R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 03-29-2004, 10:47 PM   #1
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default boiling YOKES !

I'm new to R/C (about a year), and I just bought a Yokomo MR-4TC SD SSG and I'm hearing alot about boiling water and throwing the chassis in it. What's the deal with this?
Also, for motor/esc combos, I'm thinking about the Novak brushless system-Revolution V2(atsushi hara 10x1) w/ GT-7 or Rev V2(a. h. 10x1) w/LRP Quantum comp2. For racing, which is a better pick? Last thing, is there anyone out there that makes Delrin bevel gears for this car or bevel gears that are steel, alum., or titanium- am I reaching here on an none issue?

jaybee
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2004, 11:57 PM   #2
WC
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)

Boiling nylon parts relieves the manufacturing stress in them and makes some plastics a little bit more pliable (flexy) especially in cold weather. However some Yok bits in the past have been known to MELT in hot water, but thats going back a long way.

SD comes with carbon-reinforced plastic bits, boiling shouldn't be necessary.

Brushless is good because of minimal maintenance required. Lots of torque, Novak is user-friendly & well-designed.

But a "good" 10t that's been tuned & geared correctly will easily beat the Novak SS5800.

Are you racing?

Are you experienced enough to handle mods?
www.MelbRC.org
----------------
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2004, 12:23 AM   #3
Tech Champion

WC
thanks for the info
i plan on racing but not yet with the yoke; i have a boatload of option parts coming so i haven't put it together yet.
i have the XXX-s that is my 'learning curve vehicle'.
what do you know about Dubro swivel ball links?

Again, thanks for the info
Old 03-30-2004, 12:36 AM   #4
Tech Prophet

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)