the RS, in either 1s or 2s deployments (1/12 and TC). I'm running V203 in both.

Do you have the motor type set to BL-FW? When this happens, with the RS turned on, if you manually turn the motor shaft (by turning the spur by hand), do the three LEDs on the RS indicate that it is seeing all three motor sensors (they come on very dimly). They should come on in sequence as you turn the motor by hand. How hot is the motor when this happens? Is the ESC or motor thermalling?
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:16 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Never had any issues with Novak motors (either SS or Ballistic) with the RS, in either 1s or 2s deployments (1/12 and TC). I'm running V203 in both.

Do you have the motor type set to BL-FW? When this happens, with the RS turned on, if you manually turn the motor shaft (by turning the spur by hand), do the three LEDs on the RS indicate that it is seeing all three motor sensors (they come on very dimly). They should come on in sequence as you turn the motor by hand. How hot is the motor when this happens? Is the ESC or motor thermalling?
Motor type is BL-FW. Haven't tried turning the motor by hand, I'll check that and report back. The motor runs very cool (100 degrees maybe) at all times as I have a fan on it and am pretty soft on gearing. It does this at any time including when you first start running, so I really doubt it's temperature related.
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:16 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B4james View Post
Novak comes with 30 degrees of timing at it's neutral point. If you are running to much timing in the speedy combined with this it may have problems.

I was trying a 10.5 Novak on the weekend and left the motor at the N spot and instead of running 50 or so timing in the speedy I ran 40 and car was quick with no cog or heat issues
I've tried running the motor with very little timing as well as a lot of timing with no change. I run 40 degees in the ESC programming.
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:19 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

N timing (30 degrees) on the Novak motor shouldn't be a problem if geared correctly. If you remove too much timing from the Novak (say go to 0) then it doesn't like that.

With the SS timing is hard to tell though.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 06:45 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

what happens if you use minimal settings on sensored mode, or even dual mode, cant remember what modes they have as it was a while when I had the tekin.

cross my fingers the 203 will work with all my novak ss motors as thats what I plan on running.
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 06:51 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
When this happens, with the RS turned on, if you manually turn the motor shaft (by turning the spur by hand), do the three LEDs on the RS indicate that it is seeing all three motor sensors (they come on very dimly). They should come on in sequence as you turn the motor by hand.
Confirmed to be working as expected.

Seems wierd that it does it with 2 different 17.5 SS motors but is flawless with the 10.5 redline in the same vehicle..
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:28 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by csracing View Post
Confirmed to be working as expected.

Seems wierd that it does it with 2 different 17.5 SS motors but is flawless with the 10.5 redline in the same vehicle..
have you tried the 2 different 17.5ss motors in another speed control?

I see many people damaging sensor wires simply by pulling at the wires, rather than pulling by the plug.
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:32 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
have you tried the 2 different 17.5ss motors in another speed control?

I see many people damaging sensor wires simply by pulling at the wires, rather than pulling by the plug.
Both motors work fine on Novak ESCs. I've checked the wires in the plug as well. No damage that I can see.

I'll probably put a novak esc back in for racing this week since I've had some issues where I've been "stuck" for a second or 2 which usually ends in getting hit.
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:39 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by csracing View Post
Both motors work fine on Novak ESCs. I've checked the wires in the plug as well. No damage that I can see.

I'll probably put a novak esc back in for racing this week since I've had some issues where I've been "stuck" for a second or 2 which usually ends in getting hit.
Run them on the Tekin without the sensor and see what it does.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:48 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Run them on the Tekin without the sensor and see what it does.
I ran the current motor w/o the sensor wire, but not in a racing environment. Cogs a fair amount from a stop, but still "works".
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:21 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
fullout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mississauga
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to fullout
Default

i would say check the tekin setups on there site and pay special attention to the gearing.
fullout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 06:36 AM   #15
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fullout View Post
i would say check the tekin setups on there site and pay special attention to the gearing.

The setup I'm running came directly from Randy Pike @ Tekin. I have an email it to Tekin support, but thought I'd fish for advice here as well. I'll have to wait to hear back from Tekin to see what their take is.
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Tekin Vegas 2.0 Setup and Support Randy_Pike Electric Off-Road 1713 12-06-2011 05:31 PM
Tekin Rs/Rs pro V200 offroad setups only JdogL Electric Off-Road 272 02-04-2010 11:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:36 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net