Like Tree486Likes

1/12 forum

    Hide Wikipost
Old 12-13-2018, 02:04 PM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech ForumsThread Wiki: 1/12 forum
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: IBxAnders
This is a place to share knowledge related to 1/12th scale racing. It is not to be used for conversations.

1/12th Scale Pan Car Kits:

Click links to go to manufacturer product page. If any are missing please add them!

Associated 12R6
https://www.teamassociated.com/cars_.../Factory_Team/ Jul 2017 release
DISCUSSION THREAD - Team Associated 12R6

Print Wikipost

Reply

Old 12-23-2003, 07:23 AM
  #5701  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,204
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Picco007 - I use the LRP Quantum Comp in my 1/12 scale cars. I use a 5 cell receiver pack on the car I run in modified. I use the switch on the receiver pack to turn the car on and off. I don't remove any of the wires from the receiver to the speed control. It works great. You shouldn't have any problems with this. Hope that answers your questions. Good luck.
davidl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 07:40 AM
  #5702  
JCB
Tech Addict
 
JCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 741
Default

Hello guys,

Me personally, I love my RC12L3. It's a great car. The only thing I changed was adding the CRC dampner tubes to it. Parts are always available for it at any hobby store. I always look for parts availability when purchasing a car. Good thinkg to keep in mind. Hope this helps in your decision....
JCB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 08:08 AM
  #5703  
P2
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Randman
Is there a website avalible for the Rugrat car? Hopefully Chris will be at the track tomorrow, and I'll see what chassis he had...
Here ya go www.teamirsrc.com

Quad 12 question?? - How well do they work on asphalt??
P2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 08:13 AM
  #5704  
che
Tech Regular
 
che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario
Posts: 291
Default

Originally posted by P2
Here ya go www.teamirsrc.com
Quad 12 question?? - How well do they work on asphalt??
I have only run my Quad12 on carpet, but talking with Doug he tells me it works very well on asphalt as well, with only some minor setup changes.

I think SpeedXL runs/ran it on asphalt, he would be best to comment.
che is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 08:46 AM
  #5705  
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Default

Come on P2, ronnie didnt tell you I have been talking with Doug from Quad12. Oh well, I'll talk to ya today at the track.
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 09:03 AM
  #5706  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
stormperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,185
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

JCB- Make sure to run very heavy fluid in the damper tubes with a t-bar car. I.e., losi heavy fluid or thicker. Only a handful of AE factory guys run tubes, most run the stock set up since its easier or only possible with that to acheive proper dampening. I do not run a t-bar car however, this is what I observed from the factory guys that I race with.
stormperson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 11:44 AM
  #5707  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
rcdougie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Would you still run thick fluid for asphalt? Are there other fluids that will work besides the losi heavy, since its difficult to find?
rcdougie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 11:51 AM
  #5708  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
stormperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,185
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I dont run asphalt much, Speedxl would probably know more about it however, I would suggest losi heavy on asphalt and then I think BRP makes some super thick stuff that works well on carpet. Sorry I cant be of more use.
stormperson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 02:32 PM
  #5709  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,143
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by daniz24
Sorry, I'm new to 12th scale. A laydown servo? How did you do that? Anyone has pictures? Thanks...
This is LAYDOWN ( I believed)....



Some ppl like to mount their servo above the chassis in ANGLES, with the stock servo mount, you can mount the servo above the chassis (in angle)
Solara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 02:36 PM
  #5710  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,143
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I want to know more about this 1/3AAA receiver pack thing....for my understanding, ppl who use receiver pack, cause they are in 8 minutes MOD class...fastest motor and 3300 mah with 8 minutes run time, you want to squeese every single drop of juice from the 3300....so let the 1/3AAA does the radio job.

But what does the TRACTION has to do with using receiver pack..? I saw somone mentioned with the high traction carpet track, you need receiver pack, but if you race outdoor asphaut with low to no traction, you don't need to...why is that?

This is not a trick question, I just want to know.....I know I don' need receiver pack cause I do 19T only....8 minutes with my 3300 are plenty enough.
Solara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 02:38 PM
  #5711  
JCB
Tech Addict
 
JCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 741
Default

Hello,

The car looks sweet! Can I do a laydown servo on my Associated RC12L3? If so what parts will I need? And also what's the benefit of laydown vs. angled? thanks for the help.
JCB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 02:39 PM
  #5712  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ridin my Harley
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

With a high grip track your servo has to fight the traction to turn the wheels. Thus more work means more amp draw.
Adam Hartzell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 02:43 PM
  #5713  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ridin my Harley
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JCB
Hello,

The car looks sweet! Can I do a laydown servo on my Associated RC12L3? If so what parts will I need? And also what's the benefit of laydown vs. angled? thanks for the help.
The lawdown set-up gives you more steering on a tight track and angled gives you more high speed steering.
Adam Hartzell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 02:49 PM
  #5714  
JCB
Tech Addict
 
JCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 741
Default

Cool, thanks for your help. Now what parts would I need to make the servo laydown on my RC12L3?

THANKS,
JCB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 02:52 PM
  #5715  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ridin my Harley
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Servo tape and shoe goo.
Adam Hartzell is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service